We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Globe Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa(Ilsington)(Great Value!)
US$187
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
48
16
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
16
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswet roomfriendly local pubthe pubbaguettecomfy bedhot breakfastgood sized portionsmany thanksa lovely staysouth devon railwaypietwin roomsteam trainwell worth a visitnight stayprawnssteak
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Visited the globe inn on Friday evening
With my wife, had a wonderful warm welcome from all the staff, food was excellent a most enjoyable evening, can’t wait to return.
Best pub in the town.

Best wishes
Jim & Sue

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review.

Best wishes,
Dan & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my sister and my partner on Sunday 6th and Monday 7th August.
Unfortunately we were in Devon for a funeral. However the staff and locals made our stay much easier.
We were very impressed with the cleanliness and quality of the rooms. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but are planning a trip back to Devon end of sept and will definitely stay here and sample the food.
Thank you to everyone and to readers of this review, definitely one to try - great place!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Helen W,

Thanks for such a fab review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your positive comments to the team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Dan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Recently had a bad experience with a few of the locals at the globe which the manager and the owner acted on immediately to resolve the issue.
Had our evening meal here and it was fantastic, the food was of a high qaulity and very tasty not to mention the size of the portions were more than plentiful.
Reece the manager is a credit to the team making sure all your needs are catered for, the pub is nicely decorated with a warm and friendly atmosphere.
Would highly recommend a visit to the globe if your in the area and we will definitely be going back for another meal.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank DiverMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear DiverMick,

Thanks for your wonderful review. I'm glad you gave us the opportunity to put right your previous bad experience. It means a lot to us.

We very much look forward toy our next visit when you and the family are back in the area.

Kind Regards,
Dan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Just returned from a short stay over at The Globe Inn in Buckfastleigh for a few days whilst volunteering on the nearby South Devon Railway.
The pub was extremely accommodating. Very friendly staff and a well kept room with all the necessary amenities. A very filling breakfast (continental is not available) and a comfy bed too! A large fan is provided for the warm Devon summer months in each room and the pub has a range of well filling meals for evening dining. Free Wi-fi is available too.
Highly recommended and at a very good price too. I shall certainly be returning!

Room Tip: Room 5 is a lovely room with a comfy bed.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We get lots of positive feedback regarding our hearty breakfast.

We hope you'll choose us again for your next stay.

Best wishes,
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We were passing through Buckfastleigh and stopped in The Globe Inn for lunch and how refreshing it was to step into a traditional British pub. An array of tongue in cheek signs dotted around the bar, steam punk esque taps and rustic furniture add to the quaint charm of this delightful pub.
The food was excellent, me and my girlfriend had the steak and red onion baguette and the brie and bacon baguette. Generous portion sizes with excellent value make this a sure stop for anyone passing through or living in the vicinity of Buckfastleigh. And lest I forget the chips. These were the BEST chips I have had at a pub in recent memory.
Varied and fantastic selection of drinks, we will be returning here frequently especially to watch the myriad of entertainment that will be available on the weekends.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Hey! Thanks for the fabulous review! Glad you all enjoyed your experience at The Globe Inn. Reece our new landlord is doing fantastic job, and there's lots of entertainment booked in for the next few months.

Look out for the new menu being launched in the next week or two too!

Cheers,

Dan, Reece & the Crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews