We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect relaxtion”
other travellers have booked this property
'Foll Rise' Bigbury-on-Sea, South Devon.  'The Garden Apartment' Right Ground Floor.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Foll Rise' Bigbury-on-Sea, South Devon.  'The Garden Apartment' Right Ground Floor.
Large landscaped garden a blaze of colour from Spring to Autumn. Ideal for children to play in. Breath taking uninterrupted view of  acres of safe sandy Beach and Coastline from 'Folly Rise'.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
'Foll Rise' Bigbury-on-Sea, South Devon.  'The Garden Apartment' Right Ground Floor.
Large landscaped garden a blaze of colour from Spring to Autumn. Ideal for children to play in.
Breath taking uninterrupted view of  acres of safe sandy Beach and Coastline from 'Folly Rise'.
View of Folly Rise and The Garden Apartment from National Trust property, Clematon Hill opposite.
View of Burgh Island
Pilchard Inn c1336 on Burgh Island
Apartment's Own private terrace leading out to large secure garden with path to beach just 3 mi
Living Room
Dining Area
Homemade Devonshire Cream Tea/Bottle of wine and goodie bags for children.
Seaviews from master bedroom
Garden views from twin room
Burgh Island Hotel
Acres of uncrowded, safe sandy beach.
Sun down behind Burgh Island
Looking West along the Coast
Endless beautiful sunsets and sunrises.
The Sea Tractor leaving mainland for Burgh Island with the tide coming in.
Our Guests hurrying back from the Island before the waters meet.
Early morning walk , just the two of us.
Front row seat for Burgh Island Fireworks.
Moonlight on Bigbury Bay from the Garden Apartment.
Acres of safe sandy beach just 3 mins walk through the garden at 'Folly Rise'.
Rainbow over Bigbury-on-Sea.
Thatched boathouse up the tidal Avon Estuary opposite ' Folly Rise' by Guest Stephen Entwi
Something to celebrate.  Enjoy our compimentary bottle of wine.
The evocative Avon Estuary 'Stakes Road' accessable at low tide, with its myriad wildlife.
Sedgewell Sands at low tide. Just 3 mins across from The Garden Apartment.
Guests Mark & Cheryl off to wine,dine and dance at 'Burgh Island Hotel'
Our young Guests Mark & Cheryl enjoying their romantic evening on Burgh Island.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bigbury-on-Sea, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nannymole
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect relaxtion”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was our second visit and we will no doubt return. The setting of the apartment is brilliant. Minutes from the sea which you can see from the apartment in all its glory. We needed a rest and peace and quiet and this is the place for it. The owner is a considerate host and very friendly. Even the day there was a gale was great as we sat watching it from the comfort of the living room. Brilliant.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
We enjoyed welcoming Diana & Stanley back, they came last year with their Daughter and Granddaughter Maggie, so it was lovely this year that the previous week to Diana's & Stanleys stay, their Daughter Lorna returned with Husband Mark and their 3 delightful Grandchildren Alaina 7, Ben 5 and Maggie 3 yrs. We love it when Guests return year after year and we get great pleasure from seeing their young children grow!! 3generations of a delightful family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giardinie...
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing views, spacious rooms and impeccable host”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at The Garden Apartment for a week and had such a great time. Gill was so helpful, both leading up to our holiday (she helped Mark arrange a couple of surprises for me) and during our stay. The apartment itself is great, very spacious, very well equipped and with stunning views across the garden and out to the sea below. Access to the beach was quick and easy (about 3 minutes down through the garden) and the locals were welcoming and very friendly.

A brilliant place to stay, we loved every moment and will definitely go back. We would recommend The Garden Apartment to anyone who wants a self-catering home from home in a beautiful location with a lovely host who makes you feel welcome without being intrusive in any way.
We love Gill !!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from the apartment and warmth of the host.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
We were pleased to be involved prior to and during this this delightful young couple's stay with us. They were such considerate and appreciate Guests, we were privileged they chose "The Garden Apartment" at "Folly Rise" here in fabulous Bigbury-on-Sea for their special celebration of time together. As you can see from their photos they both looks so handsome and elegant as they spent that amazing evening at Burgh Island Hotel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Seaside Holiday Location”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The garden apartment is spectacularly situated in unspoiled Bigbury on Sea.Blessed with magnificent views over the bay, beach and sea from many points within the more than adequately appointed apartment, and tranquil gardens. There is even a private footpath via the garden down to the beach which was of great delight to my 4 year old grand-daughter.The beach is ultra safe with plenty of interest being adjacent to the causeway to Burgh Island.There are good toilet, cafe and beach shop facilities along with hire shop for wet-suites, surf boards ,canoes etc. But the icing on the cake is Gill the owner, who is such a warm and friendly host and really takes trouble to make sure that all guests have a great holiday.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2014
It was a pleasure to welcome three generations of this super family. They were so enthusiastic about the location and appreciative of what we do to make our visitors feel like 'House Guests' rather than 'paying guests'! Each one has their individual needs which we do our utmost to meet.
We're very much hoping they will return next year when lovely Esme will be 5!! Gill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryLS987...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have just returned from another wonderful holiday at the Garden Apartment, Folly Rise. The location has beautiful views of Bigbury Bay and easy access to the beach with lovely local walks nearby. Gill is a welcoming, caring host; nothing is too much trouble. Thank you again Gill for your many kindnesses and help. We look forward to coming back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything was excellent
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2014
This is the 3rd year we have had the pleasure of welcoming this super couple and their family and we are delighted they have booked the same two weeks for 2015. We are so fortunate with our core of loyal returning Guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location for young children”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely week in the Garden Apartment and Gill was a wonderful host going out of her way to provide advice and assistance including catering for our complex needs with regard to food allergies. The apartment is spacious and really close to the beach, literally a few minutes walk (even at two-yr old walking pace) yet the elevation up the steps allows for great views over the bay when enjoying a drink on the terrace in the evening. Gill has recorded some helpful videos posted on the property website so you can see the exact layout before you arrive. The facilities were all spotless and well-maintained.

The local area is beautiful. The beach is gently sloping which seems to help keep the water relatively warm and give plenty of space to play at low tide. Our boys (2.5 & 4.5) loved the ability to walk over to Burgh Island at low tide or get the sea-tractor at high. The Beach View Cafe is a very handy place to walk for a nice meal nearby. Booking is recommended. Other dining locations are a bit of a drive away.

The weather was very nice while we were there. We built up plenty of beach hours and on the few mornings it was cloudy or inclement we took the opportunity to visit some of the other local attractions. There is a good selection of zoos, aquariums and similar within an hour or so drive to entertain children. We particularly liked Paignton zoo.

We hope to return in years to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy access to a lovely beach
Liked least: Local driving is a bit nerve-wracking if you have a wide car!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
We are so pleased this delightful family enjoyed the simple pleasures a typical family beach holiday offers. There are certainly so many attractions locally for Visitors to visit, many of our guests return year after year, finding something different each time. We look forward to welcoming Cat, Chris and family in the future. We agree we are indeed blessed with the "Bay View Café and Bistro" just a 5 minutes walk away!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;