We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal for some time”

The Wellington Boot Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 143 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Dining in the Best Western Hotel in Havelet.
Reviewed 13 October 2018

My 3 course meal was delivered and finished within an hr with a beautiful merlot at the correct temperature. Prawn & Cray fish starter 10/10. A 'blue' rib eye steak, with peas and parka fries, a pepper sauce was served separately as the steak was not only excellent but excellently prepared the sauce was not used. I finished up with Guernsey Ice cream Coffee & Vanilla - A superb meal beautifully served with the minimum of fuss or delay. Absolutely excellent

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at The Wellington Boot Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Thank you for your support and for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor following your recent visit at the Wellington Boot restaurant. It is wonderful to learn that you had an enjoyable meal and found the quality of the meal and the presentation superb. It will be my pleasure to pass your compliments on the chefs and would like to say thank you on their behalf too.

Once again, we thank you for being our Guest and for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2018

Pre dinner drinks in the bar area was lively while I was there. Vegetarian options are available and there was a good selection for me, and while my meal tasted great it was not hot enough. The restaurant is slightly out of St Peter Port up a steep hill. It took 20 minutes to walk from the main bus stop at the harbour.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank RiverWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at The Wellington Boot Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Thank you for your feedback! It was a pleasure to be at your service and we are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable dining experience and the selection of vegetarian dishes were up to your liking. It will be my pleasure to share your feedback with the entire team.

We appreciate you being our Guest and look forward to your return. Should you require any assistance for future bookings please do not hesitate to contact me directly or our Reservation Team!

Kind regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We come over to Guernsey most years from England and always make a point of having a meal at the Wellington Boot. This year we celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at the restaurant with some family and friends and had an excellent evening. I always particularly enjoy the steak, while my wife rates the fish dishes very highly. The deserts are superb. It is all the more special if you can get a table by the windows which offer superb views, taking in Castle Cornet, the harbour and Herm. The service is top class

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Howard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at The Wellington Boot Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to our restaurant. It is always a pleasure to welcome back returning guests and we are delighted to learn that you chose the Wellington Boot to celebrate your 30th Wedding Anniversary. It is wonderful to learn that the food was up to your liking and you enjoyed the views towards the sea. Thank you for your kind comments regarding my team, I am delighted to learn that the service provided was up to your satisfaction. All feedback is shared with each member of the team and I would like to say thank you on their behalf as well.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you to our restaurant hopefully in the future.

Kind regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

This resteraunt offers beautiful views and excellent service and food. The decor is more traditional which suits the Hotel. I would however have preferred real candles and lower lighting to give it a little more ambience.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank TrailBlazer598580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at The Wellington Boot Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Wellington Boot Restaurant. I am delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable experience and found the service and the food excellent. I will be delighted to share your feedback with my team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future!


Kind regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

Whilst staying at the De Havelet we dined at the Wellington Boot, evening meals offer a 2 or 3 course fixed rate meal, as with the Hotel service is excellent. The atmosphere is conservative and refined and would suit those who prefer a more traditional offering

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at The Wellington Boot Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to learn you had an enjoyable meal at our Wellington Boot Restaurant and found the service excellent. It will be my pleasure to share your feedback with the team.

It was a pleasure to be of your service and we very much appreciate your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wellington Boot Restaurant also viewed

 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
Guernsey, Channel Islands
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to The Wellington Boot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing