We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average is probably generous”

Old Government House Brasserie
Ranked #8 of 145 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$37
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 26 October 2018

Arrived for tennerfest and seated at bar - drinks were served with nibbles and menus brought. Then we were asked to go to our table, so we started juggling drinks, menus and coats - seeing us struggling a waiter came to take our drinks and shot off leaving us in his wake. To be brief the food was okay - the terrine was very chilled but the other starters were alright. The poussin was poor - what little meat was on the poor bird did not want to come off its bones! Again the other mains were ok. The menus were brought for us to choose dessert ; we were told the fondant would take 15 minutes - might be worth the wait to redeem the meal. However it took so long for anyone to return to take the order that it seemed too late so we just opted for ice cream or cheesecake. To cap it we asked for the bill, and then waited again - ending up tapping a card on the table to attract attention. We certainly won't rush back and could not it was definitely not 5 star service

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rebem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2018

At short notice we asked our friend who we were staying with to book somewhere nice for a Saturday night meal for my birthday. Tennerfest had started on 1st Oct so many places were chock a block:( However, we decided on their £20 three course meal an it was first class. Beautifully presented, very tasty, good quality food. The service was excellent and discreet. Thank you for an enjoyable evening.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Starnurse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

lovely food,great service nothing too much trouble. Guernsey butter is just fantastic, Andrew gave me some to take home.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank janetallaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Ate dinner here on a Friday night. Totally faultless. The waiting staff missed nothing, they were among the best I have ever seen. The food was well prepared, delicious and beautiful. The decor and atmosphere are wonderful. Would love to eat here again. Top marks to chefs and waiting staff. All excellent.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank kay0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

This place was a genuine pleasure for a breakfast visit while we were in St. Peter Port for a day trip. The food was delicious. I selected the Continental breakfast buffet and found the options delicious (Guernsey milk products are appropriately featured). My husband ordered a hot meal which was a generous and proper English breakfast. The service is exquisite -- formal yet not stuffy or intimidating. The setting is quiet, clubby and cozy -- all of which I mean in the most positive of terms. The atmosphere is welcoming, comfortable and pleasurable. The décor and design are impeccable, including adjoining garden (eating outside was an option). Additionally, Candie Garden is nearby.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Government House Brasserie also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
Guernsey, Channel Islands
 

Been to Old Government House Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing