We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fair priced B&B”
Review of St Georges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Georges
Shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“a fair priced B&B”
Reviewed 17 January 2011

The room was servicable, and clean with fresh linen, towels and comfy beds. Bathroom was clean. Could help yourself to extra sachets of tea/coffee/ milk and sugar from the trolley on the landing, which was really useful.
Bacon and Sausage at Breakfast is perhaps the best quality i have had in a B&B to date.. Plenty of choice and you have as little or as much as you want of everything.
It is a nice little B&B - and I have definately stayed in much worse. It is clearly set up to ensure that there is much less work for the owner, (reception only manned when arrivals/departures are expected, extra supplies to help yourself to on each floor etc) so if you are looking for the niceties (excellent service, someone always around etc) best go elsewhere - but for the price, you get a good night's sleep in a clean comfy bed and a good breakfast, all with a sea view and just 10 mins from town for £29.00 per person per night in winter. For the price, I really can't complain. It had everything we needed

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShropshireSusieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allez2, Manager at St Georges, responded to this review, 21 January 2011
Thank you for your very fair and honest review. You have summerised exactly what St George's aims to be. We hope you enjoyed your stay and that we will see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    69
    34
    19
    13
See reviews for
27
91
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2011

I spent one night there last weekend with my 92 year old Dad and 3 (all mature) sisters, we arrived early Saturday morning and they were happy to let us into the rooms. We had 3 double rooms and one twin which transpired to be a triple - double and a single.
The rooms were clean all with ensuite showers rooms and all 4 had a sea view. There was plenty of tea and coffee with extra in cabinets around the guest house.
Breakfast was excellent. Cooked Buffet style, plus cereals, fruit and breads etc .
Staff all friendly and polite and helpful. Fully recommend it and will be returning. They stored our luggage until we flew sunday evening.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearlpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allez2, Manager at St Georges, responded to this review, 17 January 2011
We are very pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us, we look forward to having you stay again when you vist Guernsey again. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Myself and my partner regularly stay at St George's and are always welcomed with warmth and sincere gratitude....Most of the people on here who give such a negative view of the Hotel are the kinds of people who expect caviar on their cornflakes and enter an establishment with the express purpose of whining about the most trivial of things...' I expect Guernsey Tomatoes, with my breakfast', 'the complimentary soap is too small' ....' I can't get any sleep at 6:30 in the morning, because the staff are doing their jobs' St Georges is great value for money and the staff are wonderfully friendly. Can't wait to return in the spring!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KingTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allez2, Manager at St Georges, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Thank you for your review, and it is sincerely expressed by all the members of staff that we hope to see you again in the future and thank you for your stays over the last six years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

We had contacted St George's Hotel in hopes of a reservation two months prior to our arrival date. Since we were only planning to stay one or two nights they told us it was not worth their while to have us stay since they would have to change towels and sheets and clean the room. As it happened, other family members were going to be on Guernsey at the same time and were staying at the St. George's so we persisted in our contact. Two days before our arrival we received news that they would have a room for us at an additional charge of £5 per person (as their web page indicates).

The ten minute walk from the ferry dock was easy to do with our backpacks; it would not be so easy with luggage. Room 2 on the top floor has a Victorian dormer looking out to the bay. This clean room offered a wardrobe and side tables, a Danish style futon/chair and an in-need-of-fresh-paint wicker grooming table. A flat screen tv and tea/coffee service with kettle were in an alcove. The three piece bath (sink, toilet, shower) was clean but needing a grout change. There was plenty of hot water and an adjustable height showerhead. The bed, 2 singles pushed together for a king, was comfortable with crisp white sheets. There was lots of heat in the room upon arrival ... too much, so we turned off the heater and opened the window. Traffic on the busy street calmed down by 10pm and didn't start in earnest until 6am; so a good sleep was had without difficulty. If you are a very light sleeper or want to sleep-in you might consider requesting a room in the rear (or using ear plugs).

The breakfast was buffet style offering eggs, bacon, beans, cold cuts, cheese and cereals along with juice, tea and coffee.

The free wifi and the complementary computer were "not working" the day we were there. The family members who also stayed at St George's Hotel had already been there five days upon our arrival. During that time neither their sheets nor damp towels had been changed.

For us, the uncaring attitude of St. George's Hotel staff seemed to match the weather we were experiencing ... rather dreary. Guernsey is relatively expensive and, although clean and comfortable, this hotel didn't give anything but the minimum at a full rate price plus 1 night supplement, therefore, it was not deemed, by us, to have high value. If we were returning to Guernsey, we would probably look for accommodations elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveltales-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allez2, Manager at St Georges, responded to this review, 8 January 2011
We are a budget priced guest house, and while wishing to make guests happy, we do not take one night stays in the summer months unless they fit in with our bookings already in place. Due to our price and proximity to the ferry, we could become influx with one night stays if we took them, and simply do not have the staff for the budget we are on, to deal with this amount of work.
We put folders in each room providing guests with information on the guest house. If guests wish to get the best out of their stay, it is recommended that they read this folder. Here they wil see that if they wish their towels to be changed then they must put them in the shower cubicle and then the chambermaids will change them.
Sheets are changed every 3 days.
The computer we have for guests to use is a free service with complements of the guest house, it is not being paid for in the tariff. Unfortunatly it was not available at the time you came as someone had previously taken the hard drive out of it, and it was in the process of being fixed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandown, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We came over for a short break and will be going back for more.On arrival we were given a choice of rooms so had top front. A small but tidy clean room, a comfy bed, lots of hot water and endless tea and coffee, you help yourself from a trolley on the landing. breakfast is buffet style and if you cant find what you want they will cook it for you. The staff are helpful and will help if you ask. Good value for money I came home very content with my mini holiday.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abudd257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allez2, Manager at St Georges, responded to this review, 8 January 2011
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
1.6 km away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
776 reviews
0.7 km away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
843 reviews
0.1 km away
La Piette Hotel
La Piette Hotel
#12 of 19 in St Peter Port
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
4.3 km away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
571 reviews
1.4 km away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#15 of 19 in St Peter Port
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Georges

Property: St Georges
Address: 21 St. Georges Esplanade, St Peter Port GY1 2BG
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — St Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 1 minute walk from the beach. Boasting an enviable location by the sea and 2 minutes’ drive from Saint Julian’s Pier, locally known as North Beach, St Georges is a family-run guest house with free Wi-Fi and Free public parking is also available nearby. Each room at St Georges features an en suite bathroom with tea/coffee making facilities, and a flat-screen TV. Some rooms also boast picturesque views of Belle Greve Bay and the picturesque islands of Sark, Herm, and Jethou. A complimentary breakfast is served daily. The busy Saint Peter Port Harbour with ferries to Jersey, Southampton, Poole, is only 1 km away and Guernsey Airport is 12 minutes’ drive from the guest house. Owner Davina Sweet and her friendly team work hard to ensure a perfect stay, so why not give them a call today and take the first steps to exploring this magical isle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Hotel St Peter Port
St Georges Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing