We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Excellent, value for money"”
Review of St Georges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Georges
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Just returned from a week in St Peter Port and we stayed at St Georges Guest House. The location was great, just about ten minutes walk to the centre of town, but very flat and by the sea which made the walk enjoyable. The traffic was a bit of a nightmare, but that can be said for all roads in Guernsey - far too many cars! The good thing was though, the bus stop was right outside the guest house and you could travel right around the island in about one hour for £1.

At the Guest House, we found the service excellent, the staff were pleasant and very helpful. We had a good, plentiful selection of both hot and cold foods for breakfast each morning.

The twin room we stayed in was a ground floor annex on the patio, it was very clean and bright and furnished with pine furniture. It had an excellent shower room and small flat screen TV. Free internet was also available in the dining room. Set in the middle of the hotel, we heard no noise from the busy road outside.

The only negative thing I would say about the Guest House is that they allow smoking on the patio, which meant that when other guests were sat outside smoking we had to close the window to our room as it became very offensive. Also on sunny days, the tables were set out for breakfast on the patio, a lovely gesture, but again we would not use these as other guests were smoking nearby.

All in all though I would recommend St Georges Guest House as an excellent base in St Peter Port, value for money and well worth a try.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allez2, Manager at St Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2011

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your complimentary review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in Guernsey and stay with us and feel that your description of what we provide is exactly what we aim for.
We apologise if you found the noise and smoke from other guests on the patio offensive,, unfortunately this is a difficult problem to rectify as this is our only outside area where guests can smoke. I can only suggest that in future please notify staff when booking that you wish to not be so close to the smoking area.
We hope you will choose to visit us again in future, as you were a pleasure to have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 154 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2011

After reading the reviews about St Georges we were really looking forward to the stay. However, it wasn't what we expected and in the end we ended up checking out one night early.

The main problem was that the first room we got was small and noisy. We were woken multiple times in the night with music, TV noise and noises from the breakfast prep in the kitchen. We went to talk to reception about this in the morning they were at first dismissive but did, after a little nudging, give us a new room. This was far quieter and a, so we did get a good nights sleep.

However, we ended up checking out a night early because it didn't really feel like a B&B, it's more like a hostel with a lot of basic double rooms than a B&B. That's fine if that's what you're looking for, but we weren't. If you're looking for a small family run B&B, with comfy rooms you won't find it here. If you want a basic base, with small and functional rooms give it a try.

A few other things:
- Some of the staff were friendly and helpful, others weren't so helpful. To be fair they did seem to be overworked and exhausted.
- The breakfast was a self service full English buffet, cereal, yoghurt, fruit. You could order additional things (porridge was nice)
- Location is great. It's a 10 minute seafront walk into town for shops, restaurants, the ferry. There's a coop supermarket round the corner and a nice wine shop next door (good cheap wine!)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TobermoryBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allez2, Manager at St Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

When you first enquired two weeks before you wanted to book with us, we informed you that we were fully booked at that time due to the Royal Wedding. However a cancellation occured and we offered you this last room that we had available.
Bearing in mind we were fully booked, it was extremely difficult to change your room but we endeavoured by moving other guests around over the upcoming week so that you had a more suitable room to your needs.
We are offended by your comments that we resemble a Hostel. We have a professional Hotel Inspection every year who grades us above the star rating we advertise. They also advise us on what category of accomodation we fall into- which is Guest Accomodation as advertised.
Our staff work very hard to try and provide a clean and comfortable stay at a reasonable price, within the limitations of our budget and the building restrictions. We feel that mostly we manage to provide this as reflected by our bookings, as we have been fully booked since January 4th 2011.
The staff are not overworked as the manager will not allow them to work longer than a 36 hour week. Only management work longer, and all staff are busy trying to provide the best we can for the tariff.
We feel that we did our best to try and make your stay comfortable, however it still did not seem to please you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

I have just arrived back from a 2 night stay at St Georges in Guernsey and found it to be extremely good accommodation. The location was ideal, just a 10 minute walk to the town centre. The room was clean with a wonderful sea view. Shower was hot and powerful. Breakfast was filling with a wide range available. Finally I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone thinking of staying in Guernsey.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanDavies1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allez2, Manager at St Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

The team at St George's wish to express their thanks for you review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments sum up exactly what we aim to provide.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

The room was servicable, and clean with fresh linen, towels and comfy beds. Bathroom was clean. Could help yourself to extra sachets of tea/coffee/ milk and sugar from the trolley on the landing, which was really useful.
Bacon and Sausage at Breakfast is perhaps the best quality i have had in a B&B to date.. Plenty of choice and you have as little or as much as you want of everything.
It is a nice little B&B - and I have definately stayed in much worse. It is clearly set up to ensure that there is much less work for the owner, (reception only manned when arrivals/departures are expected, extra supplies to help yourself to on each floor etc) so if you are looking for the niceties (excellent service, someone always around etc) best go elsewhere - but for the price, you get a good night's sleep in a clean comfy bed and a good breakfast, all with a sea view and just 10 mins from town for £29.00 per person per night in winter. For the price, I really can't complain. It had everything we needed

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShropshireSusieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allez2, Manager at St Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2011

Thank you for your very fair and honest review. You have summerised exactly what St George's aims to be. We hope you enjoyed your stay and that we will see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

I spent one night there last weekend with my 92 year old Dad and 3 (all mature) sisters, we arrived early Saturday morning and they were happy to let us into the rooms. We had 3 double rooms and one twin which transpired to be a triple - double and a single.
The rooms were clean all with ensuite showers rooms and all 4 had a sea view. There was plenty of tea and coffee with extra in cabinets around the guest house.
Breakfast was excellent. Cooked Buffet style, plus cereals, fruit and breads etc .
Staff all friendly and polite and helpful. Fully recommend it and will be returning. They stored our luggage until we flew sunday evening.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pearlpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allez2, Manager at St Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2011

We are very pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us, we look forward to having you stay again when you vist Guernsey again. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
1.6 km away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
895 reviews
0.9 km away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
715 reviews
0.1 km away
La Piette Hotel
La Piette Hotel
#13 of 19 in St Peter Port
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Pandora Hotel
Pandora Hotel
#14 of 19 in St Peter Port
243 reviews
4.2 km away
La Trelade Country House Hotel
1.2 km away
The Yacht Inn
The Yacht Inn
#5 of 8 in St Peter Port
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Georges

Address: 21 St. Georges Esplanade, St Peter Port GY1 2BG
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in St Peter Port
Price Range: €51 - €128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an enviable location by the sea and 2 minutes’ drive from St Julian’s Pier, locally known as North Beach, St Georges is a family-run guest house with free Wi-Fi and Free public parking is also available,nearby and a large carpark on the sea wall. Each room at St Georges features an en suite bathroom with tea/coffee making facilities, and a flat-screen TV. Some rooms also boast picturesque views of Belle Greve Bay and the picturesque islands of Sark, Herm, and Jethou. A complimentary breakfast is served daily. The busy Saint Peter Port Harbour with ferries to Jersey, Southampton, Poole, is only 4 mins drive or 15minutes walk, away and Guernsey Airport is 12 minutes’ drive from the guest house. Owner Davina Sweet and her friendly team work hard to ensure a perfect stay, so why not give them a call today and take the first steps to exploring this magical isle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Hotel St Peter Port
St Georges Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing