We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Les Douvres Hotel(St Martins)
US$171
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saints Bay Hotel(St Martins)
US$176
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Barbarie Hotel(St Martins)
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Trelade Country House Hotel(St Martins)(Great Value!)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Jerbourg(St Martins)
US$236
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bella Luce(St Martins)
US$251
US$244
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Horizon Hotel(St Martins)
Book now, pay at stay
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Michele(St Martins)
US$151
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Queens Inn(St Martins)
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Captain's(St Martins)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
57
8
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelcome packbedroom cottagemoulin huetoutdoor toystumble dryerst martinsfamily holidaythe busa great place to stayexcellent holidayapartment was very cleanwithin walking distanceeasy accessyour doorsteplocal shopsco opexploring the island
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We stayed in a two bedroom cottage for a week. The cottage was spotlessly clean and Fiona had kindly left milk, bread, cheese, tomatoes and a Guernsey gache (fruit loaf) for us. Our ferry was delayed so we did not arrive until after midnight but we still had access to the accommodation. The cottage is well equipped and all bedding, towels etc are provided. Simon was great too and when I asked immediately went and found a stool for me so that I could sit at the dressing table to dry my hair. The cottages are very well situated, shops and places to eat are really close by and lovely walks to Jerbourg and Moulin Huet can be taken without having to drive. We have already booked for next year!!

Room Tip: Cottage 2 has bathroom downstairs.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonandFionaE, Owner at Ellingham Self-Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at The Ellingham - we very much look forward to welcoming you all back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

This is the second time we have stayed at these cottages and they have everthing you need for a self catering holiday,including tea,coffee and sugar all there.Simon and Fiona are great very welcoming.The cottages are in good position for getting round the island either by car or bus.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank martinair2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonandFionaE, Owner at Ellingham Self-Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for your lovely review - we are so pleased that you enjoy staying at The Ellingham. It is always great to see friendly, familiar faces return. Hopefully see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Great hosts before and during our holiday . Nothing was two much trouble .
House very clean and comfortable and a excellently situated for exploring the island
and a huge choice for evening meals .
Would recommend to family and friends . If you are debating booking and still ploughing through endless accommodations look no further you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank georgina1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonandFionaE, Owner at Ellingham Self-Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you very much for leaving a review of your stay in Guernsey. We really appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the 3 bedroom cottage which was clean, comfortable and very spacious. The bed in the master room was huge! A few supplies were ready for us when we checked in which was nice after a long journey and just gave us a bit of breathing space to have a cuppa and something to eat. The cottage was in a great position to walk to a couple of beaches plus a short walk down the road brings you to the shops and a number of places to eat/drink were close by as well. Simon and Fiona the owners were very helpful with their local knowledge and always took the time to ask what you had been up to that day. Fiona's guide that she had put together about Guernsey (where to go, what to do etc) was extremely comprehensive and a good read especially as you could tell it was written from experience. I would definitely recommend these cottages.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonandFionaE, Owner at Ellingham Self-Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you very much for leaving your kind review. We are very pleased that you found the cottage comfortable and appreciated the Handbook, welcome groceries etc. Guernsey is a great place to visit and from our chats, it sounds like you were able to make the most of your holiday. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We had a superb two week holiday stay at Ellingham Cottages. The Cottage was very comfortable, well equipped and cleaned to a high standard. We were able to sit out relax and enjoy breakfast on the back patio. In the afternoon we were able to sit and relax in the front garden with a book and a cool glass of wine. Simon our host was very amenable and looked after us well. We also hired two cycles in advance that were delivered to the cottages and were ready and available on our arrival. Having the cycles helped us to see most of the island, which is amazing with very friendly people.
We tried many restaurants some more expensive than others around the island and found all of them to be very good. We cycled from St Martins to places such as St Peterport and Cobo Bay visiting various beautiful coves and bays along the way. The bus service was ideal on the occasions we needed it. So much of our time was taking up by exploring Guernsey, that we didn't find time to visit the islands of Herm, Sark or Alderney, so a return visit for us to Ellingham Cottages is a must. We would like to say a big Thank you to Simon, Fiona and staff for ensuring we had an excellent Holiday. Best Wishes Owen and Angela.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank owen1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonandFionaE, Owner at Ellingham Self-Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

It is fantastic that you managed to fit so much in to your holiday and experience many of the great things to do and see (and eat!) in Guernsey. And you managed to save the island-hopping for your next visit! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us - it would be our absolute pleasure to welcome you again. We hope that you have an excellent time over the rest of your summer. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews