We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Talana Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Merton Hotel(StSaviour)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monterey Hotel(St Helier)
US$160
US$124
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
US$154
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayfair Hotel(St Helier)(Great Value!)
US$137
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Longueville Manor(StSaviour)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de France(St Helier)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampshire Hotel(St Helier)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apollo Hotel(St Helier)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
113
93
35
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
93
35
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoward davis parkst helierbusy roadfriendly hotelbit datedno liftmain roadcar park is smallevening meals arestar hotelgreat holidaytea and coffeefull englishsmall poolmin walkenjoyed our stayvery pleasant stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed here on a four day break on the lovely island of Jersey.The owner Gus helped me a lot with the booking and the ferry etc.The hotel is just outside of St Helier and an easy walk,The rooms were kept very clean and tidy also food in the restaurant was great,the waitresses work very hard looking after there tables.Nice hotel bar for a beverage(or two),Carling and Worthington's on draught.I am a registered Blind traveller and felt very safe here and yes we would stay at The Talana again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MixedGrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

One guest appeared to have nailed it.
On arrival the parking facilities were horrendous,down a steep, narrow driveway to a car park that only really allowed spaces for small cars and not a great number at that. Fully booked it would not accomodate everyone. The hotel room was comfortable and basic, no niceties i.e. shower gels etc, although this is a 2 star so maybe we were expecting too much. Our room faced south overlooking front of hotel and busy road, therefore hot and noisy,(no air con), added to which ,unfortunately was the ever present cigarette smoke which wafted up into the room if you left the windows open.
Staff very friendly and helpful, and although there was plenty of food, it was more like a café than restaurant; sachets of sauces etc on table. The food was plentiful but always plain, no hint of herbs or garlic and to our mind more like school dinners, no fresh fruit, packet soup,tins frozen veg and sauces, and the salad was literally lettuce,tomato and cucumber. Cheese board, only available with cream crackers and offering a blue chees, a cheddar,Edam and cheese triangles.Wow ! Should you happen to be a vegetarian,well - poor you,!; the only options available for dinner were omelette or salad, until we requested fish. The barman certainly was a dour Scot but interestingly informative. very little entertainment, and it would appear from our conversations that the management is resistant to change to do with food choices or quality etc.

Room Tip: Front rooms noisy as on main road,also smokers area just below windows and your room will always smell if you leave the window open for air
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Our first visit to Jersey for my wife and I. Brilliant hotel. Gus, Sam and staff are very friendly and helpful. Hotel has a nice relaxed atmosphere., It has good sized rooms and comfortable beds. 10 out of 10 for cleanliness. Waiting staff in the dining room very attentaive without being overbearing. Well stocked bar with friendly barman. Plenty of different seating areas inside and outside the hotel. We found all the other guests friendly and sat chatting to several other groups. Very informative notice board featuring up to date local events, plenty of information leaflets. 15 minutes walk into town through Howard Davis Park which is 5 minutes from hotel and well worth a visit. Events are regularly held within the park. Gus offered and arrange transport back to the airport saving us money. Will seriously consider returning. Thank you Gus and Sam for a really pleasant stay. Hugh and Margaret.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Huma01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Our second visit to the Talana Hotel Jersey lovely welcome by all the staff.Liam on the bar remembers your drinks,sam just brill on the bingo and quiz night.Food excellent and plenty of choice.Nice walk into St helier through Howard Davis Park.Very clean and cosy so safe we were able to leave our windows open all the duration of our stay.

Room Tip: We had room at the side but previously had room at back equally both good.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank william78Shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My friend and i have stayed here 3 times in the last 3 years and never had any problems or complaints.The Talana is far superior in every way to the 3 star hotel we stayed in on our first visit to jersey 5 years ago.Hotel was immaculately clean throughout, which to me,is much more important than the decor.All of the staff were friendly,helpful and polite at all times.The owners,Gus and his wife Sam were very welcoming and knowledgeable and provided written daily information sheets explaining what was going on and where.We wouldnt have known about the 20/20 cricket nearby had it not been for them.Food was excellent,plentiful and well cooked,and dining room staff couldnt have been better.Its about a 10/15 minute stroll into town but the beautiful Howard Davis Park is only 5 minutes away on the way into town and well worth a visit.All in all we found this hotel as usual,excellent value for money and one of the frienldiest places we have stayed.Great little bar where lots of the guests met up,and some were actually in their 20's and 30's too!!thoroughly recommended.WE'LL BE BACK!!

Room Tip: rooms at back quieter but traffic noise at front not that bad either.beds all very comfy.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geraldine009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews