We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Jersey wasn't on our bucket list but we went to watch our son play in the Commonwealth Junior Fencing Competition. Jersey was a delightful place to visit and the Mayfair Hotel was a great base.

We chose the Mayfair as it was one of the official tournament hotels and the team had chosen to stay there as it was the cheaper of the 2 official hotels.

The decor and furnishings were abit dated and some worn but it was winter and the hotel was consistently warm, the water always hot (maybe too hot?). Bed comfortable and room clean.

Reception was brightly lit & manned 24 hours, As advertised there are complimentary computers at reception which although always in demand you didn't have to wait too long to have a go. But they were quite slow. The complimentary wi-fi in the lounge area (none in room) had a maximum number of connections so once the max was hit, you had to wait till someone disconnected before you could get one. So the trick was to get connected before the rush period. The broadband would slow down considerably at peak usage times. But it was good to have complimentary internet access.

What I liked about the breakfast was the continental section was buffet .. the usual choices of cereal, canned fruit, etc but for the hot food, the waiter took your order so you knew it was fresh cooked & all you ordered was what you got which was good - so you are not tempted to go back for more & over eat the 'bad' stuff but you could as much good stuff as you wanted. LOL. The last reviewer Hamiltonlass08 could not have described it better. We found the 'Basil Fawlty' ness amusing.

We decided to buy the dinner package they offered us when we checked in - to join the team. 4 course meal (starter, soup, main, dessert & coffee/tea) for a fixed price - everyday the menu changed (menu's available on their website) & there's a choice of 2 to 3 for each (starter, main, dessert). Some people thought is was canteen-ish but I thought, some of it was ordinary but some quite nice. You were served at the table and the quantity of food was plenty enough. The boys were all full and they were all big eaters. My only regret is .. buying the meal package meant we didn't get to try any other Jersey dining but I rationalised that then I didn't have to go out in the dark & cold. Being winter many places were closed .. when I asked I was told 'in winter, Jersey hibernates' and it was almost true. The forts/castles, the shell house was closed. Oh, the 'Basil Fawlty' ness was evident at dinner time too. LOL.

Location of Mayfair made it close to walk to the city, main bus stop, the waterfront. Public buses were well priced & easy to use & good for seeing a little of the island. We bought the hotel's airport transfer package as we were arriving late & leaving very early and just wanted that peace of mind.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinebkwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    367
    159
    55
    24
See reviews for
179
380
62
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Reception area lovely and bright and staff very helpful. Plenty of local info and free internet in the lobby area for guests which we found really useful.
Landing areas tatty with furniture that is well past its sell by date (settee with torn covering?!) with decor to match. Room in need of updating as again furniture was very tired looking. Bed was very comfortable.
Breakfast was entertaining as nobody told us we had to wait to be seated and would be allocated a table which would be exclusively ours for the duration of our stay. Restaurant manager was on constant alert to move anyone who had unfortunately sat at an unallocated table, a bit too Basil Fawlty for us! Actual breakfast was very good - cooked to order and cold buffet.
Hotel is in a very good position for easy walk into St Helier. We had a hire car so the hotel car park was important to us. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as we wanted to eat out , we found some super restaurants. Plenty of choice in St Helier, all within walking distance.
We found the hotel to be popular with coach parties and older people to whom the entertainment and bar area were maybe more suited.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamiltonlass08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We returned to this town centre hotel last weekend for a friend's birthday party and, as usual, it didn't disappoint.
The whole evening was tremendous and I have to make special mention of the manager and staff who are are courteous, caring and go out of their way to help.
The food was superb. Starters, desserts and cheese were served and we had a buffet main which included a wonderful display of seafood and suckling pig.
The function room, which has a private bar, was perfect for 60 of us, but it will take plenty more.
We didn't stay overnight but several friends did and they were pleased with their rooms and they enjoyed the pool too!
This is an excellent hotel and a great place for a party.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamAndCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

First visit to Jersey last week Sunday through till Thursday flying with Flybe and have to say very impressed all round. The Mayfair Hotel rooms are spacious with all that you would require and it is in an ideal location for the main shopping centre. The breakfast was very good with all the options from prunes to cereals. Breakfasts were made to order with choice of cooked eggs etc. We did not eat in the Hotel in the evenings so cannot comment on the restaurant. We chose to eat out and there is an abdunace of restaurants within walking distance.
In summary, very satisfied with the Hotel and the staff were good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Golfboy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This hotel, despite the reception being modern and clean, was not reflected in other parts. Our family room, with bunk beds had very dated decor, however was clean and had ample space for the four of us. The breakfasts were good, with a great selection. Parking was available on site and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Coud do with a good lick of paint an new carpets in the hall and stairs leading to the bedrooms. The beds in the room had seen better days, mattresses were not very comfortable and very aged!
Caution the walls are paper thin!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mazzy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.6 km away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#6 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.7 km away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#7 of 32 in St Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.3 km away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.3 km away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Property: Mayfair Hotel
Address: St Saviour's Street, Brooklyn Street, St Helier JE1 4HE
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular three-star Mayfair Hotel is conveniently located just a few minutes' walk from the centre of St Helier and a 10-minute stroll from the beach. Open all year round, the hotel offers a wealth of facilities including indoor pool, Jacuzzi and gym, along with regular evening entertainment, restaurant, bar and coffee shop. Accommodation options include twin/double and family bedrooms, each en suite with TV and tea/coffee making facilities and junior suites with separate lounge and bedroom areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel St Helier
Mayfair St Helier
Mayfair Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing