We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tellitlikeitis

Needs help

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Aug 2020
The place needs a serious overhaul... if the overpriced below average food doesn’t make enough money sell the place and let someone else bring it into modern times. Useless WiFi, TV’s from 1985 in each room, smell of damp everywhere...the lost goes on.
Achill was scenically beautiful but the place needs about 15-20 decent places for food as it’s abysmal.
Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
0.0 km from Achill Sound Hotel- Ostan Gob A'Choire
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.3 km from Achill Sound Hotel- Ostan Gob A'Choire
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from Achill Sound Hotel- Ostan Gob A'Choire
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from Achill Sound Hotel- Ostan Gob A'Choire
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Achill Sound Hotel- Ostan Gob A'Choire
Bed
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Achill Sound Hotel- Ostan Gob A'Choire
Hotel Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    €225
  • Expedia.com
    €241
9.7 km from Achill Sound Hotel- Ostan Gob A'Choire
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    €189
  • Vio.com
10.0 km from Achill Sound Hotel- Ostan Gob A'Choire
€173
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
11.4 km from Achill Sound Hotel- Ostan Gob A'Choire
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
29.4 km from Achill Sound Hotel- Ostan Gob A'Choire
Free parking
View more hotels in Achill Sound
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
39
20
11
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
39
20
11
6
9
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2020

Shocking to see the manager wear his visor up on his forhead as he came to take the order. Only one waitress wearing a mask complete lack of customer protection. Food average. I can only say I will never return

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank F805JFnadiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2020

As a Mayo man who spent all his summers in Achill I was looking forward to visiting this hotel and enjoying it's hospitality, which I remember fondly from my youth. Coming from Spain, I expected a warm Irish welcome, which we got got from the charming and always helpful barman/waiter Barry, who could not have been nicer or more accommodating. He was a great source of information regarding places to see in the area but was told, in no uncertain terms, to stop interacting with the customers (for me the most pleasing thing about Irish hospitality) and to get back to 'work'. It was a shame, because he was the highlight of our experience in this hotel. The management were curt to the point of rudeness, the food was distinctly average, and we left with a bad taste in our mouths, both literally and metaphorically. Service is key to the hospitality industry in these uncertain times and I know from managing bars and restaurants over the years that you are only as good as your staff. We wont be coming back, but suggest you put time into training staff to the level of the young man who served us with curtesy and politeness, and who deserves a better working environment. I'll always come back to Achill, but it will need a big shake up for me to come to this hotel again.

Date of stay: July 2020
1  Thank thethoughtfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2020 via mobile

Visited the Achill Sound Hotel for a meal at very short notice and the staff were very accommodating and so friendly! We were a group of seven. The food was delicious, as were the pints of Guinness! Very good menu, plenty of variety. We felt very safe as regards social distancing with covid etc. Will definitely be back. The person who booked for our group was given a fridge magnet as a small token and it was really appreciated - it's the little things! Will definitely be returning, will be telling family and friends and would recommend to anyone visiting Achill Island!

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank alou710
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 July 2020

Had lunch here today and the food was absolutely gorgeous, very reasonably priced. Staff very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. I would highly recommend a visit to the Achill Sound Hotel for a bite to eat if your passing through Achill.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank OliviaB531
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2020 via mobile

Stayed here several times over the years Peter and Loretta are the perfect hosts, friendly and professional, my wife and I just love this place and the service and hospitality it offers. The price is very affordable and great value for money

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ciaran1232015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews