We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Olde World charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunter's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rathnew
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hunter's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rathnew
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Olde World charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hunter's Hotel is one of the true hidden gems of Wicklow and Ireland. It's an old coaching inn run by the same family for nearly 200 years, only quietly upgraded to meet present day needs. The riverside gardens provide all the vegetables and flowers for the hotels needs. From garden to plate, how much fresher can you get than that!
Lovely log and turf fires in winter for you to while away a rainey afternoon.
Very pleasant and attentive staff. Lunch is a real pleasure, you are given all the time in the world to enjoy your meal. A varied menu and a good reasonable wine list.
All in all its like stepping back to a different era and pace of life. May it always be so!

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petervsheehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    58
    20
    9
    8
See reviews for
75
99
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
318 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although it had been more than 20 years since our last visit to Hunter's Hotel I don't think much had changed but that made it all the more charming. Sunday lunch is clearly and understandably very popular so a reservation is highly recommended for either sitting. Very nice menu and classic roast beef cooked to perfection with lots of vegetables and served by delightful staff. The Pavlova was praised as the nicest ever! Overheard nearby was a lady asking for the recipe for the gravy which was duly given to her - not out of a packet for sure! Will certainly return here.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SerenidadDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2016

Great to see what is a beautiful old coaching inn was like as this hasn't been messed around with so called 'Modernity'. There is nothing else around the Hotel though Ashford and Rathnew are only a few kilometres away.

We arrived Sunday evening and were welcomed by Flo whom was so welcoming and helpful (words that may be over used in this review as all the people working here were ... so welcoming and helpful) and once we had checked in offered us a pot of tea or a drink which they brought up to our rooms. We had a twin and a single - both rooms were absolutely fantastic (Rooms 10 & 11). Once again the rooms were authentic to the rest of the hotel with decent sized bathrooms en-suite and were spotlessly clean. One of our party is fairly disabled and whilst our rooms were upstairs it wasn't a problem. They do have a room on the ground floor which Flo offered but we said we'ed stick with upstairs.

When I booked I was told that the kitchen closes if there are no bookings on a Sunday Evening; service is between 19:30 and 20:30 hrs. We had a great meal - food was great as was the St. Emilion which I had to drink all on my own - lucky me...! For Starters we had the soup, goat's cheese and onion tart and prawns in garlic butter; For Mains two of us had the Lamb Rump and one had the Turbot. Being picky ... we found the prawns 'light in flavour' and thinks they could have done with a bit of a kick and the lamb rump I personally would have roasted - really just an opinion as it was all really enjoyable.

Breakfast was whatever you wanted - was fresh and just hit the spot. There was an event being held in the hotel lunchtime which we were attending and had hoped to stay Monday Night but sadly there was no availability. I asked could we have a late check out on one of the rooms as it would make life a lot easier for us. The gentleman I asked, whom I found out was Tom and one of the Gelletlie Family, said "absolutely - no problem" and when I asked re payment "no problem - do that when you come back later". Food and service for the lunch time event was great.

What else can I say except Thank You All For Being So Helpful and Welcoming and I hope to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Hunter's Hotel is a time capsule. It feels like you've been transported back to the 1950s. The hotel is justly famous for it's lovely gardens but at this time of the year the fires in the bar are where most people congregate. They do a great traditional afternoon tea and lunch is very good too. Don't expect mod cons.

Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank pmac86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

I have been to this hotel on many occasions for Sunday lunch and come away satisfied but this visit was very different. The soup was supposed to have been leak and potato but could have been anything it was so lacking in flavour. Two of us had lamb which was so tough we struggled to eat it and one friend had beef which seemed to have been reheated. We each got one roast potato which was like leather abs no other potatoes were served. Bearing in mind that the price had increased since we were last there we certainly felt what we got was very poor value for money. We were asked to have our tea/coffee in the sitting room which we did not mind as we were looking forward to a chat but alas it was freezing and we had no choice but to leave. Will not be returning anytime soon.

Stayed November 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathnew
1.6 km away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
9.5 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
15.4 km away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 km away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
9.7 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
3.8 km away
Grand Hotel Wicklow
Grand Hotel Wicklow
#1 of 4 in Wicklow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter's Hotel

Property: Hunter's Hotel
Address: Newrath Bridge, Rathnew, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathnew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rathnew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunter's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ireland's oldest coaching inn. Owned and operated by the same family for nearly 200 years. The hotel, where the King and Queen of Sweden have stayed, boasts open fires, antique furniture and award-winning gardens by the banks of the river Vartry in County Wicklow. Situated in the countryside 40 minutes from Dublin city and 5 minutes from Mount Usher gardens. Lunch, dinner and morning coffee are served daily. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hunters Hotel Wicklow
Hunter's Hotel County Wicklow/Rathnew, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing