We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Overnight stay ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rathnew
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Overnight stay ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Enjoyed our stay and will return. Felt portions in bar/lounge menu were too small for the price. Breakfast was nice although I believe the full Irish was quite tasteless - scrambled eggs were yum!
Will return but like all places attention to the smaller details pays off - heating had gone off so when we returned to room after dinner it was already cold and had to ring down to turn it on- not ideal plan for January!!
But scenery fab, house is a stunning structure and Wicklow is always beautiful

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    164
    73
    29
    35
See reviews for
123
356
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have been looking forward to my annual trip here for a few weeks now and I have to say....I have never been so disappointed by a restaurant in my life!
I have come here for my birthday most years since I became a "grown up".
It was all about the service.
A few years ago (after the property changed hands) we were less than impressed with the service, but said we would give it a second chance.
Our waitress greeted us with "hey guys" and seated us in a draft. We moved ourselves.
The selection of starters were fab and we were both impressed with the presentation and taste of our choices. The options for main were quite limited, but tasty none the less. Unfortunately, the only veg on offer was deep fried courgette.
The dessert was the biggest disappointment of the night. While the creme brûlée was satisfactory, the "brownie" was a dried up chocolate cake at best! (Only fair to mention that my dessert wasn't charged for after we complained).
We took the end of our wine to sit by the fire in the front lounge only to discover it wasn't lit....December 23rd!
The mind boggles....

Stayed December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Fingateable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a lovely stay here last year. The room was so comfortable and lovely views onto the gardens. The bar area was very relaxing with excellent bar staff. The bar food was also lovely. Breakfast next day was plentiful and they had many staff at hand to help

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tezashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Irlande
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've been to this hotel several times over the years - never had anything but a positive experience. The building is beautiful, full of history and cosy; the seats by the fire places are particularly pleasant as a refuge from the cold in the winter. The staff are always friendly. The grounds are quiet and home to a couple of the most friendly cats. Atmosphere is warm and relaxed.

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dún Laoghaire, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2016

We came to Tinakilly for our wedding anniversary, the staff were so welcoming and our suite was just gorgeous. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast and each were flawless. The food was fantastic. They've done some great work on the grounds as well making for a more pleasant surrounding.

It was so quiet at night - just lovely.

Shout out to Rosie - the most welcoming staff member, and always remembers us!

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathnew
10.7 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
21.9 km away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
16.8 km away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Grand Hotel Wicklow
Grand Hotel Wicklow
#2 of 4 in Wicklow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
11.1 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
21.5 km away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Main Street | Co Wicklow, Rathnew, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathnew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rathnew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1883 for Captain Robert Halpin, Tinakilly is a beautiful Country House Hotel with 51 bedrooms set on 7 acres of mature landscaped gardens overlooking the Irish sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tinakilly Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant County Wicklow/Rathnew, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing