We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Always warm and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rathnew
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow, Irlande
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always warm and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've been to this hotel several times over the years - never had anything but a positive experience. The building is beautiful, full of history and cosy; the seats by the fire places are particularly pleasant as a refuge from the cold in the winter. The staff are always friendly. The grounds are quiet and home to a couple of the most friendly cats. Atmosphere is warm and relaxed.

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    163
    73
    29
    35
See reviews for
123
356
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dún Laoghaire, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We came to Tinakilly for our wedding anniversary, the staff were so welcoming and our suite was just gorgeous. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast and each were flawless. The food was fantastic. They've done some great work on the grounds as well making for a more pleasant surrounding.

It was so quiet at night - just lovely.

Shout out to Rosie - the most welcoming staff member, and always remembers us!

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2016

Beautiful old hotel and good food. However the dining room was so cold we had to keep our coats on all evening. It was so uncomfortable we had our coffee in the bar as we needed to thaw out. Christmas decorations were beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016

I booked Sunday lunch for 2PM. We arrived on time and were shown to our table. After a while our server brought water and menus. After quite a long wait we ordered. Again after long wait our food arrived. It was really tasty and just the right quantity. We opted for a 2 course lunch with tea and coffee, and two glasses of house wine. Good value all round. All in in all, a good experience, but be prepared for a leisurely lunch and its not a quick eating experience

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darach G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Third time returning to Tinakilly and without question best food I've ever tasted, this time around we opted for the lounge menu, wow! Crab claws are out of this world. The Pork rack was also exceptional as was the prawn and beef skewer, and delicious desserts to top of one of the best meals I've had this year, and this is bar food folks, service was excellent, and the place is full of charm, keep up the good work Tinakilly.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lovefood2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathnew
10.7 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
21.9 km away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
16.8 km away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Grand Hotel Wicklow
Grand Hotel Wicklow
#1 of 4 in Wicklow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
11.1 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
21.5 km away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Main Street | Co Wicklow, Rathnew, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathnew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rathnew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1883 for Captain Robert Halpin, Tinakilly is a beautiful Country House Hotel with 51 bedrooms set on 7 acres of mature landscaped gardens overlooking the Irish sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tinakilly Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant County Wicklow/Rathnew, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing