We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem!”
Review of Lynhams Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lynhams Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Laragh B&B and Inns
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

After having our 1st newborn, we wanted a one night getaway thanks to grandparents doing some babysitting!! We wanted to stay an hour outside Dublin but somehwere that felt like we were deep in the countryside and we found it!!

Ive passed Lynhams many times en route to Glenadalough but never noticed it as a hotel. From the front exterior the hotel/pub/reslturant is not doing itself any favours.

The Front entrance is into the main bar which is nice, traditional and very spacious. The reception for the hotel is to the back. We requested a double room overlooking the river and we got it, room 4 to be exact. The room was huge!! It is not a modern hotel so dont expect that clinical feeling, its old style but modern. We opened the window and could only hear the river running by, it was perfect for what we were after.

We went for some late afternoon drinks in the beer garden as it was a beautiful day. The beer garden could do with a re-vamp. We didnt eat in the hotel but in a nearby resturant but I believe the food there is very good. We went back to the hotel bar as the girl who booked us in, said there was a great band playing but no band showed up! We went to bed but not complaining as were tired.

The breakfast is the biggerst issue, us and other guests complained of the taste of the tea and coffee, it must have been the water.

We paid 90euro direct with the hotel for b and b and for what we were after we go it.

Dave.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishDave2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    58
    25
    7
    9
See reviews for
23
85
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We enjoyed three nights in one of the most spacious rooms we have ever had for a hotel in this price band. The en-suite was also excellent. The location in the centre of the Wicklow Mountains was ideal but was perhaps why the hotel had sat on its laurels as far as the food offering was concerned. Although when booking (by phone) I had been assured that they could cope with my wife's diet (dairy intolerance) they failed miserably, offering only to omit things with no substitution, so there was no bread at all that she could eat at breakfast and an evening meal at the hotel was a struggle. There are other restaurants reasonably near.

So fine if you want a mid range hotel with spacious rooms but if you have any dietary needs get that confirmed in writing before booking.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet room ask for one at the back where you only have the sound of the river - relaxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartynH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Good value hotel, with helpful staff and good service. Rooms were very big with a sofa to view the telly which makes such a change to having to slouch on the bed. Lovely brekfast in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coors22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

I stayed in Lynhams after three days walking on the Wicklow Way .It was excellent value for money. The rooms were perfectly adequate and very clean not ultra modern but still very comfortable. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

The food in the restaurant and the breakfast again were to a very high standard, which was welcome after three days of camping rations. The bar served a great pint and the atmosphere was great even with my stay beginning mid week.

I can definitely recommend a stay in Lynhams, if you are in the area and I will be returning myself hopefully when I complete the Wicklow Way.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heliopis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2011

There was a group of 20 that stayed in Lynhams, we were treated so well from start to finish with fantastic staff who could not do enough for us, we could not have asked for more, we got a fantastic deal which included dinner and I was more than pleasantly surprised as the food was very good. The rooms were lovely, clean and spacious. Overall we had a great weekend and will definitely be back soon. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paudge2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laragh
6.8 km away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
402 reviews
6.9 km away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
107 reviews
120.4 km away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#4 of 12 in Laragh
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
121.7 km away
Trooperstown Wood Lodge
120.3 km away
Pinewood Lodge
Pinewood Lodge
#3 of 12 in Laragh
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynhams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynhams Hotel

Property: Lynhams Hotel
Address: Glendalough, Laragh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Laragh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Laragh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lynhams Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynhams Hotel Laragh, County Wicklow - Vale Of Glendalough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing