We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Vagabond Tours
from US$2,211.56
More Info
from US$3,566.83
More Info
from US$2,088.35
More Info
from US$2,211.56
More Info
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
752
9
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
752
9
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our tour guide fantastic trip company ireland ciara mates
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 764 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2019

Our recent 7-day Driftwood tour was incredible! The small bus tour is the way to go and I can't recommend Vagabond Tours highly enough. Many of the places you visit simply aren't feasible with a larger tour bus. It's so much better with just a dozen or so people. So many fascinating tour stops, so much history to absorb. Some major sites, of course, but many out-of-the-way places and roads where the scenery is non-stop. In addition, the quaint guesthouses are a perfect complement to the tour. We had two guides during our tour, Aisling and Pat. Both were excellent in their own right. Our first guide, Aisling, gave us info on pop culture and the vernacular lessons. Our second, Pat, was absolutely outstanding with his depth and detail on Irish history. He is the perfect soundtrack to fabulous tour; a true walking / talking encyclopedia. 'The folk' are definitely on his side as he managed to arrive at seemingly every destination just as the rain stopped!

A couple of Driftwood 7-day Treasure tour tips for future bookings -
1. Don't opt for a sit-down lunch if you want to see any of the small towns (Tralee, Kenmare, Bantry, etc.) as you have very limited time. Bring snacks and eat as you explore or find some quick take-away sandwiches.
2. Galway is superior to Dingle for general shopping, if you're into that.
3. The Fish Box in Dingle is outstanding! Order 1 starter and 1 main for 2 people (trust me).
4. If the weather is nice on your trip to Garnish Island, skip the house tour (40 min), plenty to see outside.
5. Take the optional driving tour around the peninsula on your Dingle day.
6. Most important - lean on the Vagabond folks prior to booking to find out which tour Pat is doing and book that one!!

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank EubieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2019

Hello EubieQ, some great top tips there for future travellers, thank you. Our tour guides are amazing and truly love Ireland and it shows. Thank you for your 5* review. Small group tours are really the way to go. Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2019

Just got home from the most wonderful 11 day tour of Ireland with Vagabond! I echo a recent review from Sherpa... The route, the various town-specific tours selected for us, the amazing historic sites, and the incredible natural beauty of Ireland were all outstanding. Equally outstanding were some of our accommodations - I was scurrying around taking pictures of gardens at several of our hotels! The small tour and bus size allowed for exploring off the main highways and getting to know our guide and fellow travelers - normally I would say "what a hoot", but given we just got back from Ireland, I'll say "what great crack!" Our guide, Andrew Duggan, has set the gold standard. His knowledge and love of history and his country, love of amazing natural places, humor, and willingness to share all that generously with us took this trip over the top. If all of that isn't wonderful enough, we were told the company owner has a policy of offsetting the carbon footprint of each tour by planting native trees! I highly highly highly recommend this tour and company to anyone looking to visit Ireland! (Just read the tips for writing a great review (after the fact) - so I'll add this: What to bring - layers! The weather was great - everything from full sun to full rain and everything in between, sometimes in the same day. Layers!)

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank Callie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2019

Hello Callie P, thank you for your kind words and 5* review. It's wonderful to hear about your Driftwood experience with Andrew. Activities and accommodations are carefully selected to ensure the very for our guests so we're delighted you enjoyed them.
Responsible tourism is at the heart of what we do. We planted 110 trees in 2016; 150 in 2017; and 170 in 2018. We have also recently installed solar panels at VagaHQ. Thank again for the great review and for your helpful tip. Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2019

Really an EXCELLENT PLUS! Only a few times in life do the planets align for perfection!! Our 11 Day tour was one such time. Breathtaking sites, the Belfast Black Cab tour, the coastal drives, our tour group, the Irish people, the food and accommodations, we could go on with more space. BUT, the #1 highlight was our guide, ANDREW DUGGAN. His enthusiasm, sense of humor, storytelling, knowledge and visible passion for his country, not to mention his driving, made this tour more than excellent. On a scale of 1-5, he gets an 11!!!!!!! Thank you to the company for offering this great tour, and the Leprechauns and pot bellied trolls for giving us Andrew. Andrew went out of his way to accommodate our wants, lost items, family roots, spent time conversing with each of us & kept the coach super clean, even in rain, wind & mud, 100%!!!. ANDREW IS A TRUE AMBASSADOR FOR IRELAND. Special memories because of him!!!

PS: And it all started with Ciara. Her help and ongoing communication got us on the right path to ensure our enjoyment.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Sherpa51778248029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2019

Hello Sherpa51778248029, thank you so much for your super 5* review. We are delighted you had such a great time on your Driftwood tour with Andrew. He truly is a wonderful guide, we are lucky to have him as part of the Vagabond & Driftwood team. We really appreciate your fantastic feedback. Thanks again, Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2019

There aren't sufficient words to describe our tour. My husband, and another couple booked this trip to celebrate both our 20th Anniversaries. IT WAS AMAZING! Though we went at the end of the season which is usually rainy, we had great period of sunshine. The hikes, the history, the landmarks, the accommodations were so good. Our guide, Edel, MADE our trip. She was knowledgeable, fun, funny, a GREAT storyteller and I felt so safe with her. If you get opportunity to go to Ireland, GO WITH VAGABOND! They are the best!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank PHXSooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2019

Hello PHXSooz, Congratulations! What a treat to come to Ireland and celebrate, thank you for choosing Vagabond Tours of Ireland. Edel is super indeed. Thank you for such a lovely review. Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2019

First time out of the country. I couldn't ask for a better place to start. The Irish people were friendly and engaging.
Our Vagabond Company tour, in a 16 person passenger van, was the right size and we went to great places. Importantly, we stayed moving - plenty to do and see and for most of the trip, the time at each place was properly calculated.
I can't say enough about our guides - including Pat - whose knowledge of history and location was encyclopedic.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank nkorte90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2019

Hello nkorte90, Wow! You definitely chose well in coming to Ireland. Great to hear you enjoyed your tour so much with Pat, he is a wealth of knowledge, thank you for the review, Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews