We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Vagabond Tours
from US$2,214.27
More Info
from US$3,571.21
More Info
from US$2,090.92
More Info
from US$2,214.27
More Info
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
752
9
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
752
9
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our tour guide fantastic trip company ireland ciara mates
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 764 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2019

Our trip to the beautiful southwest coast of Ireland was enhanced by our guide Patrick's great story telling about Irish history and people, folklore, and contemporary life - I learned so much. The activities were incredibly fun, varied and interesting - great hikes in beautiful places, visits to a sheep farm and aviary, horseback riding on the beach, a boat ride to the Skellig Islands (which we would have missed due to bad weather had Patrick not gotten us there a day early), and visits to carefully selected historical sites. A perfect mix of tourism, exercise/activity, great food, scenery, and the flexibility to join in the more active parts of the trip or have a rest. Pleasant, comfortable accommodations, great guidance on the best places for lunch and dinners, wonderful included breakfasts, flawless organization and pickup/dropoff. I could not recommend this trip more highly - I'm not usually a guided tour kind of person, but I would book another tour with Vagabond in a heartbeat.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2019

Hi Robert S, we love it when we have won over non guided tour folks like yourself! We tend to think of ourselves as being a bit different and offering a honest view of Ireland. Good to hear the balance on this tour suited you. Thank you for the kind words about Patrick too. We look forward to seeing you again, Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2019

Nice mix of free time and guided activities. Never more than 3 hours on the bus. Never more than 2 hours without a stop.

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank LargeRon666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2019

Hello LargeRon666, thank you for your 5* review. Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2019

We took the less active Driftwood version of Vagabond Tours and found it to be more than we could ever have expected. If one is of less active ability then this tour is for you. While there is some walking and climbing about it is moderate. The tour is in itself fantastic and you really learn about Ireland.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank bolla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2019

Hello bolla1, thank you for your 5* review, so happy to hear you enjoyed your Driftwood 11 Day Discover Ireland Tour. Regards, Rob Rankin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2019 via mobile

Everything you read in the reviews is true ! Small group = you move fast as your not waiting for 40 people to load up. Your days are flexible and loaded with fun. - want to stop and see a statue, a grave? No problem. Run into a group of cyclists- no problem, we got out and cheered them along. Off the beaten path = stunning views, epic hikes, no crowds, seeing everyday Ireland in small towns and meeting the lovely Irish people. Best guides = You learn about the life, the land, animals, flora and the history as you move along. Our guide Henry was the best ! I know I read that in these reviews a lot. But , Henry was the perfect guide for our family and I cannot thank him enough for making our trip A+ every single day. So thank you Vagabond and thank you Henry. Until we meet again.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank StJohnorBust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2019

Hello StJohnorBust, thank you for this super review, you sum up what we do so well! Henry is a super guide who has such a knowledge and passion for nature, its infectious. Small group, off the beaten track, it is the way to go! Kind regards, Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2019

Vagabond is responsive/easy to reach, both prior to booking & pre-trip.  They have a user-friendly website & an active Facebook community.  Vagabond encourages the posting of pictures and company representatives respond to questions & participate in inter-active dialogues with past clients, those currently on tour & future travelers; very helpful for pre-booking & travel questions.    The 12-day Adventure Tour, exceeded expectations! A well-planned itinerary allowed for optional activities & flexibility, at the guide’s discretion, taking into account weather conditions & group interests. The tour vehicle was spacious, comfortable, clean & well maintained. Van times are kept at a minimum and provided the perfect opportunity for informative and entertaining narratives on Irish history and culture. Accommodations were at quaint, locally owned hotels. Appropriate attention is paid to historical sites, museums, scenic landscape, Irish culture/heritage, “off the beaten track adventures” & physical activities like biking, hiking, trekking, horseback riding & boat rides. The physical activities were, at times, a bit out of our comfort zone, yet reasonably challenging, and alternatives, other than just sitting in the van, were always available. There were no obligatory “tourist trap” shopping stops & we had plenty of opportunity to intact with locals. A prepaid, hearty breakfast was much appreciated. We enjoyed the mix of “free choice”, (with guide recommendations) & “off the menu” group lunch & dinner options. Food at both the recommended and pre-selected restaurants was delicious and reasonably priced, with more than adequate portions. Meals featured traditional local dishes, with an emphasis on a wide variety of fresh fish, & “farm to table” local, produce &grass fed meat. Our tour guide, Denise, an avid outdoor enthusiast, was passionate, free spirited, well versed in all aspects of Ireland, friendly, flexible, responsive to questions, knowledgeable in many topics, plus had an admirable command of the vehicle! Her keen sense of adventure was infectious! We highly recommend Vagabond, without reservation. Friends & relatives who have done self -guided tours & large group, “city based” tours of Ireland, felt their experiences fell short, compared to ours.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank 52UDM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2019

Hello 52UDM19, the 12 Day Vagabond Giant Irish Adventure Tour is just that! Great to hear you had fun and got to do all the things you wanted to. Denise is full of energy and such a great asset to our team. Thank you for any future recommendations to friends and family, we love showing like minded people our Ireland. Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews