We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Vagabond Tours
from US$2,211.56
More Info
from US$3,566.83
More Info
from US$2,088.35
More Info
from US$2,211.56
More Info
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
752
9
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
752
9
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our tour guide fantastic trip company ireland ciara mates
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 764 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2019

Vagabond is responsive/easy to reach, both prior to booking & pre-trip.  They have a user-friendly website & an active Facebook community.  Vagabond encourages the posting of pictures and company representatives respond to questions & participate in inter-active dialogues with past clients, those currently on tour & future travelers; very helpful for pre-booking & travel questions.    The 12-day Adventure Tour, exceeded expectations! A well-planned itinerary allowed for optional activities & flexibility, at the guide’s discretion, taking into account weather conditions & group interests. The tour vehicle was spacious, comfortable, clean & well maintained. Van times are kept at a minimum and provided the perfect opportunity for informative and entertaining narratives on Irish history and culture. Accommodations were at quaint, locally owned hotels. Appropriate attention is paid to historical sites, museums, scenic landscape, Irish culture/heritage, “off the beaten track adventures” & physical activities like biking, hiking, trekking, horseback riding & boat rides. The physical activities were, at times, a bit out of our comfort zone, yet reasonably challenging, and alternatives, other than just sitting in the van, were always available. There were no obligatory “tourist trap” shopping stops & we had plenty of opportunity to intact with locals. A prepaid, hearty breakfast was much appreciated. We enjoyed the mix of “free choice”, (with guide recommendations) & “off the menu” group lunch & dinner options. Food at both the recommended and pre-selected restaurants was delicious and reasonably priced, with more than adequate portions. Meals featured traditional local dishes, with an emphasis on a wide variety of fresh fish, & “farm to table” local, produce &grass fed meat. Our tour guide, Denise, an avid outdoor enthusiast, was passionate, free spirited, well versed in all aspects of Ireland, friendly, flexible, responsive to questions, knowledgeable in many topics, plus had an admirable command of the vehicle! Her keen sense of adventure was infectious! We highly recommend Vagabond, without reservation. Friends & relatives who have done self -guided tours & large group, “city based” tours of Ireland, felt their experiences fell short, compared to ours.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank 52UDM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2019

Hello 52UDM19, the 12 Day Vagabond Giant Irish Adventure Tour is just that! Great to hear you had fun and got to do all the things you wanted to. Denise is full of energy and such a great asset to our team. Thank you for any future recommendations to friends and family, we love showing like minded people our Ireland. Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2019

Our 11-day tour starting from Dublin was an outstanding first visit to Ireland. The trip was easy to book. Vagabond has the best website for information on each of their tours. A moving bus showing the trip route on the map was amusing and gave us an idea of the ride. Access to a sample itinerary was a plus. The Driftwood Tour provided just the right amount of activity for us. We had the opportunity to climb castles, abbeys, and churches or just stroll the grounds, villages, gardens, and countryside. Coastal Ireland is so breathtakingly beautiful. We had ample time to enjoy the scenery at each stop, and never felt rushed. Our driver and guide, Mark Doherty, was excellent. He knew the right time to be at places to avoid the large crowds. Mark shared with us the history and culture of his beloved country, sang to us, recited poetry and told stories. We could not have asked for a better guide. We enjoyed traveling in a small group which made it easy to make fast friends. We highly recommend Vagabond for an exciting adventure in Ireland.

Date of experience: September 2019
5  Thank RickNY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2019

Hello RickNY R, glad you like are little truck on the map, he has been around for a long time and we love him too! Ireland is truly beautiful and we do like to offer enough time in locations to really take it in. Thank you for your 5* review. Kind regards, Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2019

I signed up for this tour with my 11 year old son. We had a blast! Hiking, biking, rowing you name it! This tour did not disappoint, in fact I can’t recommend it enough.
Rural, out of the way Ireland is STUNNING.This is the only way to see it! Our whole group was fun loving and by the end we did not want to see the usual tourist traps, in fact we all told our guide to take us back!
As for our guide, Edwina, well she was fantastic. Little spit fire of energy, knowledge and wit. We will not forget “Ed the red”
Trip of a lifetime!!If you want to get out explore, be active and see the real Ireland, do not hesitate at booking.

Ally

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Allison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2019

Hello Ally, so glad to hear you and your son enjoyed our trip. We love going off the beaten path, its more fund to discover the hidden secrets of Ireland....Ed is amazing and full of positive, wonderful energy. Kind regards, Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2019

My brother, sister and I (all in our 30's) went with our 60-something year old mother and we all had an amazing time. The activities were suitable for older folks but weren't boring or slow for younger people.

Our guide, Henry, was funny, smart and clearly new a LOT about the history, natural beauty and people of Ireland. The company owner, Rob, actually led the last day or so of our tour and he was great too- really accommodating, funny and he knew everything there is to know about Ireland's history (he must've been a history professor in another life, but like, a fun one).

My family and I all over-packed and were shlepping around the "SUVs of suitcases" as Henry referred to them. I'd recommend bringing comfortable, outdoor-friendly clothes, layers, waterproof shoes and jacket, one or two nicer outfits for dinners out or with the group. I know several people on our tour did laundry at hotels along the way, which I wish I'd thought of beforehand.

We were all very satisified with our experience and felt that the Vagabond team went above and beyond to ensure that everyone got to do and see what they wanted. I'd definitely use them again and recommend to friends looking to get a really good taste of Ireland without the difficulty and stress of planning out every detail themselves.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2019

Hello Rachel S, thank you for your 5* review, I think we all over pack...its nice to have options but then again smart packing really does make sense, great advice there. Thank you for the kind words, I do know a bit about history alright and very glad to hear I can make it amusing! Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2019 via mobile

WONDERFUL tour. The small group is the way to go. The coach was comfortable, the guide terrific, and the accommodations were excellent. We had days that were packed full with castles, ruins, sheep dogs, etc, but the schedule allowed for time on our own. I can’t say enough good things about our guide, Michael. His knowledge of the various localities was great, plus his encyclopedic knowledge of the history made the trip very interesting. His great sense of humor, storytelling ability and good singing voice were a real plus. My only “complaint” is that the tour didn’t last a couple of more days. I highly recommend this company and this tour. I do suggest that you take a counterclockwise route which starts in Northern Ireland and then into the Republic.

Date of experience: September 2019
4  Thank nancyinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2019

Hello nancyinn, thank you for your review of our 11 Day Driftwood Tour, sounds like you did it all and enjoyed it. Micheal is all that you have said and more! We have the best guides. Small group tours are the way to go for sure...let us do all the work. Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews