We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
You can't go wrong with Vagabond!

My husband and I booked the 11 Day Ireland Driftwood tour that covered the entire Island in a... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
spocklover
Definitely recommend

Best tour of my life❤️❤️🇮🇪 I fell in love with Ireland and it is all because of the beautiful... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Mlajpop
via mobile
Read all 790 reviews
  
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveller rating
778
9
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
778
9
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small group tour off the beaten path day tour northern ireland vagabond tour world tour blarney castle amazing tour beautiful country giants causeway an adventure great stories sea kayaking irish culture lunch and dinner guide sean driftwood
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 790 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2019

Finished our 7-day World Tour a week ago with Denise as our guide and a bonus of having Michael as a trainee as a second guide. Boy, were we lucky! I don't know how a single guide manages on their own. Michael gave us the extra of taking tons of pictures on his camera which we otherwise wouldn't have gotten.

I can't say enough good things about this tour company. I found this tour by googling hiking tours in Ireland and this one caught my eye. It was more than I could have hoped for and the price was extremely reasonable. The lodging provided was far beyond our wildest expectations. They could have easily put us up in average but nice B&B's but our jaws dropped the first night when we saw our room. Accommodations were very good throughout (at least 2 or 3 probably being 5-star). The guides were professional without being boring or stuffy, amazing and friendly, becoming friends by the end. We had a small group of 12 and everyone was lovely. Days of exercise were just what I was looking for, with hikes, optional kayaking and seeing Fungie the dolphin, horse trekking, biking and a boat trip to see Skellig Michael seeing even more dolphins. Wish I would have done the biking but my derriere was a bit tender from the previous day's horse trekking.

If you're looking to a tour that offers you an active, on-the-ground look at Ireland, you can't possibly go wrong with this tour. I will glowingly recommend it to anyone I talk to...probably ad nauseum! Thank you, Vagabond Tours!!!!

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank JerseyInferno
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 May 2019

Our guide, Andrew, was wonderful, witty, and full of anecdotes and history for the areas we visited as we circumnavigated Ireland and Northern Ireland. He told many wonderful and humorous stories and assisted us with one or two special requests.
The country was greener than we from Colorado could imagine. Every time we turned a new corner, there was a wonderful and beautiful site to see.
Our 12 day schedule was rigorous but with the guides help, we got where we needed to be with time to spare. Accommodations provided for our needs and were very happy to assist with some special requests. Food was outstanding in all parts of the country. Discovered some outstanding beers and apple ciders!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank GeeWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Hello GeeWhit, Ireland is such a hidden gem when it comes to our food...we are keeping it secret! Andrew is a great addition to our team at Vagabond, thank you for such lovely comments about him. For a small island there is so much to see and discover, going of the beaten track lets you dig a little deeper! Thank you for your 5* review of your Vagabond 12 Day Giant Irish Adventure tour. Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2019 via mobile

We did the 7 day Vagabond adventure trip to South coast of Ireland with Jason. He was phenomenal and made the trip. He took us to the most wonderful places along the way. You will see the REAL Ireland.
We can not say enough good about our trip. The hikes, the horseback riding, the sheep farm and everything else - wonderful. The hotels were excellent, meals great and our trip companions became our new family!

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Spunky14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 May 2019

We have recently experienced an 11 day clockwise Driftwood tour of Ireland that exceeded all our expectations. We were part of a group of 13 people, all from the US, and we got along brilliantly during our travels.
Our guide Mark Doherty was phenomenal and so very multi-talented. Number one, he was able to navigate our bus through the narrow roads of the country with such skill that all we had to do was relax, look out the windows and enjoyed to beautiful views of the countryside. This is no small feat. Mark's love and passion for Ireland was very evident as he regaled us with the history, geology and folklore of his native land. Did I mention that he serenaded us with many songs and recited long, beautiful poems and prose shedding light on the Irish culture? To top it all off, he arranged restaurant reservations for the group when necessary and was spot-on with his reviews of the food and service of establishments when we had meals on our own.
Vagabond has done a fantastic job of scheduling this tour to hit so many of the highlights that you read about when researching Ireland but also manages to show you places that many visitors never experience.
We started off with a smooth pickup in Dublin and the very first day included the Rock of Cashel, Blarney Castle and the dreamlike accommodations at Gougane Barra. What a way to kick off the trip!
From there the tour was a whirlwind of the people, the sights and the sounds of Ireland including the drive over Healy Pass, boat trip to Garnish Island, the Ring of Kerry, Killarney National Park, crystal artisan Sean Daly in Dingle, Bridget and Seamus directing their dogs in a sheep herding demonstration, The Cliffs of Moher, Connemara, Kylemore Abbey, Croagh Patrick, The Giant's Causeway etc, etc etc! I could go on and on.
I mentioned the "sounds" of Ireland. We spent two nights in Clifden and were treated to some fabulous traditional Irish music there which was one of the many highlights of our journey of discovery. The music and the enchanting, lyrical brogue of the friendly locals we met all along the way was infectious.
While all of these experiences were dream-like, we also experienced a dose of reality when we took the walking tour in Derry and the political Black Cab tour in Belfast. The history of Ireland is being written today and the insights we received in these two cities provided us a depth and breadth of understanding of the situation there that is invaluable. We have great hope that the "quiet" Ireland experiences today will continue and that a lasting resolution to the issues there can be reached in our lifetime.
Vagabond gave us great advice when they suggested we give ourselves some time in Dublin before our tour rather than after. Following that advice, we booked four nights in the area around Christchurch and St. Patrick's Cathedrals which enabled us to walk to many of the attractions in Dublin itself including Trinity College and the Guinness Warehouse. The Grand Canal Hotel, which is the pick up and drop off point, is bit removed from that part of the city.
The weather was a wee bit cold in Dublin, so a "puffy" jacket came in handy as did sweaters and a raincoat and rain pants. One pair of sturdy hiking shoes was perfect for all the activities we encountered.
It was a fabulous trip and I don't know if 5 stars does it justice. Woo hoo! Happy Days! :-)

Date of experience: May 2019
4  Thank Denis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2019

Hello Denis K, thank you for your 5* - we will take it! A few days in Dublin is a must and we think most guests like to be flexible on how they want to do that, it sounds like you had a great time exploring the city. There is lots to experience in Ireland, the landscape is beautiful, the people friendly, the food is very tasty and the history of our small island is extensive and interesting! Our guides do such a super job of showing our guests around and explaining the history of Ireland. Good tips on the clothes! Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2019

From the very beginning, this tour company is exceptional! They don't inundate you with emails, are incredibly responsive to any questions, and provide you with the best information to help prepare you for your trip (packing tips, optional tours, currency info, etc - thank you Ciara McGrath!). Their website is very user friendly too. Once you arrive, you are in the best of hands. Our tour guide was Mark Doherty - he is the best!!! He has a quick Irish wit, patience of a saint, incredible knowledge of the language, history, folklore, geology and "semi-rotted vegetation that accumulates in water-logged conditions", fantastic songs and poems he has committed to memory. He kept us on track avoiding crowds and entertained all while navigating the windy roads of Ireland with expert skill (we were able to see so much more without the worry of driving ourselves). We had 13 on our tour (I think the max is 16).
Because of this and being in a smaller bus versus a large coach, we were able to access sites, locations, hotels, inns, and accommodations (all amazing from castles to estates and independent hotels and inns) that would not be a consideration for a larger group tour of 50+ making it feel like a more genuine experience. We all had so much fun and great laughs! All of us were commenting on how lucky we felt to have booked with Vagabond, to have had Mark as our guide, and to have met our fellow travelers. I cannot say enough about this experience other than it exceeded all my expectations. I was travelling with my sisters and brother-in-laws but would absolutely take this tour if travelling solo (very safe) Thanks a million Rob Rankin and Mark Doherty - Highly highly recommend!!!

Date of experience: May 2019
4  Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2019

Hello Jen L, thank you for your 5* review. Our reservations team work so hard here at VagaHQ - thank you for mentioning Ciara, she does a super job. Being small is sometimes a good thing! Especially when you want to go off the beaten track and discover hidden spots that others cannot. Thank you for choosing Vagabond Tours of Ireland, Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews