We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Vagabond Tours
from US$2,118.05
More Info
from US$3,416.02
More Info
from US$1,800.05
More Info
from US$2,118.05
More Info
Reviews (770)
Filter reviews
770 results
Traveller rating
758
9
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
758
9
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our tour guide fantastic trip company ireland ciara mates
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 770 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2019

A six day tour, how much can you jam into a six day tour?

Get into a big bus with fifty of your nearest and dearest friends? NOT

How about a small tour group? A small tour vehicle? and an agenda that is a suggestion but not carved in stone?

This was my second Driftwood tour in six months, this time to the West coast and Northern Ireland. There would be driving and enjoying the scenery and stopping at interesting places.

The accommodations were great, no, not chain hotels but rather interesting places to stay with staff who want you to enjoy your time there.

Some guides and be sort of dull and reading from a script, the Driftwood guides are anything but dull! They make sure it is personal for you, they love Ireland and want to teach you about the places and people you will see, and yes they do sing at times and have jokes almost as bad as mine are. A great way to learn.

There were many things we could have done during our time, often it was left to a vote which of several things were of interest or if you wished to skip something and do something else. So you got to spend time doing something that was of interest to the group. No rushing to get every single thing done..

Food was good, no boring Irish food, that has changed.

Guide tried to make sure if you wanted some like a photo at a certain spot you only needed to ask if he could stop a minute so you could get that photo.

Where did six days go? They went into my memory as six great days to disconnect and soak in Ireland

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank jkcfotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2019

Hello jkcfotography, wow - second tour in six months, that must be some kind of record! Thank you for choosing us again to see Ireland and your wonderful review. There is definitely nothing dull about our guides, they keep you on your toes! You are right, our tours do have a schedule but there is lots of choice, flexibility and some free will! We are able to do this being a true small group tour operator. We hope to see you again - maybe in another 6 months! Kind regards, Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2019 via mobile

We returned yesterday from a Driftwood Tour with Denise and could not have wished for more. The small group size made travel easy with the ability to get around to very special places without any crowds at all. Denise was a delight, entertaining, and very knowledgeable. We got a good understanding of Irish History and traditions. All the hotel and lunch choices were just great...especially in Cong where we were at the bar inThe Quiet Man. These folks really know what they are doing and give super value.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Texaslady88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2019

Hello Texaslady88, we are all about small groups on our Driftwood tours, no more than 15 guests! Delighted to hear you found our tour super value for money, we aim to provide this and give options for everyone on tour to work within their budgets. Thank you for this 5* review. Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2019

Can’t speak highly enough of our guides, Tim and his trainee Edel. Tim’s quiet confidence, wide knowledge, sense of humor, and patience made our trip delightful and stress-free. We always felt confident and safe with him in charge. His local knowledge and connections enabled us to experience bits of “real Ireland” that other tours couldn’t offer. His knowledge of Irish history and pre-history helped bring the landscape to life as we passed through. Edel’s storytelling, featuring everything from ancient Irish legends to quirky bits of history, kept us entertained for hours. Her friendliness, beauty, and sly sense of fun made an impression on everyone. To an American, she seemed to be the original “Wild Irish Rose.”

I would not hesitate to recommend the Driftwood Treasure Island tour to anyone looking for a relaxing, slightly offbeat experience in the south of Ireland. Vagabond tours definitely hires the best.

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank SammysBar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2019

Hello SammysBar58, what a lovely review, thank you so much. We will be sure to pass on your review to Tim and Edel, we pick only the best guides to show you Ireland. Vagabond tours is all about going off the beaten track and showing you the true hidden gems. Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2019

This tour was outstanding. Every aspect of the trip was above average. All travel, hotels, sites, and restaurants were
excellent. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and caring. We traveled with a mobility scooter. Every effort was made to help and accommodate that need. I would highly recommend Vagabond.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank wltthr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2019

Hello wltthr3 - thank you for your 5* review. Delighted to hear that you felt well cared for and looked after. Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2019 via mobile

Anything I say will be insufficient in describing the fabulous trip we had! The group of 15 on the trip was made up of a single senior, several pairs of friend, and couples. We interacted well with all and socialized at group meals and on the comfortable Mercedes bus.

Everything about Ireland is fantastic: food, beer, people, sites, sounds, smells, and history. But what’s makes a trip extra special is a tour guide that knows where to go, when to go, all there is to know about those sites, and provides insight that is not gererally available.

Enter Mark Doherty! Entertainer, comedian, singer/ crooner, story teller, and completely knowledgeable about the features, sites, history, and people of the country. He is a pretty nice guy, too.

We were on the 11 day Dtiftwood tour around the country and got to see the normal hightlights and the lesser know great sites that you can only see on a small tour.

Everyone on our tour was grateful we were on this tour!

Date of experience: September 2018
3  Thank MUELDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2019

Hello MUELDC, thank you for your wonderful 5* review of your 11 Day Driftwood Discover Ireland Tour. Ireland is a very special place and you are right that with a tour guide leading the way you can really experience so much more. We know all the best off the beaten path spots here in Ireland and really like to keep them to ourselves. Hope to see you again one day soon, Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews