We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
You can't go wrong with Vagabond!

My husband and I booked the 11 Day Ireland Driftwood tour that covered the entire Island in a... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
spocklover
Definitely recommend

Best tour of my life❤️❤️🇮🇪 I fell in love with Ireland and it is all because of the beautiful... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Mlajpop
via mobile
Read all 790 reviews
  
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveller rating
778
9
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
778
9
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small group tour off the beaten path day tour northern ireland vagabond tour world tour blarney castle amazing tour beautiful country giants causeway an adventure great stories sea kayaking irish culture lunch and dinner guide sean driftwood
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 790 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2019 via mobile

We returned yesterday from a Driftwood Tour with Denise and could not have wished for more. The small group size made travel easy with the ability to get around to very special places without any crowds at all. Denise was a delight, entertaining, and very knowledgeable. We got a good understanding of Irish History and traditions. All the hotel and lunch choices were just great...especially in Cong where we were at the bar inThe Quiet Man. These folks really know what they are doing and give super value.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Texaslady88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2019

Hello Texaslady88, we are all about small groups on our Driftwood tours, no more than 15 guests! Delighted to hear you found our tour super value for money, we aim to provide this and give options for everyone on tour to work within their budgets. Thank you for this 5* review. Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2019

Can’t speak highly enough of our guides, Tim and his trainee Edel. Tim’s quiet confidence, wide knowledge, sense of humor, and patience made our trip delightful and stress-free. We always felt confident and safe with him in charge. His local knowledge and connections enabled us to experience bits of “real Ireland” that other tours couldn’t offer. His knowledge of Irish history and pre-history helped bring the landscape to life as we passed through. Edel’s storytelling, featuring everything from ancient Irish legends to quirky bits of history, kept us entertained for hours. Her friendliness, beauty, and sly sense of fun made an impression on everyone. To an American, she seemed to be the original “Wild Irish Rose.”

I would not hesitate to recommend the Driftwood Treasure Island tour to anyone looking for a relaxing, slightly offbeat experience in the south of Ireland. Vagabond tours definitely hires the best.

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank SammysBar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2019

Hello SammysBar58, what a lovely review, thank you so much. We will be sure to pass on your review to Tim and Edel, we pick only the best guides to show you Ireland. Vagabond tours is all about going off the beaten track and showing you the true hidden gems. Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2019

This tour was outstanding. Every aspect of the trip was above average. All travel, hotels, sites, and restaurants were
excellent. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and caring. We traveled with a mobility scooter. Every effort was made to help and accommodate that need. I would highly recommend Vagabond.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank wltthr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2019

Hello wltthr3 - thank you for your 5* review. Delighted to hear that you felt well cared for and looked after. Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2019 via mobile

Anything I say will be insufficient in describing the fabulous trip we had! The group of 15 on the trip was made up of a single senior, several pairs of friend, and couples. We interacted well with all and socialized at group meals and on the comfortable Mercedes bus.

Everything about Ireland is fantastic: food, beer, people, sites, sounds, smells, and history. But what’s makes a trip extra special is a tour guide that knows where to go, when to go, all there is to know about those sites, and provides insight that is not gererally available.

Enter Mark Doherty! Entertainer, comedian, singer/ crooner, story teller, and completely knowledgeable about the features, sites, history, and people of the country. He is a pretty nice guy, too.

We were on the 11 day Dtiftwood tour around the country and got to see the normal hightlights and the lesser know great sites that you can only see on a small tour.

Everyone on our tour was grateful we were on this tour!

Date of experience: September 2018
3  Thank MUELDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2019

Hello MUELDC, thank you for your wonderful 5* review of your 11 Day Driftwood Discover Ireland Tour. Ireland is a very special place and you are right that with a tour guide leading the way you can really experience so much more. We know all the best off the beaten path spots here in Ireland and really like to keep them to ourselves. Hope to see you again one day soon, Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2019

Just returned from the 7-day World Tour, which covers the southwest of Ireland. Our guide was Bayven, who was just incredible. She is very knowledgeable about Irish history, told great stories, was funny and in all ways wonderful. We also had Terence, who is a new guide and so was learning the ropes from Bayven - he is going to be a great guide as well. Our entire group felt that we were very lucky having the two of them. This was the first tour of the season, and we departed Dublin on March 10. We were a little worried about the weather going in as I could not find any reviews from others who had gone on tour in March, but this just proved not to be an issue. As others have noted, just wear layers. I generally had a T-shirt, shirt, a fleece and a waterproof shell, and once I also had a sweater. This was fine. Temperatures were typically in the high 40’s, and it was frequently windy. Blue jeans were fine for everything, though next time I will bring a pair of light-weight rain paints to wear over the jeans. The weather was highly variable – on our first day we started in the sun, then had some driving rain, when sun, then a bit of rain followed by hail and some snow (not heavy), then sun again, then a bit of rain, then sun, etc. We just rolled with it! The rain was never hard, and Bayven was a pro in making adjustments as needed. The advantage of an early tour is no crowds, and when you couple this with Vagabond’s propensity to go off the well-beaten track in their small vehicles, you have a great experience. The hotels were all wonderful, the food was great, spent a fair amount of time in pubs, and we thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the trip. I would guess that most groups ‘gel’ rather well – in addition to our group of 3, there was another couple and then a family group of 4 who were on an all-girls trip. So, just 9 of us and the two guides. We all got along wonderfully – just great camaraderie, and this too made the trip special. In sum, a great trip in all ways – I have no suggestions for Vagabond save to keep doing what they are doing!

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2019

Hello Robert, first tour of the season and first review of the year! Thank you for your heartfelt review. Great tips in there about layers! The weather in Ireland can be changeable so this is good advice.
The great benefit of being on a small group is the ability to make quick adjustments for the weather and our guides know how to do this so well!
The 'shoulder season' as we like to call it here is quieter but as we go off the beaten path on all our tours you can't help but get away from the crowds!
Thank you - we hope to see you again and tell all your friends!
Rob Rankin, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews