We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from Vagabond Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Vagabond Tours
from US$1,678.20
More Info
from US$2,210.10
More Info
Reviews (626)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveller rating
538
5
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
538
5
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day tour off the beaten path small group ireland tour vagabond tour wild irish rover blarney castle horseback riding anyone who wants amazing tour irish tour driver guide killarney national park small tour large bus beautiful country would highly recommend this tour
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 546 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2018

My husband and I recently returned from a perfect 11 Day Discover Ireland Driftwood tour. We were incredibly fortunate to have Mark Doherty as our guide. Let me just say I think it would be hard to find a better guide. Without a doubt he knows Ireland but he also is warm, friendly, kind and so funny! As he drove us from town to town, landmark to landmark, he shared stories, songs, recited poetry and made us laugh over and over.

Honestly, if you are thinking about a tour of Ireland, you can't go wrong with this group. They take care of everything once you start the tour. All the hotels and inns were lovely and the food was incredible. We really liked that we were able to enjoy the sights at our own pace. We scheduled our tour a year in advance and it was worth the wait! Thank you DRIFTWOOD TOURS of VAGABOND!

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank rjpeffley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Hello rjpeffley, thank you for your review of the Driftwood 11 Day Discover Ireland Tour. Irish food is amazing! We have kept it secret for all these years but we think the news is finally out! It is not a bad idea to book early as our 11 Day is for sure one of our most popular Driftwood Tours! Thank you for your review, Rob Rankin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

I took the 12 day Vagabond tour in October of 2018. Our guide, Seán, was awesome! He was really knowledgeable about the country and always had good recommendations of things to do and pubs to visit. It was great touring with Vagabond and I’d recommend it to everyone!

Suggestions for people taking the tour:
- If you’re on the fence about Vagabond vs Driftwood, would you hike uphill in the rain for 45 minutes to see a pile of rocks in the fog? If you would, then Vagabond is the one for you.
- If you need to charge more than one thing, bring a power strip. You only need one plug adaptor and then you can just plug US plugs into the rest of the strip. Amazon has power strips rated for dual voltage use. Plus most of the hotels don’t have outlets near the nightstands.
- Layers! Lots of layers! I recommend a thermal base layer top and bottom, long sleeve sweatshirts/sweaters, long pants, a fleece, and a rain shell. You can combine as needed and you’re set for basically any weather. Also a hat that won’t blow off in high wind and touchscreen-compatible gloves would be good.
- Buy rain pants. Put them in your daypack and carry them every day with a rain shell. You will probably only need them for 1-2 days, but you will SO happy to have them.
- If Seán is your guide, ask about the book that he was mentioned in. There’s a free preview on Amazon, but you will regret it if you buy it.

Suggestions for Vagabond folks:
- Put satellite WiFi in the van! Please! I wouldn’t mind paying extra for it.
- I would have liked more time for the hikes and less shopping/in town time. A few hikes we did halfway but then had to cut short, which was frustrating.
- Make it more clear on the itinerary that it’s a list of options, and you most likely won’t do everything that’s listed for each day.
- This is just a personal preference, but I’d rather pay more up front than do a gratuity at the end. It always gets sort of awkward and I feel like it gives people the chance to be stingy when their euros are running out. Paying up front is more fair to the guide and easier for the passengers.

Date of experience: October 2018
3  Thank adevim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Our 7 day tour was wonderful. The small group was so manageable, the van comfortable, and the two guides were fabulous. Sam the Storyteller wove Ireland’s recent history and ancient lore together seamlessly, and quite magically. Edwina spoke with the authority of one who not only is a savvy native, but has listened to stories as she roamed across the country. Professional, competent, they were wonderful. Our accommodations were 4 star, but located in beautiful smaller towns. Vagabond has made great effort to reduce their environmental impact. Water bottles were provided, as were recyclable coffee go cups. I really appreciated their respect for the beautiful land we were touring.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Adventure138611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Hello Adventure138611, thank you for your review and recognizing our strong ethos around trying to be sustainable. Presently we are the only Irish Tour Operator to have achieved Gold Level Status Eco Tourism Ireland Award. Our tour guides are amazing, they really do bring their own personalities and interests into their job, so no two tours are ever the same! Kind regards, Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

As a return visitor to Ireland and as a seasoned traveler, who has taken over 20 tours around the world, there is no question that the guide makes the tour. We hit the jackpot with Mark Doherty, "the renaissance man". He entertained our group every day with songs, poetry, Irish history, culture, current events and that quick Irish wit! He always went out of his way to consider the group's interests and desires, to make the tour significant and memorable for each and every person in our group. His keen ability to time our stops, at the popular tourist sights to avoid the crowds was terrific, but his ability to assess our group interests and include smaller venues that he thought we would appreciate was really considerate. He is a gem!
Our hotel accommodations were fine, with great cuisine and our lunch stops were also great. The tour pace was perfect and included enough time for shopping and wandering around the towns to experience every day life in rural Ireland. An itinerary that includes the North is not common among Ireland tours and was politically insightful and the scenery was magnificant.
Vagabond's emphasis on sustainability is admirable. In all aspects, Vagabond small group tours of Ireland has got it!

Date of experience: September 2018
3  Thank Ann Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Hello Ann Marie, wow such a lovely review from a seasoned, savvy traveler is very much appreciated, thank you. Mark is super, as are all our guides, he really can do it all, sing, guide and tell the history of Ireland. We love going off the beaten track and showcasing all the secrets Ireland has to offer. Kind regards, Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Hiking through valleys and cliff tops with incredible views ( Cliffs of Moher, Giants Causeway, Slieve League). Biking through national forest. Sea kayaking in search of Fungi the dolphin. Kissing the Blarney Stone. Horseback riding in the rain. Picnics on the beach and in secret places where we had the whole place to ourselves. Front row seat watching David Geaney toe-tapping at his parents’ Dingle Pub. Visiting a sheep farm to see how sheep dogs are trained and be amazed. May the force be with you on Skellig Island, Last but not least, forming new friendships and sharing a few pints with the small group of travelers.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Mai N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Hello Mai, what a wonderful way to sum up a Vagabond Cultural Adventure Tour! Sounds like you really got to experience all that Ireland has to offer. Thank you for the review, Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

We began our trip in Dublin and right away we were off on our 12 day journey. We explored Ireland counterclockwise visiting northern cities of Belfast first and continuing north and then west heading south, on the west side of the island. The trip was fun and the sites were stunning. Our guide was knowledgeable, witty and energetic. My wife and i also loved our travel small group making friends and enjoying exploring with adventurous people. Spanish point, dingle, cliff walks and mountain climbs along historic trails we’re always a highlight each Day, along with great food and the local pubs. If you like to be on the move and have an adventure this is your trip. Our guide Niall was fantastic. Would love to travel with him again.

I would highly recommend Vagabond.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank RH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Hello RH P, thank you for your review of the 12 Day Giant Irish Adventure Tour. Small groups are the best, its the best way to get to know fellow like minded travelers and we can stay in the smaller, family owned hotels too! We are lucky to have Niall on board with Vagabond, super guide. Thank you for your recommendation, Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews