We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
You can't go wrong with Vagabond!

My husband and I booked the 11 Day Ireland Driftwood tour that covered the entire Island in a... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
spocklover
Definitely recommend

Best tour of my life❤️❤️🇮🇪 I fell in love with Ireland and it is all because of the beautiful... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Mlajpop
via mobile
Read all 790 reviews
  
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveller rating
778
9
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
778
9
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small group tour off the beaten path day tour northern ireland vagabond tour world tour blarney castle amazing tour beautiful country giants causeway an adventure great stories sea kayaking irish culture lunch and dinner guide sean driftwood
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 790 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

One of the risks you take when booking a small group tour for a second time is not having the adventure live up to your original experience and expectations. Our family had a tremendous time on our first trip with Vagabond a couple of years ago and Adan, our guide, was a huge part of that excellent experience. So I was concerned that this trip would simply not be able to live up to expectations.
Thankfully, we had a fantastic trip that was a different experience altogether but such a blast for the entire family. We were able to make adjustments to our schedule each day to best fit our small group and take advantage of the best things to do each step of the way. We biked, hiked, kayaked, ate and drank our way across the North of Ireland. Our guide Niall did a fantastic job and made virtually everything seem effortless. If any issue arose, like a hiking trail being temporarily closed, an adjustment was seamlessly made.
I personally cannot recommend Vagabond highly enough. The value for your money is unrivaled anywhere! I would love to go on adventures with them in other parts of the world, but most thankful they are in Ireland first. If you are considering a small group tour, Vagabond is by far your best option for the money!
I offer my personal thanks to their entire team. We managed to leave a set of hiking poles on the Land Rover the last day and Vagabond went out of their way to return them to us before our flight out of Dublin the next morning. Simply superb service.
Cheers!

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank TraveledMilesPerHour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Hello TraveledMilesPerHour, sounds like you may even take a third trip! Thank you so much for your review. Ireland has so much to offer and its super to be able to see the Northern Half of the country too. Kind regards, Rob Rankin, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

I took my friend on the Vagabond 8 Day Wild Irish Rover for her 50th birthday. We opted for this particular tour because see it was an “adventure tour”. We did a fair amount of walks/hikes as well as sea kayaking (including entering sea caves and local celebrity, Fungie, sighting!), biking with a Naturalist, a horseback ride along the beach, visited and Tom part in a sheep farm (don’t knock it ‘til you’ve tried it!) and boat tour of the Skellig islands. We did this all while catching most of the “must-see sights” as well as seeing so many places in Rieland that No Tour would ever show you. Our rugged ride along the Beara Peninsula to the old mining town was the HIghlight! This was my sixth visit to Ireland and my second with Vagabond Tours (I last took a Driftwood tour with my mother-in-law) and our incredible guide, Jason, was still finding places and experiences that were new to me. We were lucky and had beautiful weather for all but one day, but that day gave us the true “Irish” experience. I’m not sure how Vagabond pulled off the feat, but I am now home with a tan from Ireland! Such a wonderful way to visit Ireland! We were able to squeeze in some “sneaky pints” in the afternoons since the driving was not done by us. I highly recommend the Vagabond Tour company for an easy pre-planned trip. I have not met anyone who works for the company who is not 100% genuine and delightful. Shout out to Jason and Kim from this trip and Henry and Larry from my last.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank pkseavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Hello pkseavey, thank you for your wonderful explanation of the Vagabond 8 Day Wild Irish Rover Tour- it really is one of our most popular ones and in your description you can really see why. Sounds like you were here when the weather was particularly good,we have been very lucky this summer. Maybe we will see you for a third visit! Rob Rankin, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

This was such a wonderful trip, I can't begin to say how much my husband and I loved it!! I have not stopped gushing about it. Every part of the trip was planned to perfection! Our tour gui9de Mark was incredible, the food was outstanding and the friends we made will be forever!! Thanks you Driftwood!!

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank msgirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Hello msgirl59, we are so very happy to hear that you had a super vacation with us. Gush away and tell all your friends! Thank you for the review. Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

We chose this tour based off of the reviews and active nature; we wanted to see the country differently then the normal tourist. It being our first trip across the pond, we also wanted to get comfortable with the area, as we were to visit Scotland the next week. From my first email inquiry to our last day, the trip was well organized and smooth. We had a great time meeting our group and were able to see a ton of the sites while not necessarily feeling too rushed; we got a good variety of ages, families, and couples on the trip, which was also nice. Our guide Denise was fantastic and fun, she kept us on schedule (it's very easy to wander these lush, green lands) and shared an amazing amount of history and local facts during the trip. Everything was always clean; I personally loved my afternoon snoozes in the van, and the lodgings had great personality/ we were seriously spoiled. Would recommend to anyone; the eight-day tour was the perfect amount of time for us. Oh yes, and the breakfast food was delicious every day!!!

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Hello Lauren, thank you for reviewing the Vagabond 8 Day Wild Irish Rover Tour. Your first trip to Europe? Well if we do say so ourselves you picked the best country to start with! Great to hear that our entire service was smooth from start to finish. The Irish breakfast is certainly a meal and keeps you going for hours...who doesn't like fresh eggs, bacon and sausages! We work hard to find beautiful, quirky and authentic places to stay, so good to hear you enjoyed them. Kind regards, Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed a Driftwood tour the first week of July, 2018 with a friend. Our group was diverse, yet the joy of exploring this beautiful country brought us together through shared discovery and delight at the breathtaking countryside. It was WONDERFUL to say the least! Driftwood Tours thought of every detail and planned our adventure for maximum enjoyment, sightseeing and comfort!!! Our tour bus had air conditioning which was a relief given Ireland was experiencing a heatwave, the likes of which they haven’t had in 100 years. For Americans used to air conditioned cars, it was a relief. I understand not all buses are air conditioned, which most of the time they don’t need it, however if you are there during a heat wave, it does make a difference. Most hotels and Inns don’t have air conditioning either, hiwever most will happily provide a fan which works great for comfortable sleeping. This is by far a must if you want to tour Ireland with knowledgeable, thoughtful guides who are completely focused on ensuring you have the best experience possible. You cannot ask for a better way to see this beautiful country, filled with the nicest, most friendly people.

Our guides were wonderful, especially Sean, who entertained us with stories and even played the bodhram for us - he was awesome! I may have to come back next year with my husband for the Northern Ireland tour. Thank you Driftwood for a wonderful vacation!

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Hello Paula, thank you for such a super review of your tour with Vagabond. Ah yes our heatwave - it has taken us all a little back and very unusual for us. Good news is that by 2019 all our Driftwood Vehicles will have air conditioning - which is good news if this good weather becomes a permanent feature of an Irish summer. How amazing is it to watch someone play the Bodhran? it is magical. We would be more than happy to welcome you back - don't forget you get a repeat guest discount too. Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews