We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from Vagabond Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Vagabond Tours
from US$2,211.77
More Info
from US$1,679.40
More Info
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveller rating
540
5
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
540
5
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day tour off the beaten path small group ireland tour vagabond tour wild irish rover blarney castle horseback riding anyone who wants amazing tour irish tour driver guide killarney national park small tour large bus beautiful country would highly recommend this tour
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 548 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We just returned from the 7 Day Treasure Ireland Tour and have to say this is the way to see Ireland. A small group tour, we had 14 on our tour, was the way to go. Because of the smaller vehicle, we were able to travel off the beaten path and explore different parts of Ireland where the large charter buses did not go. The tour felt very personal because of the small size. Mia, our first guide, was wonderful. She was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. Our second guide was Ciara. She too, was great. She was knowledgeable, helpful and recommended some fabulous restaurants for dinner. We were sad to leave the beautiful country of Ireland. We will be back! I highly recommend Vagabond and Driftwood Tours for exploring the beautiful country of Ireland.

Date of experience: September 2017
3  Thank Annmwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hello Ann, Ireland will always be here and looks forward to welcoming you back, dont be sad. Thank you for this amazing review. Sounds like you Love Ireland as Much As We Do - which is our motto here at Vagabond. Kind regards, Rob Rankin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Took the 7 Day Treasure of Ireland tour Sept 18-24. We had 2 fantastic guides, Mia and Denise. When you plan a vacation, you always have expectations as to the people you meet, the hotels, the sites, and tour in general. This tour EXCEEDED all of my expectations in every way. There was time for everything I wanted to do and see. I love that BOTH the guides were willing to off the track to accommodate requests of the group. All and all, I would highly recommend this tour company to anyone.

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank 1cat2dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hello 1cat2dogs, thank you for your 5* review - great to hear Vagabond Tours exceeded your expectations, wow! We do have the best guides, if I do say so myself! Feel free to tell all your friends. Rob Rankin, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We took the 7 day Driftwood tour. Our guide Kim was great - very knowledgeable, organized and fun. Travelling on in the 15 passenger van vs large bus was a plus - we were able to go to more off the beaten path locations. Vagabond also got us into a few unique places with their relationships. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hello Jannie R, thank you for your review. Yes our smaller vehicle can get down some very twisty roads here in Ireland! Rob Rankin, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We did the 8 day Wild Rover tour in Sept, it was truly a great tour and our family (inc DH and 21 yr old DD) loved it and would recommend the tour. That being said, it's not for everyone. It's a small group (13 max) tour designed for fit people who like active itineraries. You stay one night at each locale exc Dingle (2 nts). This allows for minimum driving time and maximum activity time, but be prepared to pack up pretty much every night. Some of the towns are small, with limited night life and dining choices (not an issue for us). You run the risk of getting soaked on a hike and having to sit in the bus that way (hey, it's Ireland, there is a reason it's so green). These things did not bother us, we just had the best time. Our guide, Damien, is just the greatest. He has an impressive depth of knowledge (Damien, what is craic? What's the story behind this building? Tell us about the Troubles) and surprised us with sites and stories one does not find in guide books. He is genuinely committed to the comfort and enjoyment of his people, and endlessly cheerful and funny. The group was great--good natured, punctual, good sense of "go with the flow", adventurous, considerate. This tour was a great way to experience the parts of Ireland it covered. Having taken (and considered) other small group tours, I'd say this was the best, in quality, experience and value.

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank rwdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hello rwdogs, thank you for your review, yes Vagabond Tours are small, off the beaten track, off road at times and past faced! Damien is a super guide and very knowledgeable. Great to hear you really embraced your Vagabond Experience, maybe we will see you again on another one - we have just launced a new 7 Day Magnetic North Tour! Rob Rankin, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

I just returned from the 8 Day Wild Irish Rover tour with Vagabond.The tour exceeded my expectations, and I give a lot of the credit for that to our guide, Tim. His passion for Ireland--the history, the culture, the natural beauty--came through and enhanced our experience. He is a great storyteller. I appreciated the unexpected adventures that were made possible by Tim's/Vagabond's relationships with people and places along our route like the intimate concert of traditional Irish music, The tour provided a nice mix of activities. Loved the long walks/hikes. Nice to have 2 days in Dingle in the middle to chill/relax a little bit from the quick pace.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank I7073TFbarbarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hello barbarah, ah you got to experience our National Geographic Traveller - Top 50 Tours of a Lifteime Tour winner - The 8 Day Wild Irish Rover Tour! This tour is a great mix of all that is wonderful about Ireland. Tim is a true treasure too! Thank you for your review and see you sometime soon. Rob Rankin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews