We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Vagabond Tours
from US$2,141.18
More Info
from US$3,453.32
More Info
from US$1,819.70
More Info
from US$2,141.18
More Info
Reviews (767)
Filter reviews
767 results
Traveller rating
755
9
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
755
9
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our tour guide fantastic trip company ireland ciara mates
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
394 - 399 of 767 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

LOVED our trip with Vagabond! Sean, our tour guide was a great tour guide, skilled driver, and knowledgeable about the areas we toured. We saw so much more through Vagabond than we would have on our own and a small group of 9 people made for a perfectly manageable tour where everyone got to see what they wanted. Absolutely the way to go!!!! Love. Love. Love.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank Sherpa72707
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Manager at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thank you for all the love! Our motto is We Want You To Love Ireland As Much As We Do! Our off the beaten track tours do showcase a side of Ireland most people dont get to see unless you rent a car. See you again soon - Helen Cole, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

I recently completed the Vagabond 8 Day Wild Irish Rover Tour Early April 2017. It was such an amazing experience! I have long wanted to visit Ireland and was planning on traveling solo. I researched many options, and I can't recall how I stumbled across Vagabond, but I am so happy I did. What attracted me to the tour was that it was "small group" and "adventure". I made some inquiries and they were very responsive and answered all of my questions. I was nervous about going solo, but it was an adventure after all, so I booked the trip. All was very organized and I received plenty of communication confirming everything and providing information to help with planning and packing, etc. Also the website and FAQ's were very helpful. The group was 9 adventurers plus our most amazing and capable tour guide Carmel. The vehicle we traveled in was very comfortable and roomy with lots of windows. It could accommodate up to 13 passengers, so we had a little extra room. Luggage was towed in a trailer. I don't even know where to start about our guide Carmel! She was such a great guide, host, and ambassador for Ireland. Everything was very organized and there was a schedule, but also some flexibility. Carmel was very knowledgeable and we received our history, geography and cultural lessons for sure. She was also fun and very in tune to needs of all travelers. It was really a great way to see Ireland. All the worries and arrangements were taken care of by Vagabond and our guide Carmel. No driving - I was always very confident in Carmel's driving and happy to have someone else do this especially on the sometimes very narrow and winding roads. Ireland is BEAUTIFUL. On this tour I believe we were able to see most of the best of Ireland. We were active daily - walking/hiking, biking, kayaking were all options. And there were some activities where the group split up a few times due to different preferences and this was no problem at all. Because of the smaller group, Vagabond has the ability to really customize activities to individual group to some extent. All accomodations were wonderful. The pace was a good. It was busy with full days and lots to talk about over dinner and there was some free time at various locations. In addition to history and adventure, there was ample opportunity to visit pubs, hear music, shop, and enjoy some great food. I did appreciate a 2 night stay in Dingle. It was nice to spend a little extra time there. I can't think of anything to complain about! I would highly recommend Vagabond. I would definitely do a tour with them. All info on the 8 day Wild Irish Rover Tour including itinerary are on the website, so I won't go into detail here about places visited. They also have other tours available for shorter and longer timeframes. They have the Driftwood tours if you don't want quite so much "active" in your adventure. We ran in to a couple of other Vagabond/Driftwood Tours and met other tour guides which gave me the impression that they would also run a great tour but everyone on our tour agreed that Carmel was the best and if we came back we would want to request her! Skip the big tour bus. This is the way to go.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank AdventureSeekerWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Manager at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Hello Adventure Seeker! Wow thank you for putting so much time into writing this review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your Vagabond Experience and I think your review will be very helpful to others. Regards, Helen Cole, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

8 wonderful days in Ireland. The tour had a great pace and our guide Henry provided unique insights into the history of Ireland which add so much our trip. Great blend of story telling and a little humor.

We feel that we got to know Ireland in a way that would not have been possible in any other way.

Bob & Debby

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank skilodge01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Manager at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Hello Bob & Debby, thank you for your review of our National Geographic Award Winning 8 Day Vagabond Tour. We like to get off the beaten track and show you as much of the hidden gems as possible. Henry is super and full of knowledge. Helen Cole, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

The whole trip exceeded are highest expectations. We cannot say enough good things about Carmel who went well out of her way to make this trip special for us (We celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary) and the rest of the tour group. Carmel is a great asset and a fine representative of your Vagabond team. We enjoyed all the stops and the accommodations were excellent. We particularly enjoyed our stay in Gougane Barra. Neil and Katie are wonderful hosts. The opportunity to hike, bike and Sea Kayak provided a unique opportunity to experience Ireland away from the typical Coach Tour. We will gladly recommend your tours to our friends and family and look forward to returning to Ireland to tour with you again.

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank PQBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Manager at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Hello PQBear - Gougane Barra is a true gem, Katie and Neil really do look after us and our guests. Thank you for your review and Congratulations on your 25th Wedding Anniversary. Our 8 Day Wild Irish Rover Tour has plenty of options to keep you active - its so much fun to get out into nature and experience it. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon. Warm regards, Helen Cole, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

We recently booked a 12 day tour through Ireland with Vagabond. The group consisted of two couples in our 60's, and my son, aged 33. The itinerary was interesting and varied. We had initially expressed the desire to hike, and it was richly rewarded! Every day, we were led on treks up mountains to visit ancient grave sites, into the bogs to learn about peat, along expansive vistas on the Antrim coast of Northern Ireland, and into beautiful museums and gardens. Our guide and driver, Tim Orr was a true gem! A mountaineer by training, he was knowledgeable, funny, thoughtful, and safe. Every day, Tim would discuss plans and options with the group. We often modified the day's activities according to weather and interests without any hesitation. A very special part of the trip was getting to find and visit with my wife's family at their farm in the town of Hospital near Limerick. Vagabond was instrumental in facilitating the encounter , and we were able to see the homestead where 16 generations of Ryans had lived!
The cost for this 12 day trip was not inexpensive, but compared to other offerings we have seen, it was by far the best value!

Date of experience: April 2017
4  Thank george t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vagaboss, Manager at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Hello George, thank you for your review of your private adventure tour in Ireland. Ireland is super for hiking, the views of the landscape below from our 'mountains' are incredible. We loved all your photos along the way too, thank you for sharing them with us. At Vagabond we offer good value for money for our small group tours, good to hear you felt this was the case. Tim is top notch for sure! See you back again one day soon. Helen Cole, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews