We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Vagabond Tours
from US$2,196.14
More Info
from US$3,541.97
More Info
from US$1,866.42
More Info
from US$2,196.14
More Info
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
752
9
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
752
9
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day tour small tour tour group his knowledge fellow travelers fantastic trip historic sites company accommodations guide ireland ciara mates
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
435 - 440 of 764 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2016

11 day trip in a comfortable van. 14 people was the perfect size for our group. Accommodations were diverse in many ways Some dinning options were not always available due to out of the way places. Opportunity to see many of Ireland's out of the way places. Breathtaking ocean views along thew coastal route. Stops for restrooms and food were well planned. Quick dry pants are a must as some rain falls each day. Save the jeans for the pubs. We did a few days in Dublin on our own, but now wonder what we have missed that a guide could have helped

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank 711Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Thank you for the tips for fellow travellers - Ireland is super green as it does rain a wee bit! Here at Vagabond Tours we go off the beaten track to show you the real Ireland. Thank you for your review. Rob Rankin, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

My husband and I just recently returned from the Treasure Island Driftwood Tour and it was a wonderful experience! It was so much fun and we were enthralled by all the beauty, history, and culture that we were shown.Our guides,Steve and Denise were were very informative, caring, and genuinely nice people.The accommodations were lovely,and the itinerary was well-planned.Due to the small size of our group (14) we felt early on that we were traveling with friends rather than strangers. It was an experience that we will treasure always! .

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Hello Chris, our small group size really does allow you to get to know fellow guests on tour, we hope you made some new friends. We want you to love Ireland as much as we do and it sounds like you do! Hope to see you again on tour, thank you for your review. Rob Rankin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

I just returned from the 11 Day Driftwood tour with my sisters. This was the trip of a lifetime and I cannot say enough good things about the experience. We packed more things into these 11 days than I could have possibly imagined, yet still had time on our own. We could sleep in and still have time for castles and ruins and geological wonders. I did a lot of walking, some required to certain areas and some by my own choice. You can decide how much activity you want to do. Our guide, Darran, was so knowledgeable and so much fun. I will definitely return. Thank you for an amazing experience on my first trip to my ancestral home.

Date of experience: September 2016
3  Thank GrandTour183233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Delighted to hear that your first experience of Ireland was with Vagabond Tours of Ireland and you had a fantastic time. Our Driftwood Tours are set at a slower pace and allows you to really soak up as much of our Irish culture and history as possible. Looking forward to welcoming you back 'home' - Rob Rankin, Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

fantastic. we went to out of the way places where there were no people or tourist. the tour guide was funny, smart, knowledgeable, and patience. Edwina was great. lots of the people shopped for souvenirs but my wife and I spent all our time exploring everything. here is the deal i came home and got the stuff online without paying duty on it. we did the 7 day tour and enjoyed it all. would have like to do even more out of the way places. fitbit said we walked 100 miles in 9 days. great. we saw an ancient 6000 year old stone ring at the corner of no and where. what a beautiful setting. mountains, pristine lake waterfall, rushing creeks and nobody but us. Cool. Blarney castle had great gardens but to many people to go inside but that's OK Dingle town was great and the Skellig hotel has the greatest view over the bay. lots of music in Dingle town.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank hhrealty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Thank you so much for your review Our guides are amazing and love touring around Ireland with the best guests anyone could ask for. Sounds like you clocked up some miles - all that yummy food is well deserved then! Hope to see you again in the not so distant future. Rob Rankin, Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I took the Driftwood 7 day Treasure Ireland Tour with my parents in October 2015. I enjoyed it so much, I've already booked a second tour soon with the same company. In fact, the only problem with this tour is you will want to go back again as soon as it’s over. Ireland is unforgettable and Vagabond/Driftwood make it even more so!

Although I've resisted group travel in the past, I never could have arranged such an efficient, diverse itinerary on my own. We hit all the big spots-- Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry, Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands-- but also saw some unexpected hidden gems that ended up being favorites – beautiful Gougane Barra, Bantry House, seal spotting in Glengarrif, tropical gardens on Garnish Island, sheep herding demonstration, and a mystical stone circle in the middle of a farmer's land. Plus we were able to relax and take in the scenery rather than worrying about driving and navigating. I also really appreciated the focus on meeting and supporting local merchants and craftsmen. I feel like we got to see more of the real Ireland with this tour, not a commercialized, touristy version where every stop is designed to sell cheesy souvenirs.

There were 11 people total on our tour- a mix of couples, parents and adult children, friends, and solo travelers, ranging in age from 20's to 80's, from all over the U.S. Part of the fun of the tour was getting to know each other. We really felt like family by the end. Our guide (Nick) was excellent- very funny and laid back. We never felt like we were being herded from one place to the next. It felt more like traveling with a fun new (extremely knowledgeable) Irish friend. His personal stories, perspective, and insight added so much to our experience.

The hotels we stayed at were a nice blend of country houses, town center properties, and even a castle, and were perfect for what we needed at the end of a long day- clean, friendly staff, good beds, nice showers, Wi-Fi, good pubs close by (often with live music) and hearty breakfasts. There can be variations in room sizes, but that comes with the period buildings, and it all seemed to even out with our group by the end.

We usually ate lunch together as a group, and ended up having most of our dinners together, too. There were not always multiple restaurant options at meal times due to location and scheduling, and food was a little more expensive than I'd expected... but also way, way tastier. (I'm still dreaming of the Irish goat cheese). It certainly banished my preconceived notions of potatoes and corned beef and cabbage!

Finally, I will add that although Driftwood is the less active option compared to Vagabond, there was still plenty of (mostly optional) walking on this tour. I wore my fitbit and averaged between 15,000-20,000 steps each day (about 7-10 miles of walking). This much activity is not a requirement, but if you are worried this tour means sitting on a bus all day, rest assured you can find a way to work off all that Guinness!

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank jpkc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Thank you so much for a wonderful review, we are really happy to hear you enjoyed your trip to Ireland. Vagabond Tours goes off the beaten track in our super smaller vehicles - we can get down those twisty roads that always lead to somewhere beautiful and interesting! Goats cheese, Guinness, Music, History and stunning scenery - this sounds like the perfect trip to me! Rob Rankin, Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews