We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Vagabond Tours
from US$2,186.66
More Info
from US$3,526.67
More Info
from US$1,858.36
More Info
from US$2,186.66
More Info
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
752
9
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
752
9
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small group day tour northern ireland small tour tour group his knowledge fellow travelers exceeded expectations wonderful tour great sense of humor historic sites highly recommend this company mark driftwood itinerary accommodations guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
673 - 678 of 764 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2015

Last summer my wife and I joined an 11 Day Driftwood tour of Ireland. It was one of the best vacations we have ever had! In the past our travel in Europe has been by car or the train. We have never taken a tour before. Large tour bus travel does not appeal to us.
The Driftwood tours are in comfortable, small busses that can hold a maximum of 16 people, but our group had fewer than that. Our tour guide/driver, Emmett, was wonderful! He was an endless source of fascinating information about Ireland, archeology, folk lore, historical events, etc. We liked seeing out of the way places and small towns which can only accommodate smaller groups.
The company is family owned and knows how to care for its customers. We feel that Driftwood deserves the highest rating based on our experience. We heartily recommend them!
John B.

Date of experience: August 2014
7  Thank 217seaside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2015

Hey John,

Thank you for the great review. We're delighted that you & your wife enjoyed your 11 Day Driftwood tour of Ireland so much. We're also glad you enjoyed seeing the out of the way places & that you thought your guide Emmet was wonderful. Thank you for recommending us to others. We really appreciate it.

Kind regards
Rob Rankin
Owner Vagabond Tours of Ireland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2014

We took a small minibus throughout the Irish countryside for 11 days. Delightful driver/tour guides who were very knowledgeable. The cost was reasonable for the wonderful service we got. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Date of experience: September 2014
5  Thank Mimi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2015

Hey,

Thank you for the amazing review. We're delighted you enjoyed your Driftwood tour & were delighted with your guide. Once again thank you for taking the time to write a great review.

Kind regards
Rob Rankin
Owner Vagabond Tours of Ireland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2014

My mom and I did the 12 day Vagabond tour. Words can not express what a wonderful trip we had, and it was all do to Driftwood/Vegabond tours. Our guide Patrick was very knowledgeable, funny, experience, everything you could want in a guide. Every place we stopped he would recommend something to do or a place to eat at and we were never disappointed with his recommendations. His love for Ireland really showed, he was able to explain the history in a way that was engaging and memorable.

The tour started with 11 people, but only 5 of us stayed for the 12 day tour. One thing I loved about this tour was that it had some flexibility to it, we didn't have a strict time line so some times we would stay in a place longer or shorter depending on our interest level. One day it was too foggy to go on our hike so we did something else. Another day we stopped at a chocolate factory because we expressed an interest in it. The flexibility and adaptability of the trip was great.

The reason I choose this tour was because it advertise that it goes off the beaten tract and had a high activity level. I feel that the tour exceeded these claims. One day we unhitched the trailer and drove up the side of a mountain. If that is not off the beaten trail I don't know what is :D The activity level was perfect, most days we would drive for an hour or so, than go on an hour or two hour hike/walk. After the morning hike we typically would have lunch than drive for another hour until we reached our next stop. Most days we would have two walks/hike and some site seeing activity. The pace of the hike is completely up to you. Some people would go faster, and some people would stop after 30 minutes. I think if you are reasonably fit this tour would be perfect for you.

Again words can not express what a wonderful trip this was and what a wonderful opportunity it was. I highly recommend doing the full 12 day tour but if you don't have that much time, there are a variety of tour lengths that you can choose from.

Date of experience: September 2014
7  Thank Myra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2015

Hey Myra,

We're delighted that you & your mom enjoyed your tour & though it was wonderful. We are also delighted though you felt Patrick was everything you could want in a guide. Thank you for taking the time to write this review & for recommending us to others.

Kind regards
Rob Rankin
Owner Vagabond Tours of Ireland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2014

What a wonderful introduction to escorted tours and the beautiful country of Ireland! I can't say enough good things about the 11-day Driftwood tour I so thoroughly enjoyed October 7 - 17 this year. Our two guides, Tim and Bebhin, were incredible, taking excellent care of us and all our needs and then going beyond the fundamentals like getting us to where we were going safely and all the attractions each day - they told stories, played music, even sang to us! The accommodations were great - in some cases, we didn't want to ever leave!

Setting everything up from Canada was so easy - working with Megan and Rob was a real pleasure. It was a fantastic trip and I can't wait to return for another Driftwood tour!

Date of experience: October 2014
5  Thank Leendaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2015

Hey,

Thank you for the great review. We're delighted you enjoyed it & felt it was a wonderful introduction to escorted tours & Ireland. Tim & Beibhinn are terrific guides & will appreciate the praise. Once again thank you for taking the time to write this review and recommending us to others.

Kind regards
Rob Rankin
Owner Vagabond Tours of Ireland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2014

We just recently completed the Driftwood 11-day Discover Ireland tour. It was a most magical experience and exceeded all our expectations. We had the benefit of two guides and can't possibly heap enough praise on Mark and Larry - entertainers, historians, raconteurs, singers, poets, funnymen and mother hens. The tour was so well organized that we weren't even aware of being organized. We went to all the major attractions (always timed to avoid the big coach tours) along with many off the beaten track - ones we never would have found on our own. It was lovely to pull into a new town each night and right up to our accommodations with directions to a good restaurant. We never had a bad meal or a bad hotel. If you want a stress-free way to get to know Ireland, this is definitely the tour group to use. We are in love with Ireland and her people and would recommend Driftwood Tours to anyone.

Date of experience: October 2014
7  Thank lbaum11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagaboss, Owner at Vagabond Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2015

Hey,

Thank you for the great review. We're are trilled you enjoyed your 11 Day Driftwood Tour. Mark & Larry will appreciate been praised as "entertainers, historians, raconteurs, singers, poets, funny men and mother hens". Once again thank you for taking the time to write this review and recommending us on to others.

Kind regards
Rob Rankin
Owner Vagabond Tours of Ireland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews