We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glendalough International Youth Hostel
Reviewed 5 September 2015

Stayed here with my friends who met up with me from Germany. Was a really nice experience. Very clean, and staff were very helpful and friendly. The kitchen utility was also very well stocked with cutlery and crockery. They even provided their own detergent - not many hostels will do this.
The price for staying was extremely reasonable.
Toilet and bath, though shared was also close to being spic and span.
Will definitely consider returning here in the near future when I decide to visit this beautiful part of Ireland again!

Room Tip: Check in early if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Glendalough International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are delighted to hear that you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2015

Hostel is well located a few minutes walk from the centre of the village. There is a lovely atmosphere and the staff are vert friendly and helpful. Many of them are foreign students who work there on a voluntary basis. The bedroom was clean and they provided crisp white sheets and a duvet at no extra charge. The kitchen is well equipped and has plenty of space for self catering. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would have no hesitation in recommending this hostel.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
3  Thank GJKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Glendalough International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2015

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our volunteers have always been a part of our ethos so it is good to hear that they added to the atmosphere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

The most amazing about this hostel is the location. Otherwise it's not great, but not bad either. The living room downstairs is quite nice. The staff is friendly. However the breakfast is slightly overpriced for such a simple breakfast : toast, butter and jam.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Solveig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Glendalough International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review Solveig. We really appreciate them. I will pass on your comments about the breakfast rates to the hostel manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights. Sure, this place ain't anything modern. The carpets definitely need to be replaced. The kitchen has that unpleasant hint of mouldy Kraft Dinner-like smell. But apart from that, everything was pretty fine. The location is great: it's about a 5 minute walk away from the actual Glendalough Village and monastic settlement. There is also a shortcut not far from there that allows direct access to the boardwalk that leads to the Upper Lake. The people at the reception were friendly and helpful. The area is beautiful. The common area is almost always busy, so it's great for meeting new people. The kitchen can get pretty busy as well considering there are very few options in the area when it comes to food, so you might as well consider eating past rush hours. Definitely don't forget to bring some food with you! As good as the village's bistro and food stands are, they're rather pricey places to eat.

The mattresses are very springy. Sleeping on the comforter fixed that issue for me. It's a pretty quiet place during nighttime; got no trouble sleeping. Not too expensive, either. I'd sure consider going back there.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
2  Thank Francis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Glendalough International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2015

Thanks for taking the time to write the review Francis. It is a lovely spot and we are glad you found the staff helpful. I will pass on your suggestions to the hostel manager about the areas that could be improved on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

Nice room with complimentary bed sheet and linen. The bathroom door can not be locked, but since I was given a double room all by myself I did not mind. The kitchen is big but it is hard to find utensils such as saucepan for one person. You really have to bring something to cook, because it is hard to find nearby stores. It is good also to bring your own breakfast, because continental breakfast provided at the hostel is not free, you need to pay additional 5 euro for that. Wifi is only available near reception, couldn't even get wifi at the nearby kitchen nor dining room.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
2  Thank Stef_Yang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Glendalough International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel Stef. I will pass on your comments to the hostel manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendalough Village
0.1 km away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
555 reviews
0 km away
Knockree Youth Hostel
Knockree Youth Hostel
#1 of 7 in Wicklow
107 reviews
1.3 km away
Riversdale House
Riversdale House
#1 of 2 in Glendalough Village
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendalough International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendalough International Youth Hostel

Address: The Lodge, Glendalough Village, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Glendalough Village
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Glendalough Village
Price Range: €30 - €75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glendalough International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Glendalough International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendalough International Youth Hostel Vale Of Glendalough, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing