We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good hotel, excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glendalough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glendalough Hotel
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed here for the first couple of nights of our honeymoon. Unfortunately, we arrived mid-afternoon on Easter Sunday...watch out if you're driving, as the Hotel Car Park is the main Glendalough car park, and there was no space at all.

However...the hotel was very nice, the food was excellent, and this was a superb base from which to go walking through the Wicklow Mountains. Certainly one I'd have no hesitation in returning to in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithandMichelleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    123
    92
    46
    42
See reviews for
104
171
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

I have stayed in the hotel many times and frequently end up popping in on an afternoon off, sometimes for a bite in the bar as was the case this weekend.
As I watched one of your senior bar staff clear the table next to us I saw him sweep the remains off the dirty table on to the floor with a bar cloth. I then looked at the [horrible carpet] on the floor and noticed that there was a lot of rubbish all over the place.

I have always loved the location of this hotel being from Dublin and having spent my childhood around Glendalough and the Sally Gap. The hotel itself is pretty bad. No work on it for decades, drab rooms [clean by the way but very depressing]. One of the great things that they do are mid-week offers in the down season. Dinner Bed and Breakfast is excellent and the little barrel vaulted restaurant is lovely with a good wine list and excellent food.
I haven't gone through all of the reviews but I don't see any presence or reply from the hotel itself.

In conclusion. Best location of any hotel in Ireland. Uncomfortable beds. Receptions at the weekends which make the floors thump - bring earplugs. Eat dinner in the restaurant and ask to sit over the river. It's gorgeous. Walk to the Upper Lake and if you're hardy there's another walk up the hill that gives you the most incredible view of Wicklow.
It's a pity that standards are so low in the bar regarding cleanliness. The food is good. The decor throughout the hotel is dated and pretty awful [the toilets downstairs really need work]. I think that's covered everything. My advice is to do an overnighter off season during the week. Go down afternoon and walk the lakes. Eat in the restaurant and get up next day and do the lakes again. 20 minutes on Kevin's bed puts it all into perspective.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Myself and my wife were attending a wedding at the hotel, and due to some computer glitch this hotel "accidentally" cancelled our room. The hotel was full, so we were left without a room in the hotel we booked.

The hotel arranged accomodation in Lynham's down in Laragh, dropped us back and forth, but offered nothing by means of compensation for our inconvenience. We were told we "should have rung ahead to check"our booking which we found ridiculous and unnecessary in any other hotel.

The receptionist and manager did ensure we had a place to stay that night, but not being offered anything for the hassle was poor customer service (we had to pay for the other room in a hotel we did not book). As a result I would not recommend staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ucantcmeimsmilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glendalough Village hotels

Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

I stayed here the last week of June 2011 on pilgrimage with a group from church. The Monastic Village and the walking trails were fantastic. The location was unbelievable and definitely worth a trip to see. The hotel, unfortunately, was only so-so. Many people in our group had rooms in the newer section of the hotel and I will admit, those were very nice. My single room was right above the lobby -- and had not been remodeled since the 1950's. It reminded me of staying at my grandmother's house when I was a child in one of the upstairs bedrooms that hadn't seen the light of day in 20 years. The bed was old, the furniture was old, the wallpaper was peeling and there was a musty smell that even after having the windows open for 2 days didn't help eliminate. On the plus side, the staff was very attentive and helpful. The restaurant personnel were wonderful. The food was surprisingly very, very good (the desserts were wonderful). I will admit I had withdrawal without internet and cellphone service but my daughter found an alcove in the newer section that had a decent signal (above the bar). On my next trip to the Wicklow Mountains I will be certain to visit Glendalough but I will probably try staying at one of the B&B's.

Room Tip: Bring a washcloth -- European hotels consider them a personal item
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roanokecpaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

While no, the service was not perfect and no, there was no internet as well as limited television, the location and food give this hotel huge value. Literally being able to walk outside and be in the valley of one of the better parts of the Wicklow mountains was incredible for a solo traveler who was just there to hike. The room was fine; comfortable bed and properly sizable. Bathroom was very nice.
Food is something completely separate. It was, simply put, phenomenal. I was worried when I initially saw the prices, but I soon learned why the prices were allowed to be so high. Breakfast wasn't very complex but lunch and dinner were out of this world. Only complaint was that my server for lunch rushed me out because he said he had a "rush" when I was literally one of two tables in use.
Overall I was very pleased with my visit to The Glendalough Hotel. I can't complain too much, They did extend my check-out time by about five hours so I could wait for the bus.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotPressMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendalough Village
0.0 km away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.0 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
0.0 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Martello Hotel
0.0 km away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.0 km away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendalough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendalough Hotel

Property: Glendalough Hotel
Address: Glendalough | Co. Wicklow, Glendalough Village, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Glendalough Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glendalough Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Glendalough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Glendalough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendalough Village Hotel
Glendalough Hotel Vale Of Glendalough, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing