We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, excellent location”
Review of Glendalough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glendalough Hotel
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed here for the first couple of nights of our honeymoon. Unfortunately, we arrived mid-afternoon on Easter Sunday...watch out if you're driving, as the Hotel Car Park is the main Glendalough car park, and there was no space at all.

However...the hotel was very nice, the food was excellent, and this was a superb base from which to go walking through the Wicklow Mountains. Certainly one I'd have no hesitation in returning to in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithandMichelleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 437 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

I have stayed in the hotel many times and frequently end up popping in on an afternoon off, sometimes for a bite in the bar as was the case this weekend.
As I watched one of your senior bar staff clear the table next to us I saw him sweep the remains off the dirty table on to the floor with a bar cloth. I then looked at the [horrible carpet] on the floor and noticed that there was a lot of rubbish all over the place.

I have always loved the location of this hotel being from Dublin and having spent my childhood around Glendalough and the Sally Gap. The hotel itself is pretty bad. No work on it for decades, drab rooms [clean by the way but very depressing]. One of the great things that they do are mid-week offers in the down season. Dinner Bed and Breakfast is excellent and the little barrel vaulted restaurant is lovely with a good wine list and excellent food.
I haven't gone through all of the reviews but I don't see any presence or reply from the hotel itself.

In conclusion. Best location of any hotel in Ireland. Uncomfortable beds. Receptions at the weekends which make the floors thump - bring earplugs. Eat dinner in the restaurant and ask to sit over the river. It's gorgeous. Walk to the Upper Lake and if you're hardy there's another walk up the hill that gives you the most incredible view of Wicklow.
It's a pity that standards are so low in the bar regarding cleanliness. The food is good. The decor throughout the hotel is dated and pretty awful [the toilets downstairs really need work]. I think that's covered everything. My advice is to do an overnighter off season during the week. Go down afternoon and walk the lakes. Eat in the restaurant and get up next day and do the lakes again. 20 minutes on Kevin's bed puts it all into perspective.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Myself and my wife were attending a wedding at the hotel, and due to some computer glitch this hotel "accidentally" cancelled our room. The hotel was full, so we were left without a room in the hotel we booked.

The hotel arranged accomodation in Lynham's down in Laragh, dropped us back and forth, but offered nothing by means of compensation for our inconvenience. We were told we "should have rung ahead to check"our booking which we found ridiculous and unnecessary in any other hotel.

The receptionist and manager did ensure we had a place to stay that night, but not being offered anything for the hassle was poor customer service (we had to pay for the other room in a hotel we did not book). As a result I would not recommend staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank ucantcmeimsmilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I stayed here the last week of June 2011 on pilgrimage with a group from church. The Monastic Village and the walking trails were fantastic. The location was unbelievable and definitely worth a trip to see. The hotel, unfortunately, was only so-so. Many people in our group had rooms in the newer section of the hotel and I will admit, those were very nice. My single room was right above the lobby -- and had not been remodeled since the 1950's. It reminded me of staying at my grandmother's house when I was a child in one of the upstairs bedrooms that hadn't seen the light of day in 20 years. The bed was old, the furniture was old, the wallpaper was peeling and there was a musty smell that even after having the windows open for 2 days didn't help eliminate. On the plus side, the staff was very attentive and helpful. The restaurant personnel were wonderful. The food was surprisingly very, very good (the desserts were wonderful). I will admit I had withdrawal without internet and cellphone service but my daughter found an alcove in the newer section that had a decent signal (above the bar). On my next trip to the Wicklow Mountains I will be certain to visit Glendalough but I will probably try staying at one of the B&B's.

Room Tip: Bring a washcloth -- European hotels consider them a personal item
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roanokecpaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

While no, the service was not perfect and no, there was no internet as well as limited television, the location and food give this hotel huge value. Literally being able to walk outside and be in the valley of one of the better parts of the Wicklow mountains was incredible for a solo traveler who was just there to hike. The room was fine; comfortable bed and properly sizable. Bathroom was very nice.
Food is something completely separate. It was, simply put, phenomenal. I was worried when I initially saw the prices, but I soon learned why the prices were allowed to be so high. Breakfast wasn't very complex but lunch and dinner were out of this world. Only complaint was that my server for lunch rushed me out because he said he had a "rush" when I was literally one of two tables in use.
Overall I was very pleased with my visit to The Glendalough Hotel. I can't complain too much, They did extend my check-out time by about five hours so I could wait for the bus.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotPressMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendalough Village
18.8 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,130 reviews
19.7 km away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,070 reviews
25.9 km away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 km away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,051 reviews
16.9 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
532 reviews
20.9 km away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendalough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendalough Hotel

Address: Glendalough | Co. Wicklow, Glendalough Village, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Vale of Glendalough > Glendalough Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glendalough Village
Price Range: €110 - €172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glendalough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Glendalough Hotel in County Wicklow, we like to let the scenery do the talking, our team are here to offer a warm welcome and simple home comforts. The sites in Glendalough are at the heart of Irelands Ancient East with the 6th Century gateway to the Monastic site steps away from the hotel. The Colours and sounds of the valley of Glendalough change with every season and the Glendalough hotel is well placed for you to enjoy all that this Valley has to offer. The magical sounds and breath-taking scenes will transport you back to a quieter time of meditation and a closeness to nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Glendalough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendalough Village Hotel
Glendalough Hotel Vale Of Glendalough, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing