We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“We got married here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glenview Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“We got married here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We had over 120 guests at our wedding at this hotel - over 100 stayed overnight.
The staff are amazing, 100% welcoming, everyone had a fantastic time.

The food was wonderful and the rooms - everyone really enjoyed their time there.
The hotel is beautiful inside and outside, the gardens are incredible.
The wedding decor was amazing!

Lisa, our wedding co-ordinator was extremely helpful from day one - we really could not have asked for a better place to hold our wedding reception.
Brian, the manager was always ready to help, constantly checking how everything was for us and our guests.
Aida was brilliant throughout the day.

The staff really took a personal interest in our day, from the planning through to the reservations for guests to ensuring everyone received their meal as soon as possible.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: facing the hills to the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Guests,

Congratulations on the occasion of your wedding and thank you so much for taking the time to put your review on trip advisor. We were delighted to read that you and your guests had a fantastic time. We certainly pride ourselves on the friendliness and professionalism of our team and I am glad the service you received was no exception. Lisa, Aida and I are thrilled with the special mention.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your first anniversary meal.

Kind Regards,


Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    293
    152
    44
    36
See reviews for
319
355
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Very nice big family room 202 very pleased with it if I got the same room and rates again I'd be back stayed there 2nd July till the 4th July.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingfinn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting your review. I am delighted to read you were very pleased with your room and our rates. Please contact me in advance of your next visit and I will do my best to provide you with the same room.

We look forward to welcoming you you back to the Glenview again in the near future.

Best regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Two nights at the Glenview as part of a family get-together. our rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff were excellent in all areas, and went out of their way to help. An excellent Breakfast is a great part of the experience, and sets you up for the day perfectly. If I was to change anything, I might suggest a review of the bar food menu.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poundland99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your comments about your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. I have passed your suggestion about the Bar menu to our Head Chef for his consideration – many thanks for that.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Stayed at the Glenview for 4 days in July 2012. My wife and I stayed with our two kids. Food was great (including breakfast which was as efficiently managed as i have seen). The staff are very friendly and efficient. They could not do enough for us. The hotel has great facilities for family. We were there with two small kids and they loved the kids club and the pool. I have stayed in many hotels around Ireland trying to find the best compromise between family friendly and quality. This is the best i have come accross. This place has it all. Quality, friendly, facilities, location, food, room standard, everything. I would recommend it to anyone and in particular to those looking for a base near Dublin and looking for a friendly hotel with high standards. Can't speak highly enough. MauriceF

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Maurice F,

It gave me great pleasure to read your comments about how friendly, efficient and helpful you found the staff, the quality, our facilities, location and room standard. Lesley our Childcare Supervisor, was delighted to read your Children loved the Kids club and our pool. Thank you for a lovely review.
I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Best Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

My hubby and I have just returned from a 2 night stay in Glenview Hotel. We booked, last minute through booking.com and while we did not expect the best room in the hotel, we did expect 4*. Check in time is 3pm and by 3.45 our room was still not ready. We waited in the foyer and this was not a good start, but it is just those culmination of the little things that make the overall stay less enjoyable than it should. Our room was 321,and it was not lucky for us! The bathroom is grotty, room with no view except the outside pipe. We had a lovely meal in the bar restaurant - well apart from waiting to get re-stocked with beverage with our meal but PJ was very helpful. The next evening we went for a pre-meal drink and as it was a beatiful evening, the bar staff kindly offered to bring our drinks outside. Sadly we waited for 15 mins before going back into the bar and ordering - waitress forgot. We had a lovely meal that evening - but had to ask for the "hot" apple & cinnamon tart to be heated - it arrived stone cold! Drinking water was not re-stocked in our room so we had to go looking for that! When it came to check out, we had a random credit card receipt (somebody else's card number) for £100 attached to our bill - sorted quickly enough - but symptomatic of the stay. In summary, food was very good, some staff good, some not so good, little lack of detail in everything which coloured our short break. I review regularly with trip advisor and this is one of the few that we have given negative feedback.

Room Tip: Stay away from 321
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twohappytravellers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear guest,

I am extremely sorry to read of the disappointments you encountered during your recent stay at the Glenview hotel. Both the management and staff regret that we were never given the opportunity to deal with any of the issues raised during your visit due to the fact that we were never advised that anything was wrong . I am delighted to read you found PJ our Bar man very helpful. He is thrilled with the special mention.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to my attention and I do hope you will not let this experience deter you from returning to the hotel in future.

Best Regards,

Brian McNamara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Of The Downs
6.5 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
5.7 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
32.3 km away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
The Martello Hotel
16.8 km away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
35.3 km away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Hotel

Property: Glenview Hotel
Address: Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glen Of The Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Of The Downs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club is a 4 star Luxury Hotel in County Wicklow set on over 30 acres of woodland walks, beautiful gardens and located in the heart of The Garden of Ireland.The Glenview Hotel is located at Junction 9 Glen o' the Downs on the N11.Situated just off the M50 motorway, The Glenview Hotel is only 25 miles driving distance from Dublin City Centre and 30 miles from Dublin Airport.The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club Wicklow, nestled in the stunning and breathtaking surroundings of The Glen of The Downs and overlooking the Wicklow Mountains is the perfect destination for leisure breaks, activity breaks, meetings, events and weddings in Wicklow. The Glenview Hotel is situated in the scenic garden of Ireland and is the ideal location for your break within a 10 minute drive of Powerscourt House & Gardens in Enniskerry and some of Wicklow’s finest golf courses.The Glenview Hotel in Wicklow offers excellent service in elegant surroundings which makes it a comfortable setting whether it is for business or leisure.Where style and grace meet country hospitality.Glenview Hotel Wicklow features;• 70 deluxe bedrooms including the penthouse suite • Excellent conference, meeting and banqueting facilities• Woodlands Restaurant and Conservatory Bistro and Bar • Extensive Leisure Club with outdoor hot tub. • The Haven Beauty Treatment Suites • Scenic woodland walk & gardens • Complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel• The Glenview Hotel is a great location, just off the M50 on exit 9 off the N11, south of Bray in County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Glenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenview Hotel County Wicklow/Glen Of The Downs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing