We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”
Review of Glenview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenview Hotel
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Glenview Hotel recently. I stayed in the spacious family room with my three children.It was spotlessly clean,quiet and comfortable and very generously supplied with towels in the bathroom. We enjoyed two wonderful swims in the gorgeous leisure centre, and ate in the bistro both nights. On the first night, we celebrated my aunts birthday , and the bistro staff were discreetly helpful with the cake etc. One of the outstanding features of the hotel is the friendly helpfulness of all the staff, even down to a warm smile and a friendly comment in the corridors.Last but not least, the beautiful location with stunning views especially from the restaurant upstairs. It was our second stay at the hotel and the children are begging to go back !! I would highly recommend a stay at the Glenview Hotel

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

862 - 866 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

I have just returned from an outstanding three-day break at the Glenview Hotel, just outside Bray in Ireland. Everything was perfect - the management, the staff, the room, the food, the gym, the pool, everything! It is a four-star hotel set in beautiful surroundings, but very easy to access. Very relaxing and a great night's sleep as well. We could have spent our entire time at the hotel (there are also gardens and a pleasant woodland walk in the grounds) but if you want to venture further afield there are a lot of attractions nearby like the famous Powerscourt Gardens, golf courses and there's plenty to do in Bray itself (a seaside town). The price at Glenview? Very, very reasonable - great value for money and they have plenty of offers available. It's ideal for families, couples or business. I will be back for sure, and soon. Angela T.

Room Tip: Our room was perfect and speaking to other guests they all said the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Attended this hotel for a friends wedding. Room was average. We had our 2 month old with us and the room was on the cramped side with cot etc.

Nice function room with average food. The views from the balcony are nice but a little spoilt by the noise of the motorway.

Was very happy when a member of staff saw us arriving with all our gear (baby) and without being prompted they assisted us to our room. Nice touch and a sign that customer service matters to them.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed at the Glenview Hotel for a girls night out and got a bundle with two Spa treatment, 3 course menue and 1 night B&B for 125€ and I wouldn't have paid more.

The hotel itself does look very nice and the rooms are more than ok for the price but unfortunately there was a big water stain in our room which was a bit anoying, as this shouldn't be in a 4* hotel and the windows outside were quiet dirty, but never mind.

Be booked our dinner for the Woodlands restaurant but unfortunately it was closed as there were not enough guests in the hotel and we had to eat in the Conservatory Bar, which was ok. The service at the restaurant was very poor (this is a very polite way of describing it). We had to wait for 30 minutes to get our drinks and our plates were just thrown on the table and the waitress wasn't seen for the rest of the evening. We really got the impression that they didn't really care about us as were the guests with the bundle price.
Despite that the food was really good and we really enjoyed it. The portions were huge and ok for the ala card price, which we didn't pay anyways :D
Breakfast was really good and the waiting staff for the breakfast were very nice, the complete opposite of the evening staff.

Well, the Glenview does big advertisement for their "Spa" but to be honest, this is no Spa at all. There are two sepertate rooms where you get your treatments and those rooms are tiny. Also you can hear everything that happens in the room next to you. Only two people can be treated at a time which is quiet annoying when you are 4 girls looking for some fun together. Despite that, the treatments were great and the Spa staff (especially Barbara) were just great.

I'm not sure if I would go there again, as there are other Hotels around which are nicer for the same price. Because if you don't go there on a bundle price, it will be pretty expensive!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schnuk-Schnuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I had just arrived in the country from England for the first time. I was with my 6 year old boy and it was getting late. We had no telephone and were desperate for somewhere to sleep for the night when we came across this hotel. I explained my situation to the lady at the reception desk and she was extremely happy to help us. She arranged a room for us straight away. I had many bags and boxes that needed taking to the room. She arranged a porter to do this immediately. He was also extremely friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful, clean and warm. The telephone in the room allowed me to make the necessary arrangements to secure accommodation for the next day. There was all the facilities there that we needed. The bar man went out of his way to get me the drinks that my son wanted. Breakfast was great. There was a good range of different foods and lots of choice for my son. On leaving the hotel I was given great assistance with loading all our things back in to my car. This stay helped make my very stressful situation much better. Thank you to all the staff there that helped this happen.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Of The Downs
6.5 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,089 reviews
7.1 km away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
24.5 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 km away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
6.9 km away
The Martello Hotel
5.3 km away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Hotel

Address: Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glen Of The Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glen Of The Downs
Price Range: €83 - €213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club is a 4 star Luxury Hotel in County Wicklow set on over 30 acres of woodland walks, beautiful gardens and located in the heart of The Garden of Ireland.The Glenview Hotel is located at Junction 9 Glen o' the Downs on the N11.Situated just off the M50 motorway, The Glenview Hotel is only 25 miles driving distance from Dublin City Centre and 30 miles from Dublin Airport.The Glenview Hotel and Leisure Club Wicklow, nestled in the stunning and breathtaking surroundings of The Glen of The Downs and overlooking the Wicklow Mountains is the perfect destination for leisure breaks, activity breaks, meetings, events and weddings in Wicklow. The Glenview Hotel is situated in the scenic garden of Ireland and is the ideal location for your break within a 10 minute drive of Powerscourt House & Gardens in Enniskerry and some of Wicklow’s finest golf courses.The Glenview Hotel in Wicklow offers excellent service in elegant surroundings which makes it a comfortable setting whether it is for business or leisure.Where style and grace meet country hospitality.Glenview Hotel Wicklow features;• 70 deluxe bedrooms including the penthouse suite • Excellent conference, meeting and banqueting facilities• Woodlands Restaurant and Conservatory Bistro and Bar • Extensive Leisure Club with outdoor hot tub. • The Haven Beauty Treatment Suites • Scenic woodland walk & gardens • Complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel• The Glenview Hotel is a great location, just off the M50 on exit 9 off the N11, south of Bray in County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Glenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenview Hotel County Wicklow/Glen Of The Downs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing