We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably one of the best B&Bs in Ireland”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gorey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodlands Country House
Ranked #7 of 12 Gorey B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Probably one of the best B&Bs in Ireland”
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Beautiful, relaxing, homely - extremely comfortable accommodation. Superb breakfast, and the hospitality was first class.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LizB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We first stayed at Woodlands about 15 years ago and liked it so much we always hoped to return. We're pleased to say it's now even better. Philomena's welcome was as warm as we remembered and she regaled us with tales of Wexford as we enjoyed her fresh scones and tea. The room was lovely with a very comforable bed and fresh whte linen. The breakfast next morning wasexcellent with a very wide choice of fresh fruits, yoghurts etc and a cooked breakfast. The setting is peaceful and relaxing and we were sorry to leave but I'm sure we'll be back - we won't leave it another 15 years!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrschips50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

I selected Woodlands Country House because I was looking for a small, quiet town and a B & B which was off the beaten track with walking paths nearby. I was enchanted with Woodlands Country House! It was everything I had hoped it would be. I cannot think of one thing I would change about this B & B! It is a beautiful home located on a quiet street. Philomena plays Irish music throughout the house and burns candles so it always feels warm and welcoming. The rooms are spotless. I honestly think these are the most comfortable beds in all of Ireland! I never wanted to get out of bed in the morning. But then I would remember the breakfast which was waiting downstairs. The breakfast is a huge feast! There are so many choices, you could eat for hours if you wanted to. You are presented with a menu to select an entree, which is pretty amazing considering there are long tables filled with at least 15 different fresh fruits, cereals, baked goods, cheeses, juices, etc., just waiting for you to pick them up! Tea/coffee/toast and scones with jam are brought to you as soon as you sit down. But then you also get to select a fabulous sounding entree! I ordered the omelette with veggies and cheese every single morning it was so good! Once you are finished with consuming everything in sight, you can take advantage of the wooded path 100 yards from the house. This was my favorite place to go everyday and sometimes I walked the woodland path two and three times a day. It is quiet with streams, beautiful trees and is completely peaceful. You can also walk into the small town about 15 minutes away where there is a church, pub, school and a small convenience store. It is probably better if you have a rental car while staying here, but I used a taxi to get to Woodlands Country House and that worked just fine. Philomena and her husband even drove me into town one night so I could attend the local theatre production. This is also a wonderful place for children to stay. The grounds of Woodlands Country House has a tennis court, basketball hoop, a pond, a full stream, woods and another walking path. There are green hills in the side and backyards which young children would love to run on. It is a perfectly safe environment for children. I wish I could return to Ireland every year and stay at the Woodlands Country House! I stayed 3 nights this time, but next time would much prefer to stay an entire week as it was the most peaceful and relaxing experience of my entire trip to Ireland!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cocoanutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Very friendly hosts, outstanding service, fantastic breakfasts, beautiful grounds, large rooms, nice bathrooms...

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hostas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We (four ladies - two 20's and two older) arrived late - I couldn't get my phone card to work so couldn't let them know. But Philomena was very gracious and made us dinner reservations at Ludz (in Gorey) as we hadn't eaten. Jasmine served us tea and scones, delicious. The rooms were unbelievable, large and clean, modern bathrooms. Beds were comfortable, everyone said it was their favorite place in all of Ireland. Grounds are gorgeous and they have tennis courts and basketball. The breakfast was huge and delicious - I've never seen so much wonderful fresh fruit and my omelete was delicious. Everything very well prepared, and fantastic. 5-star all the way. I would LOVE to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldhagggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gorey hotels
6.0 km away
Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre
5.7 km away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
2.4 km away
Courtown Hotel
Courtown Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gorey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Marlfield House Hotel
4.8 km away
Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa
8.3 km away
Hillside House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Country House

Property: Woodlands Country House
Address: Killineirin, Gorey, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Gorey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gorey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Rooms with en suite facilities, TV, electric blankets, hairdryers, toiletries, tea/coffee making facilities.Tea and homemade scones and preserves always served on arrival. Full a la carte breakfast with lots of local fruits and homemade preserves. Cheeses, homemade breads, scones, as well as your choice from our menu and buffet table. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodlands Country House Gorey, County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing