We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
€138
Expedia.com
€125
Fully refundable before Thu, 23 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
€138
Fully refundable before Thu, 23 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Patrick C
Carrickmacross, Ireland

Fabulous 1 night, unintended stay.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Feb 2022
We found ourselves in dire straits in Gorey this weekend after attending a wedding elsewhere, and were unable to travel. All the hotels and B&Bs in the Gorey area were booked, including the Railway Country House. We were staring down the increasingly real possibility of having to sleep in the car, but didn't Jo remember us and call us proactively when she had a last minute cancellation. We spent a lovely night in her very homey and comfortable property. I was stoked to learn that they allow pets (some considerations required). Breakfast was fab. I look forward to returning for an intentional stay at this lovely property, hopefully accompanied by the Furbaby! Thanks, Jo!
Date of stay: February 2022
Room Tip: Fair amount of noise from check-ins and comings-and-goings on ground floor.
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
€302
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    €302
  • Agoda.com
    €302
  • Vio.com
    €302
2.0 km from Railway Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Superior Bedroom
Booking.com
€186
€171
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    €186
  • Hotels.com
    €186
  • Priceline
    €186
0.9 km from Railway Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort Newly Refurbished Lobby
Booking.com
€171
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    €171
  • Vio.com
    €171
  • Agoda.com
    €171
4.5 km from Railway Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
€180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    €180
  • ZenHotels.com
    €180
  • Tripadvisor
    €180
6.2 km from Railway Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Courtyard
Agoda.com
€274
Fully refundable
No fees just great deals
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
14.7 km from Railway Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Dales
Booking.com
€150
€138
  • Agoda.com
    €150
9.9 km from Railway Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Seafield Lobby
Booking.com
€279
  • Trip.com
    €274
101.6 km from Railway Country House
Tripadvisor
€143
€125
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
    €138
  • Expedia.com
    €125
0.0 km from Railway Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
€129
    5.2 km from Railway Country House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Agoda.com
    €215
    Multiple ways to pay
    • ZenHotels.com
    • eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    13.0 km from Railway Country House
    Free parking
    Pool
    View more hotels in Gorey
    Reviews (90)
    Filter reviews
    90 results
    Traveller rating
    87
    1
    1
    0
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    87
    1
    1
    0
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews breakfast was delicious attending a wedding wonderful hosts clean rooms great stay jo mam fab ireland
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    12 - 17 of 90 reviews
    Reviewed 25 February 2022 via mobile

    Trip advisor only allows for up to 5 out of five but to be honest it should be at 10 or 20 out of 5. Jo and her husband Jim are extremely accommodating, kind and such gentle people. It is now the second time I have stayed here and both times were an absolutely fabulous experience. The people are fantastic, the bedroom and common areas are beautiful so I cannot recommend this place enough. If you're staying in Gorey, this should be your first choice each time!

    Date of stay: February 2022
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    1  Thank U8380CIluke
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 28 November 2021

    What a fantastic stay !! Myself and my mam stayed 4 nights as we were getting some renovations done at home. Where do I start Jo and Jim were outstanding hosts from the minute we arrived nothing was too much trouble. I was working from home and there was a lovely table in the room for me to set up. The breakfast is fab and the granola is so good you wont be disappointed. There is a lovely cosy sitting room which we enjoyed every evening the fire was so welcoming and we even enjoyed a glass of wine and jo kindly provided the glasses and said make yourself as home. I would highly recommend the railway country house to anyone coming to the area you wont be disappointed Highly recommended!!

    Date of stay: November 2021
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank tweety947
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 18 October 2021 via mobile

    Our stay was amazing, 8 of us stayed with Jo the night before my brothers wedding. Nothing was to much to ask. The rooms were spotless and spacious. The breakfast was large and tasty. All dietary requirements were catered for. We were allowed to have the hair and makeup done on the premises. Even the dog got into the wedding photos. Highly recommended

    Date of stay: October 2021
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Kathleen H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 28 September 2021

    From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble for Jo and her family. We we warmly greeted on arrival despite the late hour and were shown to our rooms which were beautifully decorated, spacious and very comfortable.
    We booked the RCH as we have 2 dogs that Jo she could accommodate also. She gave us an outside room upstairs so if we needed to take the dogs out in the middle of the night we could do so without disturbing others.
    On top of the dogs we are also vegan, this was again accommodated by Jo who made special overnight oats for my husband who was competing at a horse competition down the road and needed lost of energy! I had a vegan full Irish, just yummy, with organic tomatoes from the greenhouse taking it to the next level. They even went out and bought oat milk for us to make sure we could have it in our tea!
    The ever amazing Jo even washed and dried my husband's competition whites on the Friday night - if that is not going above and beyond I don't know what is!!
    This B&B made me truly proud to be Irish, if this is the hospitality that we are showing tourists, Ireland really is a top destination. Jo and the team deserve every accolade and recommendation.
    Five stars from us, we will 100% be back!!

    Date of stay: September 2021
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Rebecca W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 1 September 2021

    We were warmly greeted at the RCH despite our late arrival.
    Our room was comfortable, plenty of closet space and a nice view of very pretty grounds. I was glad to see solar panels providing green energy to the house and grid.
    From the nice dining area you can watch the chickens and ducks that provide fresh eggs for a delicious Irish breakfast. There are many other options for breakfast, but shy skip an Irish breakfast?
    Jo and Jim are genial hosts, willing to take time to chat and obviously proud of their lovely B&B.
    I would heartily recommend the RCH when you travel to Wexford. We are looking forward to a return visit down the road.

    Date of stay: August 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank TippTim
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews