We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
eDreams
Vio.com
Etrip
StayForLong
Priceline
View all 7 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
94
29
6
4
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
94
29
6
4
11
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2020 via mobile

A great option if you're looking for peace and quiet in a lovely location. Room was very comfortable and clean. The hosts were helpful and very attentive to Covid safety guidelines too. Breakfast and dinner were were excellent. We had a great stay and look forward to returning

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Redbearded86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 August 2020 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay! Cosy, clean, comfortable rooms in a very quiet location. David & Mary were wonderful hosts & so friendly. The dinner & breakfast food was of excellent quality. I would love to visit again. Mt Mellary just a 10 min walk next door

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank ElizabethBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 February 2020

The Pelgrims rest hotel
Mount Melleray
Cappoquin
County Waterford
This hotel.
I would highly recommend right next
To Mount Mellarey Grotto.
Very reasonable priced.
Excellent lady in charge of this hotel. Very clean, beautiful breakfast I will definitely come back to this hotel
Lillian Mellamphy

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Lillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 October 2019

Our visit coincided with the owners holidays, however we were very capably looked after by Bridget and Neil, who made us very welcome. Clean and comfortable and in a very rural peaceful location. Easy walk to the Abbey.
Full food service was not offered as out of season {just}.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank che777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 September 2019

Rooms were old and small. The owner tried to compare his hotel to the Viking in Waterford and there is no comparison. The Viking has large modern rooms. David says he keeps his price under the Vikings price. Not so. David and Mary couldn’t have been nicer or more helpful this made up for the old small rooms. Breakfast was great. Nothing close by except the Monastery.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank Lesley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
davidtV6525EN, Owner at The Pilgrims Rest Hotel (ADULTS ONLY), responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2019

David did not compare his Hotel to the Viking nor would he. The Pilgrims Rest Hotel is a Country house Hotel not a city Hotel some 40 miles away. He did say he stays in the Viking when in Waterford City and would recommend it. As far as price is concerned however let the general public search for the best rates available and decide. We also offer a price promise should another Hotel offer a lower rate we will match it. The Hotel is approximately 120 years old
But well maintained and our rooms and en suite bathrooms are of a reasonable size and shown on our website which also shows delightful gardens and large gated carpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews