We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy this relaxing location”
Review of Richmond House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Richmond House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cappoquin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

It's a few years since we visited Richmond House so we decided it try it out agaIn over the holiday weekend. We were not disappointed as the service, food, friendly atmosphere and relaxed feeling are all still there. The staff, who are all local, go out of their way to make it a most enjoyable stay. The menu did prove the be a bit of a problem for us as everything on it was appealing and took some time to consider......but end result was a most enjoyable evening complimented by some excellent wine. After dinner we retired to the comfort of the living room with its big open fire and comfortable seating for an after dinner relaxing drink. Breakfast was also most enjoyable with a good choice of options and locally sourced food. The bedrooms are spacious, spotless and comfortable and certainly gave us the best nights sleep in years !! This was probably our fifth visit over the years and we will certainly be here again before too long.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank C-121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Richmond House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2016

I stayed here two weeks ago with my boyfriend. The service was friendly and welcoming and the food was first class (and reasonable). Also, I left a personal item behind me and phoned the owners a few days later. They posted back the item in a timely manner and did not hesitate when I asked them to do so. I would recommend Richmond house to family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Visit here last week with my wife. It is nice old mansion. Though the reception area has a great open fire it's very quiet and can remind you of a doctors waiting room. However the food is excellent and the owner (and manageress) Clare is very friendly (as are all the staff). It is not cheap at €55 per person, but is worth a visit. Very Upmarket Irish ,!!!!! I would visit this place again and maybe next time stop the night in one of the rooms,!!!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank bigtye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

This is a well-kept 300 year old manor away from the congestion of the city. The grounds are beautiful. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The lounge has a great place to sit and visit with friends. It had a fireplace that is kept burning by one of the staff members. She also brought us coffee and tea to help us relax. Breakfast was included but dinner was also an option. Dinner was delicious. Although the manor is well-kept the atmosphere was definitely that of 300 year old manor.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marie0897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I were spending a few days near Cappoquin and looked for a restaurant in the area for a nice night out. We booked the Richmond House before we left home. We expected a good dinner in a nice restaurant for 50 euro each. We were seriously disappointed. The room where we waited for our table was cosy with an open fire but a bit shabby and in need of redecoration. The dining room of the old house was lovely. Unfortunately both food and service were very poor. Paper napkins stuck into wine glasses gave a poor first impression. Starters of crab with salmon were plonked on a plate and accompanying bread was leaden and tasteless. Presentation of duck and salmon mains was really poor and mash and vegetables tasteless and unappealing. Shockingly overpriced. We felt robbed. Unsurprisingly we were one of two parties in the restaurant that night. No effort or interest evident at any level. We didnt even bother complaining.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank KayDublin15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cappoquin
4.1 km away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel (ADULTS ONLY)
16.6 km away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
23.9 km away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 km away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
334 reviews
17.0 km away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
454 reviews
22.2 km away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond House

Address: Cappoquin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Cappoquin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cappoquin
Price Range: €117 - €121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Richmond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Cappoquin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing