We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Richmond House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
TheToby Jug(Cappoquin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Convent(Clogheen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
89
23
3
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
23
3
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful country houselamb shankfabulous foodour table was readyb bopen fireperiod stylemelt in the mouthold houselocal apple juiceold worldbeautiful roomold styleliving roomrooms are comfortablerelaxing weekendthree nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2016

This is a well-kept 300 year old manor away from the congestion of the city. The grounds are beautiful. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The lounge has a great place to sit and visit with friends. It had a fireplace that is kept burning by one of the staff members. She also brought us coffee and tea to help us relax. Breakfast was included but dinner was also an option. Dinner was delicious. Although the manor is well-kept the atmosphere was definitely that of 300 year old manor.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marie0897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I were spending a few days near Cappoquin and looked for a restaurant in the area for a nice night out. We booked the Richmond House before we left home. We expected a good dinner in a nice restaurant for 50 euro each. We were seriously disappointed. The room where we waited for our table was cosy with an open fire but a bit shabby and in need of redecoration. The dining room of the old house was lovely. Unfortunately both food and service were very poor. Paper napkins stuck into wine glasses gave a poor first impression. Starters of crab with salmon were plonked on a plate and accompanying bread was leaden and tasteless. Presentation of duck and salmon mains was really poor and mash and vegetables tasteless and unappealing. Shockingly overpriced. We felt robbed. Unsurprisingly we were one of two parties in the restaurant that night. No effort or interest evident at any level. We didnt even bother complaining.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank KayDublin15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Just arrived in Richmond House and as I'm writing this review one of the staff is humming as she hoovers and just adds to the quaintness of the place with its beautiful gardens .
Yes the rooms are a bit tired looking but I'm forming the opinion this is not about state of the art facilities but a haven of hospitality and friendliness that is rarely experienced but so often promised .
This place is a gem and a haven from the hustle and bustle of city life.
As you can see from the photos the tea and scone is just perfect .
More updates to follow.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Fabulous restaurant great food beautiful surroundings excellent service and a great menu choice you can also avail of the early bird menu this award winning restaurant is located on the outskirts of beautiful Cappoquin and when there you can also visit the beautiful glenshelane river walk also when you visit don't forget to take a trip to nearby mount melleray Cistercian abbey and you might also like to visit Barron's coffee house and the famous blackwater river

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank James Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Attended Richmond house as a wedding guest recently! The service was fantastic and attention to detail was superb. The rooms are tastefully redecorated and the food is of a very high quality! Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a venue for a small wedding. thanks to all the staff for their wonderful service and attitude throughout the day they couldn't have done anymore!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank MMCC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews