We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, restful, enchanting place. Very...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Bansha, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Stalrodag
Kildare, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, restful, enchanting place. Very special.”
Reviewed 24 September 2020 for a stay in September 2020

We really loved our time here, there is something very special about this place, a deeply restful and calming space that’s incredibly healing. The surrounding environment is beyond beautiful, such a joy to wake to mists over the distant hills. Sitting in the middle reading room in the mornings with the french windows giving such an amazing view. The silence was restorative and we were able to just ‘be’. Loved the big kitchen, high ceilings, furnishings, everything was so calming. After a very busy and stressful covid few months, we all felt so blessed to have come to Aherlow castle and we left lighter, calmer and ready to face the world again. Freda and Declan are lovely people and kind hosts who gave us our space but were there if we needed them. The walks in the surrounding area are also fantastic and this is an area of outstanding natural beauty. One of my favorite holidays and the best place we’ve ever stayed in.

Date of stay: September 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroljoyd
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Aherlow Castle”
Reviewed 22 August 2019 for a stay in August 2019

Our time at the castle was truly splendid. What an amazing place to be. The surroundings were so beautiful, it made you feel totally relaxed and at peace. Wonderful place to spend time with the family. Everything you could have needed was provided and more. Freda and Declan are truly amazing hosts and ensured our stay went without a hitch. I will say, the place is well hidden away so it makes a marvellous retreat away from the hustle and bustle of life but also makes it quite difficult to find although Freda was on hand to guide us to the place so it was not a problem. Thankyou both for a truly wonderful break.

Date of stay: August 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry D
1 review
“Best place in Ireland!”
Reviewed 5 July 2019 for a stay in July 2019

The Castle is amazing! Freda and Declan are wonderful hosts! The accommodations and amenities are great. Our every need was met and they even helped us with tourist information and guidance on places to visit and eat. Make sure to spend some time in the Library listening to the music and reading while enjoying the amazing views. You will love this place. I highly recommend it!

Date of stay: July 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Jul 2019
Great that your family enjoyed your stay. You were excellent guests and so friendly! Please come again. And bring the rest of the clan!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay for over a week, late review.”
Reviewed 4 April 2019 for a stay in January 2019

This review is way overdue! Our trip was The McHugh Family Vacation :). My husband and I, my 3 kids, daughter in law and 2 grandkids. The grandkids especially loved the castle. Everything was as described and we explored many many places during our 8 night stay. Thank you so much Freda and Declan and Molly for our wonderful magical castle stay. The pictures tell the story :). Feel free to email me with any questions. Patty,Mike,Michael,Katie,Jackie,Jennifer,Brady and Riley

Date of stay: January 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
Olathe, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 17 March 2019 for a stay in March 2019
1
person found this review helpful

We visited 7 cities/towns and did all of the sights and touristy things. When I asked my 20 year old son what his favorite thing in Ireland was, he quickly replied, “Aherlow Castle”. From the moment we drove up the long, curved drive until the moment we left, we were wow’d. Simply put, this place is fantastic. Declan and Freda provide a clean, comfortable spot in a spectacular setting. We stayed for three days and had ample time to fully experience the home and the area. It was a great location for our family. We traveled with our two teen sons, and a girlfriend and a best friend. There was more than enough room for all of us to spread out. However, we always seemed to find our way back into the extra large, but cozy kitchen and the inviting library room. I want to go back and take our extended family. It is in a rural town but perfect for day trips. We drive to Cobh and Cork to explore one day. Another day we drove the 20 minutes to Cashel and went to the Rock of Cashel and ate in town at O’Neills. The roads to it are not particularly wide, but they aren’t the very narrow ones that made us apprehensive about staying in a rural area. The castle has 5 bedrooms. They are clean, comfortable and the kind of beds you hate to leave. You wake up to gorgeous views. There are 3 showers that offer great amenities. Declan and Freda are lovely people who truly want you to have a pleasant experience and share their beautiful spot. Prior to this trip, we have not used Airbnb. Our place in Dublin was good. This one is great. If you book here, do not short yourself time wise. We were there 3 days but would have loved to stay 5-7. I can’t say enough how much we loved it. Thank you Freda, Declan and Molly (the dog) for letting us stay!

Date of stay: March 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Mar 2019
An absolute pleasure Michelle Scott and all the gang!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.