We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay for over a week, late review.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Bansha, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Patricia...
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay for over a week, late review.”
Reviewed 4 April 2019 for a stay in January 2019

This review is way overdue! Our trip was The McHugh Family Vacation :). My husband and I, my 3 kids, daughter in law and 2 grandkids. The grandkids especially loved the castle. Everything was as described and we explored many many places during our 8 night stay. Thank you so much Freda and Declan and Molly for our wonderful magical castle stay. The pictures tell the story :). Feel free to email me with any questions. Patty,Mike,Michael,Katie,Jackie,Jennifer,Brady and Riley

Date of stay: January 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
Olathe, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 17 March 2019 for a stay in March 2019
1
person found this review helpful

We visited 7 cities/towns and did all of the sights and touristy things. When I asked my 20 year old son what his favorite thing in Ireland was, he quickly replied, “Aherlow Castle”. From the moment we drove up the long, curved drive until the moment we left, we were wow’d. Simply put, this place is fantastic. Declan and Freda provide a clean, comfortable spot in a spectacular setting. We stayed for three days and had ample time to fully experience the home and the area. It was a great location for our family. We traveled with our two teen sons, and a girlfriend and a best friend. There was more than enough room for all of us to spread out. However, we always seemed to find our way back into the extra large, but cozy kitchen and the inviting library room. I want to go back and take our extended family. It is in a rural town but perfect for day trips. We drive to Cobh and Cork to explore one day. Another day we drove the 20 minutes to Cashel and went to the Rock of Cashel and ate in town at O’Neills. The roads to it are not particularly wide, but they aren’t the very narrow ones that made us apprehensive about staying in a rural area. The castle has 5 bedrooms. They are clean, comfortable and the kind of beds you hate to leave. You wake up to gorgeous views. There are 3 showers that offer great amenities. Declan and Freda are lovely people who truly want you to have a pleasant experience and share their beautiful spot. Prior to this trip, we have not used Airbnb. Our place in Dublin was good. This one is great. If you book here, do not short yourself time wise. We were there 3 days but would have loved to stay 5-7. I can’t say enough how much we loved it. Thank you Freda, Declan and Molly (the dog) for letting us stay!

Date of stay: March 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Mar 2019
An absolute pleasure Michelle Scott and all the gang!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciarad
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway ”
Reviewed 6 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend at Aherlow Castle. It was perfect for our two families (4 adults 5 kids). It’s a stunning location, made even more amazing with the wonderful weather we had. The castle itself is beautiful with modern amenities and rustic charm. The kids loved playing outside on the extensive lawn, tree house and swing. Kitchen facilities were great, tv room and library perfect for unwinding after exploring the surrounding areas - Rock of Cashel a definite highlight! Freda and Declan are wonderful hosts, so accommodating and made our stay so easy to enjoy. I would highly recommend a visit!

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Irish Gem”
Reviewed 29 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
3
people found this review helpful

We just got back from our trip to Ireland and our stay at Aherlow Castle was truly one of our trips highlights. We wanted a central location as we planned on covering as much of Ireland as possible during our 2 week vacation. The accommodations at the castle were excellent. Our hostess Freda and host Declan were so down to earth and so nice. We began and ended each day in the spacious kitchen to talk about what we did that day and our plans for the following day. We were all pleased with the very comfortable bedrooms. The surrounding countryside was was so beautiful. We were extremely pleased with our stay at Aherlow Castle.

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia S
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magical place”
Reviewed 21 April 2018 for a stay in February 2018

I've been coming to Aherlow Castle for several years now. The views of the Galtee Mountains are magical, as is the warmth of the atmosphere in the castle. Walking in the woods you can go on for miles and just gazing down the drive is a feast for the eyes.
It's always clean and welcoming and has plenty of spiritual objects and vases of fresh flowers, making it feel both homely and uplifting.
The living room is cosy and relaxing, with an open fire and a good space for sitting, talking or dancing.
The bedrooms are quite luxurious with stunning views.
The kitchen is warm and homely and very well equipped. I love the dry stone walls there.
Freda and Declan are lovely people.
Nearby Bansha has a bus stop to get you to Limerick, and the nearest town is Cashel - which has beautiful castle to visit with an excellent restaurant next door, and also has shops with everything you might need.

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.