We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location, hotel was nice enough..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 3 Mullaghmore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I stayed there for a weekend with my mum. Rooms were nice but not alot of room between the bed and dresser. But the bed was comfortable. I found staff to be pleasant and helpful. Not great variety or options in the bar food. It was a bit pricey too. The menu could do with a revamp and off more selection on salads and sandwiches. Didnt seem to offer light snacks like scones. What we did eat was very tasty. The cooked breakfast was limited. No beans, mushroms, sodas or selections of eggs (poached, scrambled etc).
Overall though i would go back again. The area is lovely

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highflier81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Manager at Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for posting a review about the Pier Head Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre.
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. I am glad to tell you that we have just launched our new bar food menu for the coming season which has a great variety of locally sourced home cooked dishes.

We provide fried eggs as standard with our breakfast and scrambled , poached or boiled is available upon request. We do provide soda breads or scones for breakfast each morning.

Kindest Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 401 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

I read many reviews about this hotel before my stay and I was slightly apprehensive about staying here due to mixed reviews. However, this hotel was most definitely capable of providing the most amazing break I might have ever had. I stayed in room 128 which had views of the atlantic ocean and was on a roof-garden. The rooms are extremely basic, they are by no means luxurious. However they are clean and comfortable and what is lacking in decor is made up for by the breathtaking location. The views from mullaghmore are second to none. The town is extremely quiet during the week which i actually really enjoyed. Bundoran was only about 10mins drive away which is much busier. The staff at the Pier Head Hotel were so helpfull and efficient. They provide a 5 star service and were extremely friendly, helpfull and professional. The food was brilliant. We ate in the bar on two evenings and had breakfast two mornings. The warm goats chese salad and the hamburgers were winning options. very generous portion sizes and very quick service. I must also reccommend the outdoor hot tub. A really great experience. I can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: 128- overlooking the ocean
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joluay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Absolutely super location. Hotel is perched on the pier side as its name suggests and our room had a lovely sea view....only one blight on the landscape. A wooden "hut" was lying in bits on the roof terrace - not a good look! To call this a spa is taking a little poetic licence.... The treatments in the spa "room" were excellent, if not slightly cramped. Sinead was professional and competent. Our room was spacious and clean, however, the bathroom was a big let down. The shower (equipped for disabled) wasn't in good repair and it never looked clean. There was nowhere to leave any toileteries. All of the staff were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We would come back As the surrounding area is just beautiful - hopefully the bathroom will be sorted before we return!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I don't normally leave reviews but this was hands down the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Tiny room, tiny TV with no remote, we were ignored when we tried to get one from reception, no tea and coffee facilities. No water on the day we were checking out!!! Utterrly unacceptable in this day and age, would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 907SharonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

First class hotel in a quiet relaxing location,the staff couldnt be friendlier. Sitting in the hot tub looking right over to Bundoran is magical.Have been there quite a few times and can,t wait to go back. Good value , lovely beach nearby, and Bundoran only a stone,s throw away.Is hard to go home after a break here

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yeatsie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Manager at Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for posting a review about the Pier Head Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullaghmore
19.4 km away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
11.2 km away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
1,014 reviews
18.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 km away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,675 reviews
20.6 km away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
483 reviews
23.7 km away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre

Address: Mullaghmore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Mullaghmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mullaghmore
Price Range: €65 - €99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 3 star hotel (all rooms en-suite with flat screen TVs) Leisure Centre, Beauty Salon, Hair Dressing, 2 bars, Restaurant and Function Room. We cater for: singles, couples, families, groups, corporate, wedding, tours and more. Live music every Saturday night in our Quay Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Head Hotel, Spa And Leisure Centre
Pier Head Hotel, Spa & Leisure Centre Hotel Mullaghmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing