We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mouth watering seafood” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eithna's by the Sea

Eithna's by the Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Soups, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Eithna's By the Sea award-winning Seafood Restaurant, along The Wild Atlantic Way, overlooks the harbour in Mullaghmore, County Sligo. It is a friendly, family-run restaurant that caters for casual dining with homemade recipes using locally sourced food and sustainable produce. Established for over 16 years, Eithna's By The Sea Seafood Restaurant in Mullaghmore won the Georgina Campbell Ireland Guide and BIM 2014 award for its fresh seafood, shellfish and lobster dishes as well as Eithna's use of seaweed in both savoury and sweet dishes. Even though Eithna's speciality is seafood, she has plenty of other options for non fish eaters from meat to vegetarian dishes.
Fahan, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mouth watering seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were blown away by the quality of food and hospitality in this quaint restaurant.It was a beautiful sunny day yesterday, perfect for visiting Mullaghmore.
We decided to share the seafood platter and wash it down with a lovely glass of French Sauvignon.
a large platter arrived with crab claws, lobster and prawns,It was served on a bed of salad, and had garlic butter, pesto and home made brown bread on the side yum❤The food was so delicious we were contemplating finding accommodation and booking for dinner.
If you just fancied stopping for coffee there was also a great selection of homemade cakes and scones.

The decor is really lovely with turquoise being the main colour,one couldn't help thinking you were on to the set of Mama Mia (Greece)
It was a joy to be served by our waitress who was really friendly and helpful, you could tell she really enjoyed her job. ( which makes such a difference)
It was our first opportunity to sit outside this year and loved it.The staff and owner are dog lovers and provide large bowls of water for pets at the outside seating area.
Even if you don't plan on visiting Mullaghmore, but are traveling from Sligo to Donegal or letterkenny, I'd definitely recommend you go off route slightly (2km) to experience this wonderful eatery.
As Arnold says 'I'll be back'❤❤❤

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    44
    13
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co.Down
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were staying in Mullaghmore for a weekend break for the first time and we visited this restaurant on the Saturday evening. Overlooking the harbour the theme certainly was the sea and fish but they do have an extensive menu with a great variety to choose from. Cosy and intimate seafood restaurant would be the best way to describe this place. We were shown to a table on arrival and given menus, then a waiter brought out some home baked bread with a dip for us to enjoy while waiting. Not great seafood lovers we ordered a 12oz Steak for myself and my wife had chicken pasta. As it was dreadful weather outside the waiter arrived with a small cup of butternut squash soup each to keep us busy until our mains arrived, these were excellent wee added touches to our dining experience. Our main courses were excellent, cooked to perfection, with all the added trimings you could ask for. We were worried that we would not have room for desserts as we had spotted items on the menu that we fancied. However, we struggled on, took our time to let everything settle and so to desserts. My wife had jam sponge with custard and cream, I had apple tart with cinnamon and custard and they were to die for, lovely tastes and well presented. I might add here that 'custard' was not a menu option as they were served with cream however we asked for custard and we got it, no trouble at all to them.
The service from all the staff was friendly and efficient.
We definitely will be back here when we are next in the area and would recommend Eithna's by the Sea to anyone.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Smileandbehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely evening at Eithne's ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The best in the North West
Try Eithne's Sole !!!!!!
5 Star food in 5 Star location wish we could eat every week at your restaurant . Have to complement Eithne & all of her staff on a very enjoyable evening .
Best of luck Eithne for the coming season
From Charles & Ann

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank ann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Marvellous seafood in a cozy atmosphere. Not cheap but worth every penny. We took my wife's parents and her sister and her husband for a very special dinner. Once the mother-in-law stopped sucking her teeth t the price of a main course even she enjoyed herself! Particularly recommend the shellfish platter which was exceptional.

  • Visited August 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kinwafu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuusula, Finland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Looking for seafood, this is the place to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2016

We passed the restaurant earlier and it did not look inviting at all. Few days later we came back after we read some reviews and I am glad we did. When we stepped in the place looked really nice and harmonic, loved it.
And food itself was beautiful, we both had fish for main course and I think mine was one of the best fish I ever had, simply amazing.
If you're not staying nearby it is still worth the drive, just check the opening hours first, specially out of summer season.

  • Visited August 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mambochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eithna's by the Sea also viewed

 
Mullaghmore, County Sligo
 

Been to Eithna's by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing