We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looking for seafood, this is the place to go” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eithna's by the Sea

Eithna's by the Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Soups, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Eithna's By the Sea award-winning Seafood Restaurant, along The Wild Atlantic Way, overlooks the harbour in Mullaghmore, County Sligo. It is a friendly, family-run restaurant that caters for casual dining with homemade recipes using locally sourced food and sustainable produce. Established for over 16 years, Eithna's By The Sea Seafood Restaurant in Mullaghmore won the Georgina Campbell Ireland Guide and BIM 2014 award for its fresh seafood, shellfish and lobster dishes as well as Eithna's use of seaweed in both savoury and sweet dishes. Even though Eithna's speciality is seafood, she has plenty of other options for non fish eaters from meat to vegetarian dishes.
Tuusula, Finland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Looking for seafood, this is the place to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2016

We passed the restaurant earlier and it did not look inviting at all. Few days later we came back after we read some reviews and I am glad we did. When we stepped in the place looked really nice and harmonic, loved it.
And food itself was beautiful, we both had fish for main course and I think mine was one of the best fish I ever had, simply amazing.
If you're not staying nearby it is still worth the drive, just check the opening hours first, specially out of summer season.

  • Visited August 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mambochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    44
    14
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fresh fish and stunning views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2016

Having walked the Pier and built up quite the appetite exploring the Sligo and Leitrim countryside, myself and my 6 & 7 year old travelling companions were hungry. It was early evening and very quiet so I was surprised when they squashed us round a small table. The menu is predominantly fish which you expect so definitely not suitable if this isn’t your thing. The pictures on the walls are of local fishermen hauling in their catch and the restaurant is really nicely laid out with views out over the harbour with the backdrop of Ben Bulben. I opted for the crab claws and they were absolutely delicious. The kids opted for fish and chips. The fish wasn’t deep but pan fried so I was slightly apprehensive as to how it might go down but the clean plates showed there was nothing to worry about. Eithna's is lovely but you need to like seafood and you need to be willing to pay.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank 542malone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Evening meal review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

This is my second visit and I was no disappointed. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The food is wonderful, with seaweed scones to nibble on before your started arrives. I could not fault the meal or the wine.

  • Visited June 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ana186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“IS A MUST!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016

What a fabulous restaurant with amazing ambience and food which is to die for! What ever you order off the menu you will not be disappointed! I have eaten here three times and the food has been lovely. The fish is so fresh and you get generous portion sizes. The best lobster yet! Staff are very friendly and efficient too. A must!

  • Visited October 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elliestarns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

We were told by various family members that the food in Eithna's was amazing and they weren't wrong, it was out of this world & I don't think that I have ever had a better seafood platter, you could taste the freshness of all the seafood and we got loads on our platter, we were really sorry that we had the seafood chowder for a starter, because we couldn't do the seafood platter justice.
This restaurant was worth the trip from Donegal and we should have come years ago.

  • Visited August 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eithna's by the Sea also viewed

 
Mullaghmore, County Sligo
 
Bundoran, County Donegal
Strandhill, Sligo
 

Been to Eithna's by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing