We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$158
View deal
Expedia.comUS$184
Hotels.comUS$184
PricelineUS$169
TravelocityUS$184
eDreamsUS$158
HurbUS$191
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,232)
Filter reviews
2,234 results
Traveller rating
1,098
563
277
156
140
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,098
563
277
156
140
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tayto park play room swimming pool family hotel dublin zoo family break changing rooms next morning lovely hotel bar food leisure centre steak would highly recommend this hotel from start to finish enjoyable stay food was lovely saturday night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 2,234 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2022

Stayed in Pillo hotel, very good family rooms. Lovely swimming pool. Food in restaurant was excellent and our servers Aaron Elisa and Bruno were extremely helpful. We were a big booking of 14 with several children and they were fantastic with the children. Would def recommend the hotel and the restaurant for families.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eimear C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Relations, Sales at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2022

Hello eimearc904

Thank-you for taking the time to leave your positive feedback and so glad to learn that you had a positive family experience. I have passed on your comments to Bruno, Elisa and Aaron who I know would be very grateful to receive them.

Hopefully we will get an opportunity to welcome you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2022 via mobile

We booked here for a quick girls night away. We booked the rapture package, it included a back massage or facial, we had hoped to add other treatments but the spa had no room. The hotel is clean and staff are nice (special mention to Heather and Erin). We had wings in the bar and were surprised by the dip in little plastic pot but they tasted ok. Our deal included a 3 course meal, the food was awful. The garlic mushrooms came in a cardboard container like Eddie rockets and again plastic dip holder, they tasted like nothing, the steak was very sinuy and the chips that came with the chicken were hard. Breakfast the next morning all the plates were freezing, self service area was very messy too. All in all, close to Dublin so that was handy, but we won’t be returning.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank liked_copper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Relations, Sales at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2022

Hello liked_copper,

Thank-you for your stay with us and taking the time to leave your feedback. We have passed your positive comments on to Heather & Erin and appreciate you mentioning them.

So sorry to learn you were disappointed with our food offering and the comments have been also been noted and shared

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2022

This hotel has the most amazing atmosphere the staff are without a doubt the best I have come across in a very long time from reception to the bar to the restaurant and the housekeeping staff they are an trained to the highest standard and are all happy it’s so nice to see

Room tip: Really could not fault this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank morgan4465
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Relations, Sales at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2022

Hello morgan4465,

Thank-you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your joyful experience here at the Pillo Hotel Ashbourne. It is very pleasing to learn about your feedback regarding our staff who are key to making the hotel atmosphere what it is.

Your comments will be shared and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2022

Clean hotel and Good location for Tayto park and the aquatic park . Both well worth a visit . Food in restaurant way over priced for what it was and need more staff at breakfast time , the little amount of staff that are there worked hard . Highlight for the kids was the entertainment with Richy , he was great with them and the kids loved it.

Date of stay: October 2022
Thank 808ciarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Relations, Sales at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2022

Hello 808ciarco,

Thank-you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your mid-term break here at the Pillo Hotel. We are an ideal location between Tayto Park and the Aquatic so would get a popular destination with families who would plan trips like yours. We also note your comments regarding the restaurant, but as you are aware, food prices have unfortunately increased over the past few months

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2022 via mobile

Arrived at 5pm staff in reception were nice,ask about are 10.15am online pool booking for the following day and told to book it online,told the girl I had several times and had not got a confirmation email,she advised we ring the spa to check once in the room,tried to do this but phone was broken which was confirmed by a member of their staff so called in to find the slot had not been booked and had to take a later slot,the online booking does not work and the staff are fully aware of this but continue the advise customers to book it online ,hotel room good but stains on pillows and no water in room.

Dinner at the hotel was a disgrace and overly expensive for the crap pre bought frozen food served and badly cooked food,mushroom starter (frozen bought in horrible and two different sized portions with rocket leaves I personally would of binned never mind served in a restaurant,main course chicken dish served with a tea spoon of sauce over it and the Mediterranean veg that was meant to accompany it was tomato and onion and not that much of it either,asked for more sauce and was sorry I did as it was freezing and extremely spicy which was not stated on the menu so left the lot,the curry wasn’t much better with uncooked hard rice and the gravy given with the kids meal was that salty my granddaughter couldn’t eat it,server (girl was very nice)but we were given no cutlery nor condiments before our meal was served and ask a guy that brought our drinks for some but having waited 10 minutes we walked around and found are own,he then had the cheek to come back later on and ask did we get cutlery and was told no we had to get it ourselves.

There should also be a very strong policy in the hotel about parents accompanying their children at all times as I have never stayed in a hotel were children with clear special needs were left to roam the hotel by themselves shouting and spitting water all over the public areas and in the lifts and were young toddlers were left with very young siblings looking after them entering lifts with our family by themselves to find parents that were at breakfast and getting out of the lift on the fourth floor and would of ended up god knows we’re had we not of been there to show them we’re to go with the child no older than 2 falling and bashing his head off the tiled floor and his brother no older than 5 years old having to deal with it,all round awful experience and would not return.

Room tip: Avoid the restaurant
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Suzan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Relations, Sales at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2022

Hello Suzan W

Thank-you for taking the time to leave your comments

We have operated a successful booking system in our very popular swimming pool for quite some time. As the guest booking the slot needs to tick a box to agree to the terms and conditions, we are unable to book on your behalf. I am sorry to learn that you were unable to operate the online system

As you can see, we have had many, many positive reviews of the food and service in our Time Bar & Restaurant. So sorry to learn that you did not share the same views and we will investigate your comments further.

Here at the Pillo Hotel, we aim to be child & family friendly but there is a responsibility on the parents/guardians.

Hopefully we will get a chance to welcome you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews