We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$135
View deal
Expedia.com
US$134
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/12/22
Hotels.com
US$134
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/12/22
PricelineUS$145
TravelocityUS$134
Prestigia.comUS$168
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,218)
Filter reviews
2,218 results
Traveller rating
1,088
562
275
156
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,088
562
275
156
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tayto park play room swimming pool family hotel dublin zoo family break changing rooms next morning lovely hotel bar food leisure centre steak would highly recommend this hotel from start to finish enjoyable stay food was lovely great night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 2,218 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2022 via mobile

I never leave negative reviews but feel visitors should be aware. My family would not stay here again. Price much too high for the room/facilities. Mattress was extremely uncomfortable to the extent that even our 5 year old said it hurt (and she's a tough nut!). Control unit for the air in the room was dead and room was stifling. Raised it with reception and only response was that the control unit should have been running. Very dirty outside the hotel with glass bottles and rubbish. Loud noise at 2am even woke my husband, who's a heavy sleeper. Unbelievable that breakfast wasn't included at this price. Despite hotel advertised with pool, it was closed. The draw is the proximity to Tayto Park but there are many more good quality and better priced hotels in Dublin that would only add only another 10/15 mins drive. My husband complained to reception on departure and despite the woman being very nice, there was no resolution offered just that he could ring the manager if he wanted.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jenniferlohare
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Relations, Sales at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2022

Hello jenniferlohare,

Thank-you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay with us here at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne. We do appreciate and value all feedback.

Room Only and Bed & Breakfast stays are offered on our website and guests can upgrade to a B&B stay on check-in.

We are just coming to the end of another stage of our refurbishment here at the hotel which does include the Air Conditioning and Changing Rooms for the Swimming Pool - so I do apologise about these not be available during your stay.

Our location to Tayto Park is a big draw for guest staying here.

Thank-you again for your feedback and if you do decide to stay with us again, you will note the updated improvements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2022 via mobile

We booked a deluxe king room package. Best available accommodation and full Irish breakfast for 3 nights.

The room had 1 king size bed, a double bed and a single bed . There was only 2 of us staying in the room. Therefore room floor space was compromised.

We asked for 2 of the beds to be removed, only removed single bed and left quilt off said bed on the floor.

Socket for the kettle didn’t work had to move kettle to bedside table. Hinges from wardrobe broken and unable to access balcony as door handle broken.

Breakfast was extremely average.

Had food in bar area one night , this was ok but had to ask three times for the bill and waited over 30mins for this.

Two weeks before we received an email saying the swimming pool area would be closed due to refurbishment, another disappointment

We were attending a wedding near bye so moving to another hotel wasn’t an option and was also our wedding anniversary.

Extremely disappointed and definitely not a 4 star experience.

We did receive a 10% discount for the room problems and had breakfast deducted for 3 day as did not have it due to quality.

Room tip: Wouldn’t do breakfast as a nice garden centre down the road, that did a fantastic breakfast
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alison_kunze
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Relations, Sales at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2022

Hello alison_kinze,

Thank-you for taking the time to submit your feedback which has been shared with all the team here at the hotel.

Our deluxe King Rooms are a very large size and we should have removed the duvet with the additional bed.

I do note that you received a 10% discount and had breakfast taken off for the three nights you stayed with us which I trust was to your satisfaction.

Our Swimming Pool is scheduled to re-open next week, so hopefully if you were to return, you will get to experience it this time.

Thank-you again alison_kunze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2022

Hotel is lovely. We had a big, comfortable room, very clean. All the staff were so nice and very helpful. There were a few things going on on the Saturday, was very busy but didn’t feel that way! Food in the bar in the evening was vey nice and breakfast next morning was impressive.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 73trishp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Catherine McCann, Sales at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2022

Hi 73trishp,

Thank you so much for your recent review was a pleasure to read. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and the food both the evening of your stay and at breakfast, I will ensure the team are aware of your comments.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
The team - Pillo Hotel Ashbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2022 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in August as we travelled for a friends wedding. I would highly recommend this hotel, super clean, spacious rooms and a really nice restaurant! Not one complaint and would definitely book to stay here again!

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Catherine McCann, Sales at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2022

Hi Charlotte W,

Thank you for recent review.

It's great to hear your two night stay for your friends big day was enjoyed in all aspects. You review is very kind and we appropriate you taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

The Team - Pillo Hotel Ashbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2022

Booked two nights, currently on the second night and expected room service. Typical standard service expectation. I had a tray of food left in the room from the night before and come back 10 hours later and it’s still there and zero room service. Called reception to ask if there is no daily room service and they responded no and if I needed anything. I asked for cups and some UHT milk to be replaced. The porter arrived without the cups but everything else and stated” you have to ask for room service” , “there is a list and you must get added to it.” I explained that’s not normal hotel practice which he said no that daily room service is not done elsewhere. Now this young lad probably hasn’t much experience so I just explained no, room service is normal to get and never had to ask for it before anywhere.
This is our second time staying here, we booked via the phone and for the same room as last time. Arrived and it’s not the same room but couldn’t be bothered with moving after a day of packing and travelling.
Apart from the lack of room service and the incorrect booking, it’s a great place for young children (The playroom does need a lot of TLC at this stage) and has lovely food and staff in the restaurant.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Wanderlust8117
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Catherine McCann, Sales at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2022

Hi Wanderlust8117,

Thank you for your recent review.

I would love the opportunity to address your comments further, if you would be so kind as to email catherine.mccann@pillohotelashbourne.com.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
The Team - Pillo Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews