We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still only ok, toe nail clippings problem though...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Killeshin Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed here for a work night, nothing much has changed here. Room was grand, bit tired but nothing too major, toe nail clippings all over the carpet so hoover was obviously not used by the housekeeping.
Leisure center was nice but guy on reception was mega rude with no customer service, had to get my own towel when he kept ignoring me.
Food is nice enough here but it can take ages to get served, especially if there is a group

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishtourerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

613 - 617 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed in this hotel saturday night with my partner. Its a lovely hotel, the staff were very
friendly and helpful. We had a meal in the restaurant and food was absolutely fabulous. our room was very spacious, spotless and comfortable. Breakfast following morning was great and lots choices. I couldnt fault this hotel in any way and would definitely recommend it to anyone and we will def stay there again. We had a very pleasant stay from start to finish.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antoinette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We booked this hotel on a package of 98 euro for two people B&B and a two-course dinner. The hotel itself is modern and spacious, on the side of the motorway. Reception staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Asked for a scone with my coffee in the bar and got one that had been microwaved to within an inch of its life. Asked for it to be changed for a cold one and the girl pulled another one out of the plastic packet under the bar - it's a pity that in a hotel with a full restaurant and kitchen that they couldn't make their own scones.
Hotel room was large and nicely decorated. There was a list of TV channels beside the TV, very few channels were actually tuned in and these had poor reception. No extraction fan in the bathroom, which was strange considering that there was also no window. Surprisingly small double bed given the size of the room, but comfortable nonetheless.
Good breakfast but we didn't manage to get any tea and toast until the rest of our food was completely cold - we noticed many other tables having the same problem - staff seemed to be oblivious.
Food in restaurant was delicious, other than the meringue roulade which did not taste fresh.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angieruane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I would recommend this hotel to all. I stayed for business purposes and although its a bit of walk from town its worth it. Lovely large rooms very modern hotel and good food what more could you ask for. Did not try the leisure centre but looked great. also got great rate from booking.com will be back.

Room Tip: rooms at back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oconnell413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Just back from a short stay in The Killeshin hotel .Lovely hotel ,the rooms were large and spotless,staff were friendly and helpful .We had a lovely meal in the restaurant .Unfortunately we didn't have time to try the leisure center,which looked great,maybe next time.I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank largan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
2.1 km away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
3.4 km away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
711 reviews
13.2 km away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
184 reviews
15.8 km away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
190 reviews
21.4 km away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killeshin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range: €62 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing