We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I was awoken at 2.15 am to a gentleman entering my room. He apologiesed and told me not to worry that he was the duty manager and had made a mistake. When I complained to the manager this morning I was advised that he had not realised the room was occuppied but that it was the norm to check empty rooms at night!!! terrible experience for a female staying by herself.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 657rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, Gemma Jordan General Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Dear guest,

Sincere apologies for the matter as a whole. I appreciate your comments regarding our failing and for this I am truly sorry, as a female guest alone in a room I am so sorry we were found lacking on this occasion. As mentioned by Amanda the Manager on Duty the following morning, the Night DM Jim was very upset by the complete error that was made by entering the incorrect room.

We carry out spot room checks in vacant rooms during the night to ensure standards are in place, the error that was made was entering the incorrect room that differed from the list of vacant clean rooms. Please accept my sincere apologies.

You have highlighted training that is needed to ensure a similar error does not occur in the future & to ensure room numbers are double and triple checked before entering a room, Once again sincere apologies this was a complete error .

If you require further information please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Sincere apologies

Regards,

Gemma Jordan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

908 - 912 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

Today is the 20th march , We stayed at this hotel for Paddys weekend just gone arriving the 16th,Myself my wife and 6mth old Son.The style of the Hotel is definetly Heritaged based ,its a clean nicely layed out hotel ,nice bar - which is kid friendly ,with great bar food, the only thing I would change is some of the decor ,I find the faded yellow decor a bit outdated especially in the rooms ,well in ours anyway ,I found the reception staff friendly and always had a smile , I think the Fordge Steak house across the road is also owned by the hotel as Id seen some of the staff in both premises ,We had bookd a dinner in the steak house on Paddys night ,I have to mention at this point the Manageress a Clare Ryan, from the moment we entered she made the evening more enjoyable for us as you are always aprehensive when bringing a buggy into a resturant ans she took a shine to my 6mth old and at one stage I think most of the staff were around him and he only loving it ,She was there also when we checked out and again stopped and chatted with himStaff like that were few and far between.
It is unfortunate that all the staff there wernt as "nice" ,the leisure centre staff need to use more of there own facilities and learn to relax ,I can understand totally having to tell people every min of every day to use there swimming hats can grate on there nerves but nearly having a standing row with staff on the Fri and the sunday about hats didnt leave a good taste in out mouths.
Also the male gents changing could do with some more heating as taking a small child out of the pool and trying to change him in a cold locker room isnt great.And if your staying there make sure your car park fees are covered.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darrenxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, Gemma Jordan General Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor.

The team and I are happy you, your wife and little boy enjoyed your stay with us, excellent customer and personal service you and your family received from reception and Kellys Grill house restaurant is one element that makes us different from other hotels and I am delighted that you wife agree.

The Kelly’s Foundry grill house team in particular Claire Ryan are delighted with your glowing comments. I am delighted your little boy was spoiled by Claire & the team.

In regards to the rooms as you will note from my pervious comments posted to other guests that we are confident in getting the rooms update across the line in the very near future.

I am very disappointed with your comments in regards to the Leisure Centre - I am very surprised with your comments as they are very different from the norm that we receive, I have highlighted your issues with Therese the Leisure Centre Manager and her team. I can assure you that your comments have not been taken lightly and will not occur again the future. I sincerely apologize for the matter as a whole.

In regards to car parking, as you will have noted the multi story car park is not ran or operated by the hotel. We have negotiated discounted overnight rates with Q - Park Ireland. I appreciate your comments in regards to the car parking fee, as we do not own or operate the car park, & is a completely separate business discounted rates are the best we can offer. The hotel do offer rates and offers are in place pending on accommodation booking made.

Thank you sincerely once again for taking the time to post your review with benefits the team and the hotel as a whole.

If you require any further information please do not hesitate to contact me personally, where I will be delighted to speak with you in person.

Kind regards,

Gemma Jordan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Having prebooked treatments well in advance we where told (after a 2hour drive down specifically to use spa) upon our arrival that one treatment we had looked forward to trying could not be carried out due to maintenance - A simple phonecall explaining this could have allowed us to rearrange our appointment to a more suitable time... As we had pre payed we where offered to choose a different treatment as a replacement however the treatments carried out where quite limited in my opinion. We left feeling like our business was simply not wanted due to little things like mistaking my name, towels not being changed and not asking the client if pressure,heat, ect during treatments where ok. To be fair i dont blame the beautician working in the spa (as more staff should have been working in the first place to allow for even work distribution) but the spa itself as a business is questionable. I would not recommend this spa however hotel staff where polite and helpful when encountered.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, Gemma Jordan General Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor.

I am disappointed to hear your feedback in regards Ealu Spa. I have passed on your message to the Spa Manager Noelle, who was anxious and disappointed with your comments. Noelle and I would greatly appreciate if you can contact us so we can get to the bottom of your comments and experience you received in the Ealu Spa.

As a point to note Ealu Spa is ran separately to the hotel as it is an outsourced, but in saying this I take full responsibility for any issues that may occur.

Sincere apologies for the matter as a whole, Ealu Spa and the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel look forward to speaking with you so we can both apologize in person and attempt to turn your experience you had in Ealu Spa around.

Kind regards,

Gemma Jordan
General Manager
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We recently held a day conference in the hotel. It was a great location and the lunch offerings were also great. However we had a not so lovely surprise of €11 per car at the end of the day for parking.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, Gemma Jordan General Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor regarding your conference.

The team & I are delighted with your comments in regards to your conference overall. We are thrilled with your comments that your found the lunch offerings and location beneficial and to quote your own words ‘’great’’.

In regards to car parking there are numerous offerings to cater for conferences and in house guests, As you will have noted the multi story car park is not ran or operated by the hotel. We have negotiated discounted conference & overnight rates with Q - Park Ireland. Pending on the organizers of conferences some choose to include rates for delegates and some do not. I appreciate your comments in regards to the car parking fee, as we do not own or operate the car park, & is a completely separate business discounted rates are the best we can offer.

I hope you do understand the position we are in but once again I appreciate your comments fully.

Once again Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel in the near future for your business or leisure purpose or indeed both !!

Thank you sincerely once again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards,

Gemma Jordan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Located in the centre of town which is straight of the M7 motorway. once we arrived we just parked our car up and didn't need to see it for our trip although the pay parking does add to unexpected expenses, A card is giving to cover your from 6pm till 10am but checkout is not till 12. We stayed till 3 as there was a match on and for them extra 5 hours it was €8, that would be okay anywhere else but considering we were in spending money having lunch in the hotel seemed a bit much.
The lobby was lovely and I got a really nice welcome from the desk and I felt well looked after by reception at check out.
Within the hotel itself there is plenty to do, there is a lovely cafe, a nice quite pub area during the the day which at night felt like a local full of chat and very friendly pub.
After check in we went up to our lovely room, it was amazing. Very clean, you could not fault it. I couldn't wait to have a big sleep in the bed. We went for a drink before heading to Neil Delmer which was on in the hotel but when we went up to the bar we were made seem to be getting in the way of a dicussion that the 4 bar people were having and were not looked after in a 4* manner. After Neil Delmer we went in to the town, all the pubs were just around the cornor and there was planty of chioce.
Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice. the servers however seemed more interested in chating, although they did a fair job.
After breakfast we went to the Pool, the staff were lovely. It was a lovely big pool. It was a saturday morning so I was a bit worried about thinking it was going to be full of kids and with my sore head from the night before that wouldn't be good. there was plenty of kids there but they were well supervised and kept busy with all the floats provided for them.
We had our lunch in the cafe the next day food was lovely but service lacked. The waitress didnt seem interested, menu's on the table but after 5 minutes i had to go up and order at the till area. Same again when we were finished, we got cleared but were never asked did we want tea or coffee. We wern't going to bother then and just head off but the match was getting good so my boyfriend got up and ordered tea and buns.The buns were lovely. As we were sitting around watching the match I noticed it took them ages to clear the dirty tables and when one woman came out to do it she cleared 5 of them and did not wipe or fix any of the chairs around them. A few minutes later a couple came up and I could see them trying to look for a clean table. They sat a dirty one!
Didn't use the resturant but the menu and resturant itself looked lovely.
The hotel is lovely, I have a few issues with the service but I enjoyed the hotel itself so much I would go back. Having a hotel thats only 20 minutes away on a motorway is blessings. With great pubs around the cornor, great breakfast and wonderful service in the health I will be back for that.

Room Tip: I was in 236 a suite, amazing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niadhbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortlaoiseHeritage, Gemma Jordan General Manager at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor.

I am in full agreement in regards to our fantastic location, this hugely aids the hotel.

I appreciate your comments in regards to the numerous outlets the hotel has to offer from the Coffee Bean, Charter bar, Breakfast, Leisure centre. I am delighted you enjoy your time in the hotel while attending Neil Delamere.

I appreciate your comments in regards to good customer service as a whole, I have noted your comments in regards to the service issue in the coffee bean on the Saturday. Training has been implemented as to ensure our shortcomings will not occur again in the future.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time for posting your comments, apologies for our shortcomings in the Coffee Bean.

Thank you sincerely once again for taking the time to post your review with benefits the team and the hotel as a whole.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you & your boyfriend both back to the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gemma Jordan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
2.1 km away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
711 reviews
2.3 km away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
711 reviews
0.3 km away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 km away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,893 reviews
14.7 km away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
190 reviews
29.1 km away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)

Address: 20 Jessop Street, Portlaoise R32 DT04, Ireland (Formerly Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range: €64 - €136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel) 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to reflect style, planned with meticulous care to deliver service excellence, The Midlands Park Hotel has earned itself the reputation of being the most sought after hotel in Ireland. Nestled in the heart of Portlaoise Town, this sophisticated urban setting is perfect for business or pleasure. Its striking entrance creates an impressive sense of space and classic modern elegance. Our 115 deluxe bedrooms, incorporating executive rooms & suites offer the splendour of classic design with modern elegance and includes the latest in wireless internet technology complimentary. You will be spoiled for choice with our unique choice of Restaurants and Bars. Our White Flag Award Winning Health & Leisure Club is also available for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing