We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Roundwood House
Nearby Hotels
Clanard Court Hotel(Athy)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talbot Hotel Carlow(Carlow)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Woodford Dolmen Hotel(Carlow)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort(Tullow)(Great Value!)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
US$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise(Portlaoise)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
218
21
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
218
21
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomother guestsslieve bloom mountainsgreen roomgreat hostslambopen fireincredible foodamazing weekendcourse dinnersconeshen partygrounds are lovelymemorable stayyogurtboth nightsmagical place
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

My husbands family and I recently visited Roundwood house for my mother in law's 80th birthday. On arrival we were greeted warmly by Hannah and shown to our beautiful room in the lodge. We then had tea and freshly made scones in the library, a restored barn with a fantastic mezzanine level and wall to wall books. Paddy even set up a projector screen for us to watch the rugby and served any drinks we wanted. We had dinner in a private dining room and from start to finish it was amazing. There is no choice apart from dietary requirements however u do not need it. Every course was even better than the next. The best meal I've had in a very long time. Reminded me of the restaurant Bastible in Harolds cross at a fraction of the cost. Breakfast was served in the dining room. Again excellent service and a really lovely homely atmosphere. We can not wait to have a return visit.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Pam011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Enjoyed a lovely time away with a friend. Great destination. Enjoyed the big old drawing room with the open fire. Enjoyed chats with guests and reading by the window. Had many walks through the woodland and visited the renowned wood shed. Food was excellent,all locally produced and prepared with care. Definitely be back here again.

Room Tip: Just ask at booking if you have special requests
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

It is easy to understand all the wonderful reviews for this place after spending a few days here. The somewhat daunting (though optional) prospect of sharing your table with a bunch of strangers may put some people off but actually it was a great and fun experience. The superb dinner served on both nights certainly helps matters. Paddy prepared highly flavoured and cleverly executed dishes, course after course. Every bite was delicious!

The green room was beautiful- very comfortable and atmospheric too! The bed is not very big but sooo comfortable. We had two great sleeps while here.

The walks around the grounds are lovely too- snowdrops, daffodils, big old trees, bee hives, little paths, out buildings to explore. Probably a great place for kids. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MODireland2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We had such a lovely weekend in Round wood house, you feel like your part of the family for the time your there.
The owners are great people, interesting and very friendly. The food for the weekend was some of the best meals ive had, and id consider myself a foodie.
The drinks were flowing all weekend and the craic was 90 there was even a sing along on the 2nd night. Id recommend The Roundwood house to couples that like mixing with other guests.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We were met by Rococo the friendly Lab who showed us to the door where the very capable but easy going Paddy Flynn took over. Our room - The Blue Room was pretty special, however we spent most of the evening by the inviting turf fire in the drawing room. We were spoilt for choice with the selection of reading material while we lazily wilted by the fire. The ladies of the house Hannah and young Amelie & Lucie were just as charming as Paddy. The real indulgence only began however when Paddy (and his gifted friend) started to produce one sensationally tasty delight after another from his magic kitchen. As we were the only two people eating that night Paddy spoiled us further by serving this fabulous 5 course dinner by the fire, which added even further to the very memorable dining experience. Don't forget to check out the very impressive library. Highly recommend this place. Great find for a snowstorm with such quality food & books to feast on.

Room Tip: Just remember the house is over 280 years old & appreciate the uniqueness and character of each room
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank N6417DWmaryf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews