We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true hidden gem”
Review of Roundwood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roundwood House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Had a fantastic stay on the weekend just past. Our second time eating here but first in residence. I just love the laid-back nature of the place, the warm family welcome and the uniqueness of the surrounds. History in every corner.

Paddy and Hannah make you feel right at home from the minute you see the front door. Dinner was sublime with each course a mystery before it lands on your table. a true delight of flavour balance and portion size. Paddy and Hannah pay constant attention to the needs of their guests and check in frequently for a chat and to see if you have everything you need.

A truly unplugged experience. Get away from it all and relax is this remarkable place. Environments like this are disappearing all to quickly.

Room Tip: The blue room is lovely, We toured the other rooms also and each offers its own unique historical ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Decx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

My husbands family and I recently visited Roundwood house for my mother in law's 80th birthday. On arrival we were greeted warmly by Hannah and shown to our beautiful room in the lodge. We then had tea and freshly made scones in the library, a restored barn with a fantastic mezzanine level and wall to wall books. Paddy even set up a projector screen for us to watch the rugby and served any drinks we wanted. We had dinner in a private dining room and from start to finish it was amazing. There is no choice apart from dietary requirements however u do not need it. Every course was even better than the next. The best meal I've had in a very long time. Reminded me of the restaurant Bastible in Harolds cross at a fraction of the cost. Breakfast was served in the dining room. Again excellent service and a really lovely homely atmosphere. We can not wait to have a return visit.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Pam011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Enjoyed a lovely time away with a friend. Great destination. Enjoyed the big old drawing room with the open fire. Enjoyed chats with guests and reading by the window. Had many walks through the woodland and visited the renowned wood shed. Food was excellent,all locally produced and prepared with care. Definitely be back here again.

Room Tip: Just ask at booking if you have special requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

It is easy to understand all the wonderful reviews for this place after spending a few days here. The somewhat daunting (though optional) prospect of sharing your table with a bunch of strangers may put some people off but actually it was a great and fun experience. The superb dinner served on both nights certainly helps matters. Paddy prepared highly flavoured and cleverly executed dishes, course after course. Every bite was delicious!

The green room was beautiful- very comfortable and atmospheric too! The bed is not very big but sooo comfortable. We had two great sleeps while here.

The walks around the grounds are lovely too- snowdrops, daffodils, big old trees, bee hives, little paths, out buildings to explore. Probably a great place for kids. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MODireland2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We had such a lovely weekend in Round wood house, you feel like your part of the family for the time your there.
The owners are great people, interesting and very friendly. The food for the weekend was some of the best meals ive had, and id consider myself a foodie.
The drinks were flowing all weekend and the craic was 90 there was even a sing along on the 2nd night. Id recommend The Roundwood house to couples that like mixing with other guests.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountrath
14.2 km away
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinnitty
813 reviews
17 km away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
718 reviews
27.6 km away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 km away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
15.1 km away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
716 reviews
27.6 km away
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundwood House

Address: Roundwood, Mountrath, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Mountrath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Price Range: €158 - €162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roundwood House is a country house hotel in a delightful location at the foot of the Slieve Bloom mountains, just 1.5 hours from Dublin. The house and outbuildings are over 300 years old and have immense charm and character. Guests come to relax, explore many local sites of interest and for genuine Irish hospitality in a homely atmosphere. Roundwood was listed among the top 50 restaurants in the world in 2002 by London's "Restaurant" magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Roundwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundwood House Hotel Mountrath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing