We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional food exceptional stay ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roundwood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roundwood House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
2 reviews
“Exceptional food exceptional stay ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husbands family and I recently visited Roundwood house for my mother in law's 80th birthday. On arrival we were greeted warmly by Hannah and shown to our beautiful room in the lodge. We then had tea and freshly made scones in the library, a restored barn with a fantastic mezzanine level and wall to wall books. Paddy even set up a projector screen for us to watch the rugby and served any drinks we wanted. We had dinner in a private dining room and from start to finish it was amazing. There is no choice apart from dietary requirements however u do not need it. Every course was even better than the next. The best meal I've had in a very long time. Reminded me of the restaurant Bastible in Harolds cross at a fraction of the cost. Breakfast was served in the dining room. Again excellent service and a really lovely homely atmosphere. We can not wait to have a return visit.

Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pam011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    17
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
73
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
County Laois, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2017

Enjoyed a lovely time away with a friend. Great destination. Enjoyed the big old drawing room with the open fire. Enjoyed chats with guests and reading by the window. Had many walks through the woodland and visited the renowned wood shed. Food was excellent,all locally produced and prepared with care. Definitely be back here again.

Room Tip: Just ask at booking if you have special requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bridandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

It is easy to understand all the wonderful reviews for this place after spending a few days here. The somewhat daunting (though optional) prospect of sharing your table with a bunch of strangers may put some people off but actually it was a great and fun experience. The superb dinner served on both nights certainly helps matters. Paddy prepared highly flavoured and cleverly executed dishes, course after course. Every bite was delicious!

The green room was beautiful- very comfortable and atmospheric too! The bed is not very big but sooo comfortable. We had two great sleeps while here.

The walks around the grounds are lovely too- snowdrops, daffodils, big old trees, bee hives, little paths, out buildings to explore. Probably a great place for kids. We will definitely be back.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MODireland2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2017

We had such a lovely weekend in Round wood house, you feel like your part of the family for the time your there.
The owners are great people, interesting and very friendly. The food for the weekend was some of the best meals ive had, and id consider myself a foodie.
The drinks were flowing all weekend and the craic was 90 there was even a sing along on the 2nd night. Id recommend The Roundwood house to couples that like mixing with other guests.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2017

We were met by Rococo the friendly Lab who showed us to the door where the very capable but easy going Paddy Flynn took over. Our room - The Blue Room was pretty special, however we spent most of the evening by the inviting turf fire in the drawing room. We were spoilt for choice with the selection of reading material while we lazily wilted by the fire. The ladies of the house Hannah and young Amelie & Lucie were just as charming as Paddy. The real indulgence only began however when Paddy (and his gifted friend) started to produce one sensationally tasty delight after another from his magic kitchen. As we were the only two people eating that night Paddy spoiled us further by serving this fabulous 5 course dinner by the fire, which added even further to the very memorable dining experience. Don't forget to check out the very impressive library. Highly recommend this place. Great find for a snowstorm with such quality food & books to feast on.

Room Tip: Just remember the house is over 280 years old & appreciate the uniqueness and character of each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N6417DWmaryf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountrath
27.6 km away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
15.0 km away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
15.1 km away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 km away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
26.4 km away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
15.2 km away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundwood House

Property: Roundwood House
Address: Roundwood, Mountrath, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Mountrath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roundwood House is a country house hotel in a delightful location at the foot of the Slieve Bloom mountains, just 1.5 hours from Dublin. The house and outbuildings are over 300 years old and have immense charm and character. Guests come to relax, explore many local sites of interest and for genuine Irish hospitality in a homely atmosphere. Roundwood was listed among the top 50 restaurants in the world in 2002 by London's "Restaurant" magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Roundwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundwood House Hotel Mountrath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing