We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The house is a treasure and the food sensational!”
Review of Roundwood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roundwood House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We were met by Rococo the friendly Lab who showed us to the door where the very capable but easy going Paddy Flynn took over. Our room - The Blue Room was pretty special, however we spent most of the evening by the inviting turf fire in the drawing room. We were spoilt for choice with the selection of reading material while we lazily wilted by the fire. The ladies of the house Hannah and young Amelie & Lucie were just as charming as Paddy. The real indulgence only began however when Paddy (and his gifted friend) started to produce one sensationally tasty delight after another from his magic kitchen. As we were the only two people eating that night Paddy spoiled us further by serving this fabulous 5 course dinner by the fire, which added even further to the very memorable dining experience. Don't forget to check out the very impressive library. Highly recommend this place. Great find for a snowstorm with such quality food & books to feast on.

Room Tip: Just remember the house is over 280 years old & appreciate the uniqueness and character of each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank N6417DWmaryf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2016

I dined here recently with work collegues for our office Christmas party. The concept of dining without knowing what was on the menu was new to me, and I was a bit nervous at first, but to my surprise I LOVED everything that was served to me. The food is thee most delicious I have ever tasted. I really enjoyed it & I love the fact that I tried a lot of food that I would normally avoid on another restaurant menu. So thanks to Paddy & Hannah, you've educated my palette to such an extent that I will no longer just order 'the usual' at a restaurant any more.... thanks so much! What you have at Roundwood House is unique & very special and long may it continue..... I will definitely be back ; )

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRafter74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

What a wonderful and heart-warming place. A delightful, quirky house bursting with character and set in beautiful rambling gardens. From the moment you arrive, you feel part of Hannah and Paddy’s family. Warm, welcoming and attentive - they really go out of their way to ensure you have a fabulous stay. Highlights for me included the fascinating library, which provides the perfect setting for an evening relaxing by the fire with friends. Plus, the truly delicious food definitely makes me want to make a return visit sometime soon.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank hazel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

The house is lovely, the hosts warm and friendly and the food amazing!!! We suggest you take a little walk around the courtyard, check out the library and the barn. It's like being placed in a story back in the 19th century!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Clarari1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here midweek. Beautiful house with loads of character in the middle of the countryside. So peaceful - only noise is the bird's singing in the mornings. There's an amazing library and gardens to relax in too. Delicious food and great company from the owners, Hannah and Paddy. They've created something really special here! The place has a great atmosphere. Wouldn't change a thing!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountrath
14.2 km away
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinnitty
813 reviews
17 km away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
718 reviews
27.6 km away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 km away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
15.1 km away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
716 reviews
27.6 km away
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundwood House

Address: Roundwood, Mountrath, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Mountrath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Price Range: €158 - €161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roundwood House is a country house hotel in a delightful location at the foot of the Slieve Bloom mountains, just 1.5 hours from Dublin. The house and outbuildings are over 300 years old and have immense charm and character. Guests come to relax, explore many local sites of interest and for genuine Irish hospitality in a homely atmosphere. Roundwood was listed among the top 50 restaurants in the world in 2002 by London's "Restaurant" magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Roundwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundwood House Hotel Mountrath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing