We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful and heart-warming place”
Review of Roundwood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roundwood House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2016

What a wonderful and heart-warming place. A delightful, quirky house bursting with character and set in beautiful rambling gardens. From the moment you arrive, you feel part of Hannah and Paddy’s family. Warm, welcoming and attentive - they really go out of their way to ensure you have a fabulous stay. Highlights for me included the fascinating library, which provides the perfect setting for an evening relaxing by the fire with friends. Plus, the truly delicious food definitely makes me want to make a return visit sometime soon.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank hazel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

The house is lovely, the hosts warm and friendly and the food amazing!!! We suggest you take a little walk around the courtyard, check out the library and the barn. It's like being placed in a story back in the 19th century!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Clarari1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here midweek. Beautiful house with loads of character in the middle of the countryside. So peaceful - only noise is the bird's singing in the mornings. There's an amazing library and gardens to relax in too. Delicious food and great company from the owners, Hannah and Paddy. They've created something really special here! The place has a great atmosphere. Wouldn't change a thing!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

I stayed in Roundwood recently on two occasions. Both were so great. Hannah and Paddy are so warm, welcoming and helpful. The food was incredible and the house and gardens are magic. Top marks all round!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roisin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah F, Owner at Roundwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Thanks a million Roisin. We really enjoyed having you and your Mum stay.
Did I mention that you really haven't changed a bit since I used to see you in Galway many moons ago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Roundwood House hosted my wedding in August 2016. It is only now that I have been able to sit down and express thanks to Paddy and Hannah for such an enchanting day. My husband and I, originally from Ireland, have lived some time now in Australia and of course wanted to get married back in Ireland. We had no clue how to organize a wedding, never mind organize one from overseas. The minute we spoke to Hannah however, any anxiety and stress felt was replaced with a deep sense of calm and reassurance. Hannah's attention, care and recommendations made us feel listened to and gave us the confidence that this day really would be the best day of our lives. The day in itself surpassed all expectations. The three months since we returned has been a whirlwind and the months that have past so quickly makes me appreciate even more what a truly magical place Roundwood House is. It seemed to whisper to time to slow down for our wedding day and gave the precious gift of enjoying each moment and relish in each delight as it came. From the minute the house breaks gently into view from the trees as you wind your way up the driveway, you feel your breath exhale and a tingle of excitement build from within as if you've stumbled on secret. You soon discover that Roundround House is place that rekindles the lost arts. The lost arts of connection and conversation, of warmth and true hospitality where people take pride in making you feel welcome like an old friend. The warm smell of freshly baked brown bread wafts from the kitchen and fills the house as fresh coffee is served in delicate china with baked goods in the drawing room. It invites laughter and an easiness that modern day has forgotten. I could probably write an essay on every detail, awe and surprise that Roundwood House afforded our wedding, however I will simply convey ours and our families deepest gratitude to Hannah, Paddy and their manager Chris who went above and beyond and always with a smile (even when the questionable taste in music came out in the early hours of the morning). In truth, there are not enough words, and no amount of thanks that can do justice to the experience we had. We've already booked a return stay for our first year anniversary and no doubt we'll still be trying to express our gratitude :) From Aoife and Stephen xx

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aoife M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah F, Owner at Roundwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Dear Aoife & Stephen,

Thanks for such a beautifully worded review. Really gorgeous. I've read it about ten times already and will be going back to it every time I have a bad day from here on in! Needless to say we absolutely loved hosting your wedding and are so glad you enjoyed the day so much. It was such a pleasure meeting and getting to know you both. You're a pretty relaxed pair!! Also, a huge thanks to your mum Aoife who was so great to work with in planning the day. Looking forward to seeing you for your anniversary. Hope you have a happy sunny Christmas down under.

Love Hannah & Paddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountrath
14.2 km away
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinnitty
814 reviews
17 km away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
719 reviews
27.6 km away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 km away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
15.1 km away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
717 reviews
27.6 km away
Bridge House Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundwood House

Address: Roundwood, Mountrath, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Mountrath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Price Range: €157 - €161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roundwood House is a country house hotel in a delightful location at the foot of the Slieve Bloom mountains, just 1.5 hours from Dublin. The house and outbuildings are over 300 years old and have immense charm and character. Guests come to relax, explore many local sites of interest and for genuine Irish hospitality in a homely atmosphere. Roundwood was listed among the top 50 restaurants in the world in 2002 by London's "Restaurant" magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Roundwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundwood House Hotel Mountrath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing