We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Roundwood House
Nearby Hotels
Clanard Court Hotel(Athy)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talbot Hotel Carlow(Carlow)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Woodford Dolmen Hotel(Carlow)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort(Tullow)(Great Value!)
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
US$191
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
218
21
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
218
21
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomother guestsslieve bloom mountainsgreen roomgreat hostslambopen fireincredible foodamazing weekendcourse dinnersconeshen partygrounds are lovelymemorable stayyogurtboth nightsmagical place
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

The house is lovely, the hosts warm and friendly and the food amazing!!! We suggest you take a little walk around the courtyard, check out the library and the barn. It's like being placed in a story back in the 19th century!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Clarari1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here midweek. Beautiful house with loads of character in the middle of the countryside. So peaceful - only noise is the bird's singing in the mornings. There's an amazing library and gardens to relax in too. Delicious food and great company from the owners, Hannah and Paddy. They've created something really special here! The place has a great atmosphere. Wouldn't change a thing!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

I stayed in Roundwood recently on two occasions. Both were so great. Hannah and Paddy are so warm, welcoming and helpful. The food was incredible and the house and gardens are magic. Top marks all round!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roisin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah F, Owner at Roundwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Thanks a million Roisin. We really enjoyed having you and your Mum stay.
Did I mention that you really haven't changed a bit since I used to see you in Galway many moons ago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Roundwood House hosted my wedding in August 2016. It is only now that I have been able to sit down and express thanks to Paddy and Hannah for such an enchanting day. My husband and I, originally from Ireland, have lived some time now in Australia and of course wanted to get married back in Ireland. We had no clue how to organize a wedding, never mind organize one from overseas. The minute we spoke to Hannah however, any anxiety and stress felt was replaced with a deep sense of calm and reassurance. Hannah's attention, care and recommendations made us feel listened to and gave us the confidence that this day really would be the best day of our lives. The day in itself surpassed all expectations. The three months since we returned has been a whirlwind and the months that have past so quickly makes me appreciate even more what a truly magical place Roundwood House is. It seemed to whisper to time to slow down for our wedding day and gave the precious gift of enjoying each moment and relish in each delight as it came. From the minute the house breaks gently into view from the trees as you wind your way up the driveway, you feel your breath exhale and a tingle of excitement build from within as if you've stumbled on secret. You soon discover that Roundround House is place that rekindles the lost arts. The lost arts of connection and conversation, of warmth and true hospitality where people take pride in making you feel welcome like an old friend. The warm smell of freshly baked brown bread wafts from the kitchen and fills the house as fresh coffee is served in delicate china with baked goods in the drawing room. It invites laughter and an easiness that modern day has forgotten. I could probably write an essay on every detail, awe and surprise that Roundwood House afforded our wedding, however I will simply convey ours and our families deepest gratitude to Hannah, Paddy and their manager Chris who went above and beyond and always with a smile (even when the questionable taste in music came out in the early hours of the morning). In truth, there are not enough words, and no amount of thanks that can do justice to the experience we had. We've already booked a return stay for our first year anniversary and no doubt we'll still be trying to express our gratitude :) From Aoife and Stephen xx

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aoife M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah F, Owner at Roundwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Dear Aoife & Stephen,

Thanks for such a beautifully worded review. Really gorgeous. I've read it about ten times already and will be going back to it every time I have a bad day from here on in! Needless to say we absolutely loved hosting your wedding and are so glad you enjoyed the day so much. It was such a pleasure meeting and getting to know you both. You're a pretty relaxed pair!! Also, a huge thanks to your mum Aoife who was so great to work with in planning the day. Looking forward to seeing you for your anniversary. Hope you have a happy sunny Christmas down under.

Love Hannah & Paddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Our extended family went to Roundwood House to celebrate my mother's 80th birthday (shhh, she doesn't want anyone to know!) We had been here 10 years ago to celebrate her 70th birthday. It was PERFECT! Roundwood House is that perfect combination of feeling so homely but yet with service and great food and wine! We started our stay with G&Ts around the roaring fire. Hannah and Paddy are incredibly welcoming and Paddy did the perfect rendition of Happy Birthday on his acoustic guitar as Mum's birthday cake came out after a fab meal. Our bedrooms were wonderfully comfortable and we enjoyed spending some time wandering around the woods accompanied by the house's loyal golden labrador. Is Roundwood for everyone? Possibly not - for those who want a synthetic, everything is perfect with immaculate furnishings and paintwork they will be disappointed. For those more discerning who love the atmosphere of an old historical Irish home with all the history, genuine Irish hospitality, quirkiness and welcome that Roundwood House offers in authentic pure abundance this will definitely hit the spot perfectly!

Room Tip: The Green Room is the most beautiful room in our opinion with a corner view of the ancient trees and lawns
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shirleyb202f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews