We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Irish hospitality at its best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roundwood House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Roundwood House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Certificate of Excellence
wicklow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Irish hospitality at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2016

We stayed for a wonderful night in the garden room, it was spotless clean and very comfortable with real old world charm.The surroundings were peaceful and tranquil and very relaxing.The hosts Hannah and Paddy were very pleasant and couldnt do enough for us, they were the real stars of the house and treated you as you were a friend visiting their home. The dinner was so delicious and we had great chats with the other guests which made for a very pleasant evening, Paddy even gave us a few tunes on his guitar which delighted everyone. I would highly recommend staying here as it was very wholesome and welcoming.Paddy and Hannah do a great job and could teach some of the 5 star hotels a lesson in genuine hospitality.We definitely will be returning.

Room Tip: there are also lovely little cottages available in the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nellyjWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    17
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
73
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2016

We booked one night in Roundwood House,what a treat First we had tea and treats on the sunny lawn ,then up to the top floor,to the Governess Room ,(Quaint and old world like the house) We had Dinner at 20.00 truly amazing food and wine ,then to the draining room for coffee and a chat with the other guests ,Breakfast the next morning was wholesome .Paddy,Hannah and the 2 girls were perfect hosts and very welcoming to their house ,

Room Tip: The yellow twin on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonys1232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

What can I say about Roundwood House.
Excellent step back to olden times but with modern food and hospitality.
The dinner is great. 8 seater table was great. Chatting to new people and having a laugh.
Hannah and Paddy are wonderful hosts. It is their home and they welcome you in. It is also a business but not once did we feel like it was. Guests in their own home.
Their daughters are delightful girls. We has a great chat.
Breakfast the following morning was lovely.
Fresh orange juice. Homemade break and scones. Loads of different jams.
Brilliant

Lovely 1km walk around the perimeter. I recommend going anti clockwise and don't forget the last bit. Hidden on the left side of the gate on your way out.
Bedrooms themselves are what they are. Old but warm and very Comfortable. The bed is way off the floor as it was 100 years ago.
No locks on the doors as they were in olden times. Shutters on the original windows don't close but who cares.

It's very quiet and peaceful.
We arrived at the house at 1pm and never left till after breakfast the following morning.

Can't recommend this house enough.

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barryfitz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night's getaway from it all for some peace and quiet. The house is charming and full of history and with the great service from Hannah and Paddy you feel totally relaxed. We stayed in the yellow house, the room was like something from a dolls house. Thank you again

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

My husband found this place on Hidden Ireland. He's an introvert, I'm an extrovert. He is happy taking it easy, I like to travel in to town and do activities. The Roundwood House was the perfect balance. We spent two nights in The Forge, one of the self catering rooms that is separate from the main house. It was warm, clean, inviting, and private. Then we spent two nights in the main house, in the Green Room. It was well appointed, comfortable, and unique.

The owners, Paddy and Hannah, truly make you feel like family. They put care and love into everything they do. The food was the best I had during our two weeks in the Ireland. Breakfast was healthy, locally crafted, and delicious. Adding dinner to your package is a must. You can have a private table, but I recommend community style seating. We enjoyed meeting other guests and savoring Paddy's incredible cooking!
The location is what also makes this five stars. It is quiet and private, yet, Port Laois is just 15 minutes away if you need a shopping fix or to catch a movie. We enjoyed spontaneous day trips, like having tea at Kinnity Castle and driving up the Slieve Bloom Mountains.

Thank you for your hospitality!

Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KristyJoy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountrath
7.1 km away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
27.6 km away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
15.0 km away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
17.0 km away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
17.7 km away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundwood House

Property: Roundwood House
Address: Roundwood, Mountrath, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Mountrath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roundwood House is a country house hotel in a delightful location at the foot of the Slieve Bloom mountains, just 1.5 hours from Dublin. The house and outbuildings are over 300 years old and have immense charm and character. Guests come to relax, explore many local sites of interest and for genuine Irish hospitality in a homely atmosphere. Roundwood was listed among the top 50 restaurants in the world in 2002 by London's "Restaurant" magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Roundwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundwood House Hotel Mountrath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing