We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottages in Great Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
Graiguenamanagh, Kilkenny, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Niall W
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottages in Great Location”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottages are in a great location overlooking Graiguenamanagh with views over extensive grounds and Mount Brandon (Co Kilkenny) in the distance. The Wenner family are excellent hosts, taking good care of their guests. They have the added bonus of an onsoite pottery school. Carmen is a greta teacher! Graiguenamanagh is an attractive riverside village - a good location for water sports and walking

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kafem1957
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mount Brandon Cottages”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My family stayed in two cottages at Mount Brandon recently ... and they were excellent. Very clean, comfortable and in a lovely location. They suited our needs perfectly. Andrea and Carmen couldn't have done more for us. We even had fresh eggs for brekky supplied ... as well as some lovely choccie treats for the kids. You do need to have a car though to get around to see the countryside.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roddy66
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Our favorite place during 10 day stay”
Reviewed 4 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Our recent trip to Ireland included a stay over the Easter holiday, so we wanted to homebase and be able to relax, do laundry and enjoy some privacy from our teens. We stayed in cottage 2, which was a completely setup 3 br house with laundry. It was a great configuration for us and allowed us to relax. I really enjoyed the "country" location which turned out to be a great homebase for day trips to Kilkenny, Waterford and Wexford. Our hostess Andrea made sure we were comfortable and even gave us some eggs from her chickens and candy bars for the kids. The local village is a short ride away and very interesting, and has a lovely Abbey dating from 1204, a full grocery, pubs, etc. We loved it and would certainly stay again. I highly recommend this place, thanks again Ms. Andrea!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne_Larr...
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage, perfect location!”
Reviewed 27 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed 5 nights at the Mount Brandon Cottages in September, and we really loved this home-away-from-home. The cottage was perfectly clean, with everything we needed, and the setting was absolutely beautiful. Graigue was an easy 5-minute drive away, and the Mount Brandon location gave us an ideal place to stay to explore the entire Kilkenny area. Andrea was a wonderful host and made sure we were comfortable and well taken care of - she even brought us fresh eggs and homemade scones! We recommend this property 100% and look forward to returning on a future trip.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susi d
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect accomodation in perfect location”
Reviewed 4 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

My husban and I stayed at no1 Mount Brandon Cottages from 27th December 2011 until 2nd January 2012. We travelled from Wales on Irish Ferries, and then drove to the cottages arriving at 8pm. We had no problem finding the place even though it was a dark wet winters night, as Andrea had sent us detailed directions. She met us at the property, showed us around, and called back the next day to check if we needed anything. The house was far bigger than we expected, with two double bedrooms and a single bedroom. It has electric storage heaters which were on, and the house also has a log fired rayburn in the living room, so it was lovely and warm and cosy. It was immaculately clean and the kitchen had every kitchen utensil and appliance known to man. The bedding was spotless and the bed was very comfortable indeed.The cottages are just half a mile from the village and overlook the valley and the canal and river below. Ideal for a walk to the local shops and pubs or stroll along the river. We also went walking up Mount Brandon itself. Ideal for couples or families who would love the dogs, cats, sheep and chickens. Disabled visitors would also be fine as there was a bathroom and single bedroom downstairs. I would also recommend this to anyone who wishes to visit Kilkenny or Carlow and is looking for somewhere relaxing to stay. Both those towns were about twenty minutes away. We would certainly stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very comfortable bed
Liked least: didnt want to get up in morning as bed too comfortable !
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing